Review: What’s Broken Between Us by Alexis Bass

What’s Broken Between Us
by Alexis Bass

published December 29th 2015 by HarperCollins
young adult | contemporary | romance

find the book on
Goodreads

A year and a half ago, Amanda Tart’s brother got behind the wheel drunk and killed his best friend. Today, he’s coming home from prison.

Amanda’s been the one living with the fallout, made worse by her brother’s recent unapologetic TV interview. People think he’s a monster. Still, she loves him. It’s her dark secret, until she starts getting close to Henry again–whose sister is paralyzed from the accident.

A year and a half ago, her brother destroyed his life. Now Amanda has to decide if she’ll let his choice destroy hers.

Continue reading “Review: What’s Broken Between Us by Alexis Bass”

Advertisements

Review: The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry | 7 Emotions It Will Make You Feel

25467698

The Love That Split the World
by Emily Henry

published January 26th 2016 by Razorbill
young adult | contemporary | romance

find the book on
Goodreads | Book Depository

Natalie Cleary must risk her future and leap blindly into a vast unknown for the chance to build a new world with the boy she loves.

Natalie’s last summer in her small Kentucky hometown is off to a magical start… until she starts seeing the “wrong things.” They’re just momentary glimpses at first—her front door is red instead of its usual green, there’s a pre-school where the garden store should be. But then her whole town disappears for hours, fading away into rolling hills and grazing buffalo, and Nat knows something isn’t right.

That’s when she gets a visit from the kind but mysterious apparition she calls “Grandmother,” who tells her: “You have three months to save him.” The next night, under the stadium lights of the high school football field, she meets a beautiful boy named Beau, and it’s as if time just stops and nothing exists. Nothing, except Natalie and Beau.

Continue reading “Review: The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry | 7 Emotions It Will Make You Feel”

Review: The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

The Rest of Us Just Live Here
by Patrick Ness

published October 6th 2015 by HarperTeen
young adult | fantasy

find the book on
Goodreads

What if you aren’t the Chosen One? The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death?

What if you’re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again.

Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week’s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life.

Even if your best friend is worshipped by mountain lions.

Continue reading “Review: The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness”

Review: The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

THE ACCIDENT SEASON MOIRA FOWLEY-DOYLE

The Accident Season
by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

published on Published August 18th 2015 by Kathy Dawson Books
young adult | magical realism | romance

find the book on
Goodreads

Every October Cara and her family become inexplicably accident-prone. Some years it’s bad, like the season when her father died, and some years it’s just a lot of cuts and scrapes. They know what they need to do—stock up on bandages and painkillers, cover sharp table edges with padding, banish knives to locked drawers, switch off electrical items. They buckle up, they batten down.

But this accident season—when Cara; her ex-stepbrother, Sam; and her best friend, Bea, are seventeen—none of that will make a difference.

Because Cara is starting to ask questions. And the answers were never meant to be found.

Continue reading “Review: The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle”

Review: Vendetta by Catherine Doyle

22317508

Vendetta by Catherine Doyle

Blood for Blood, book one
published on February 24th 2015 by Chicken House
young adult | contemporary | romance | thriller

find the book on
Goodreads

When it comes to revenge, love is a dangerous complication.With a fierce rivalry raging between two warring families, falling in love is the deadliest thing Sophie could do. An epic debut set outside modern-day Chicago.

When five brothers move into the abandoned mansion in her neighbourhood, Sophie Gracewell’s life changes forever. Irresistibly drawn to bad boy Nicoli, Sophie finds herself falling into a criminal underworld governed by powerful families. As the boys’ dark secrets begin to come to light, Sophie is confronted with stinging truths about her own family, too. She must choose between two warring dynasties – the one she was born into, and the one she is falling in love with. When she does, blood will spill and hearts will break.

Continue reading “Review: Vendetta by Catherine Doyle”

Movie Review: Mockingjay (Part One)

Mockingjay (Part One)

based on Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins;
directed by Francis Lawrence;
screenplay by Peter Craig and Danny Strong;
starring Jennifer Lawrence (Katniss), Josh Hutcherson (Peeta), Liam Hemsworth (Gale);
view full cast and crew →

movie website | the bookIMDb

When Katniss destroys the games, she goes to District 13 after District 12 is destroyed. She meets President Coin who convinces her to be the symbol of rebellion, while trying to save Peeta from the Capitol.

Continue reading “Movie Review: Mockingjay (Part One)”

Review: In the Afterlight by Alexandra Bracken

16150831

In the Afterlight by Alexandra Bracken

The Darkest Minds, book #3
published on October 28th 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
Young Adult | Dystopia | Fantasy

find the author on
Goodreads | Twitter | Website

find the book on
Goodreads

Ruby can’t look back. Fractured by an unbearable loss, she and the kids who survived the government’s attack on Los Angeles travel north to regroup. With them is a prisoner: Clancy Gray, son of the president, and one of the few people Ruby has encountered with abilities like hers. Only Ruby has any power over him, and just one slip could lead to Clancy wreaking havoc on their minds.

They are armed only with a volatile secret: proof of a government conspiracy to cover up the real cause of IAAN, the disease that has killed most of America’s children and left Ruby and others like her with powers the government will kill to keep contained. But internal strife may destroy their only chance to free the “rehabilitation camps” housing thousands of other Psi kids.

Meanwhile, reunited with Liam, the boy she would-and did-sacrifice everything for to keep alive, Ruby must face the painful repercussions of having tampered with his memories of her. She turns to Cole, his older brother, to provide the intense training she knows she will need to take down Gray and the government. But Cole has demons of his own, and one fatal mistake may be the spark that sets the world on fire.

Continue reading “Review: In the Afterlight by Alexandra Bracken”

Review: Crewel by Gennifer Albin

Virals

Crewel by Gennifer Albin

published on October 16th, 2012 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Young Adult | Dystopia

find the author on
Goodreads | Twitter | Website

find the book on
Goodreads

Incapable. Awkward. Artless. That’s what the other girls whisper behind her back. But sixteen-year-old Adelice Lewys has a secret: She wants to fail.

Gifted with the ability to weave time with matter, she’s exactly what the Guild is looking for, and in the world of Arras, being chosen to work the looms is everything a girl could want. It means privilege, eternal beauty, and being something other than a secretary. It also means the power to manipulate the very fabric of reality. But if controlling what people eat, where they live, and how many children they have is the price of having it all, Adelice isn’t interested.

Not that her feelings matter, because she slipped and used her hidden talent for a moment. Now she has one hour to eat her mom’s overcooked pot roast. One hour to listen to her sister’s academy gossip and laugh at her dad’s jokes. One hour to pretend everything’s okay. And one hour to escape.

Because tonight, they’ll come for her.

Continue reading “Review: Crewel by Gennifer Albin”

Review: Falling into Place by Amy Zhang

18163646

Falling into Place by Amy Zhang

published on September 9th 2014 by Greenwillow Books
Young Adult | Contemporary | Realistic Fiction

find the author on
Goodreads | Twitter | Website

find the book on
Goodreads

On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

Continue reading “Review: Falling into Place by Amy Zhang”

Review: Free to Fall by Lauren Miller

Free to Fall

Free to Fall by Lauren Miller

published on May 13th 2014 by HarperTeen
Young Adult | science fiction | romance

find the author on
Goodreads | Twitter | website

find the book on
Goodreads

What if there was an app that told you what song to listen to, what coffee to order, who to date, even what to do with your life—an app that could ensure your complete and utter happiness? What if you never had to fail or make a wrong choice?

What if you never had to fall?

Fast-forward to a time when Apple and Google have been replaced by Gnosis, a monolith corporation that has developed the most life-changing technology to ever hit the market: Lux, an app that flawlessly optimizes decision making for the best personal results. Just like everyone else, sixteen-year-old Rory Vaughn knows the key to a happy, healthy life is following what Lux recommends. When she’s accepted to the elite boarding school Theden Academy, her future happiness seems all the more assured. But once on campus, something feels wrong beneath the polished surface of her prestigious dream school. Then she meets North, a handsome townie who doesn’t use Lux, and begins to fall for him and his outsider way of life. Soon, Rory is going against Lux’s recommendations, listening instead to the inner voice that everyone has been taught to ignore — a choice that leads her to uncover a truth neither she nor the world ever saw coming.

Continue reading “Review: Free to Fall by Lauren Miller”