Mockingjay (Part One)

based on Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins;
directed by Francis Lawrence;
screenplay by Peter Craig and Danny Strong;
starring Jennifer Lawrence (Katniss), Josh Hutcherson (Peeta), Liam Hemsworth (Gale);
view full cast and crew →

movie website | the bookIMDb

When Katniss destroys the games, she goes to District 13 after District 12 is destroyed. She meets President Coin who convinces her to be the symbol of rebellion, while trying to save Peeta from the Capitol.

THE MOVIE (movies)

*Possible slight spoilers for the book and movie.

Catching Fire has got to be one of my all-time favorite movies, so of course I was excited to finally watch Mockingjay. BUT GUESS WHAT.

It was a bad choice to split Mockingjay into two movies.

If you’re looking for an action-packed, heart-stopping movie, Mockingjay Part One isn’t it. It was basically just a build-up for Part Two. Almost nothing exciting happened in this movie, which was pretty much my main problem with the whole film. Believe me, my dad was asleep by the first thirty minutes.

911, I’m calling for an extreme case of zero feels.

I can’t help but compare this with Catching Fire, which made me ugly cry for ages. This one? I either only laughed because Effie said something funny, or because of something I thought was extremely stupid. Some things (I’m not sure if they happened in the book since it’s been forever since I read it) that happened seemed irrational and unintelligent. I had to laugh at those scenes. And not in a good way.

And for some reason, I felt that Katniss was a bit… stiff? Dispassionate?

I don’t know, JLaw. You tell me.

 

Still, I liked the new cast members.

I loved Coin’s character. Julianne Moore was really elegant and poised–the perfect person to play President Coin. Stef Dawson (although she only played a really small part in the movie) was a great Annie, and I loved her chemistry with Finnick. Natalie Dormer was awesome as Cressida as well. I like how she was willing to shave her head just for the movie.

Cinematography and effects were, again, glorious.

Visually, this movie was a work of art. I enjoyed every setting and all those technical things. Especially the scenes where they were in the ruins of District 12–they made it really eerie and gorgeous.

Generally, I’m still underwhelmed.

We can’t all be pleased, right? Maybe I was expecting a little too much from the movie, but either way, I was mostly disappointed. BUT I’m pretty sure that Mockingjay Part Two will be amazing, and that I will cry my eyeballs out watching it.

pagebreak

Skulls 2.5

2.5 skulls

pagebreak

THE TRAILER (movies)

pagebreak

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

17 thoughts on “Movie Review: Mockingjay (Part One)

  1. I couldn’t agree more! I saw the movie yesterday and read the book the day before so everything in the book was still fresh in my mind. They did cut out some stuff but I think they stayed pretty true to the book. I think it was a bad idea splitting the movie into two too because not much really happened at the first half of the book (compared to Catching Fire). And yes, Jennifer Lawrence was kinda mehhh playing Katniss! I think she could’ve said the “If we burn, you burn with us” line a bit stronger. I also didn’t like the shaky camera. Grrrr. I remember also laughing a couple of times b/c of Haymitch and Effie, but other than that, no feels. I do like the part where Katniss saw the remains of District 12 and the part where she goes to the hospital. I also like the part where they were going to save the tributes from the Capitol.

    Like

  2. My grade is going to go and watch it!! So excited but kind of not really…? I really disliked the book! D: I was hoping the movie would make it better but after hearing your thoughts, my hope kind of deflated… :( Sad to hear you didn’t enjoy it! D: I think that it’s not the greatest idea to turn it into 2 parts, either! Not enough stuff happens in the book for it to be that long!! I don’t know…

    ~Fari
    My Recent Post: Book Confession! Series I Will Not Finish @ My Little Corner For Books

  3. Like

  4. Awww no, I really loved it :( (which is weird because it’s my least favourite book out of the series!). Haha, Effie though – wasn’t she great? And I loooooove Cressida. It’s interesting to see what they’ll do with Coin in the next one to make her more hated…hmm.

    Like

  5. Ahhhhh I’m nervous for this one. Mockingjay has got to be easily my least favorite book of the series, so the fact it’s being made into two movies?? It equates to double the room to mess things up further.

    The big issue that lies with splitting up movies is the fact that you mentioned, the first part is a build up to the main climax of the second part essentially. The first part then becomes a whole lot of filler in an attempt to make it “more” exciting. It’s also a bad idea to split up movies when nothing exciting happens in the first part. I remember part of my issue with Mockingjay (the book) was the pacing issues so by making the movie into two parts I suppose they’re carrying that over. To be honest, I’d much rather watch one single movie. That way the narrative is direct. Sure, it may be really long or may gloss over some details. But not all details are imperative to the storyline, and I’m the type who can really get involved in movies so an extra long running time isn’t an issue to me.

    I’m glad that visually this movie is done very well though c: If anything it’s always great to see special effects and quality cinematography shine.

    Lovely review girl! I feel like it was very honest and true to how you felt.

    Like

  6. Aww…shucks! :( Sorry you didn’t like this as much as you hoped you would Aimee. :( I can definitely see where you’re coming from though. I was a bit indifferent to the fact that the book is being split into two (it does have a lot to cover after all), but now I’m not so sure. I think I’ll definitely be bothered by what you’ve noted too. It sounds annoying that there’s all this build up and then…bam! Here comes the credits, you know? :| Anyhow, I’m glad the cinematography is as good as it always has been! :D Thanks for sharing and great honest review Aimee! :D

    Like

  7. SAME SAME SAME SAME SAME. I mean, the acting was superb, the cinematography was fabulous but man oh man, I was SO BORED. I think my own personal comments made me laugh more and the scene about the cat. Other than that, I was so distracted. Especially by the hair and makeup. I MEAN, KATNISS HAS BETTER HAIR THAN ME OMG What even. But hey, I’m still excited for part 2! :) Fantastic review, Aimee :) x

    Like

  8. I’m sorry that this was a little disappointing for you Aimee, I know what you mean about Catching Fire, because I was a complete mess after watching that film, even though I had read the book for that ages ago. Mockingjay the book was actually my least favourite in this series, so I’m actually going into the film with not such high expectations. Hopefully we can get tickets for next week, so I’ll let you know about how I found it!

    Like

  9. oh. OH. hmm.

    i’m planning to watch mockingjay on wednesday and after hearing what many people said, i realize i had to alter my expectations for the movie! the epic trailer made me imagine a kickass action war movie but no, now that i recall, mockingjay was NOT about action-war. it’s a narrative of the destructive effects of war on people. i was initially very happy that they split the movies into 2 because MORE THG + more time to explore things + francis lawrence is the perfect director for this franchise! bummer you didn’t enjoy it as much… part 2 then?

    alicia @ noverly things

    Like

  10. What a bummer. I mean, I donno, I guess I expected it. I haven’t watched it yet so can’t really put too much input in, but falling asleep is never a good thing. Splitting it in two already sounds like a bad choice, but if they stuck with one, the movie would have been three hours or they would have had to cut a lot of things out. Maybe they wanted to cash cow it too?? They do that all too often with a good series. They milk the shit out of it. Anyway sorry you didn’t like it :/ or that it wasn’t up to par

    Like

  11. I actually really liked the movie! I think as a standalone movie, Mockingjay was definitely weaker than Catching Fire, but as a build up to Mockingjay Part 2 it was freaking brilliant. I seem to be a bit of a black sheep, but I actually approve of the decision to split the movies. I feel like it just gives the chance to really explore the character development and what’s happening in the rest of the districts and all that.
    I’m sure everyone will enjoy Part 2 though! IT’S GOING TO BE EPIC. ALL DA FEELS

    Like

  12. I think it would be better if they could finish it as one movie and definitely no need for part 2. Uggh. I hate cliffhangers. While I was watching, I swear the person beside me fell asleep. My favorite part is every time when Cressida appears and “The Hanging Tree” part.

    The rest.. well, I don’t know what to think of it.

    Like

  13. Ah yes everyone is talking about this one. I haven’t seen movie 2 so well I’m a little late but I think I’ll wait for this one too. I’m not pressed to see it. I’m sorry it wasn’t that good. It’s what a friend told me too.

    Like

  14. I’m the same as you Aimee, I wish they hadn’t split it into two movies! This one was definitely going to be slower with less action though, and there was a lot of build up nonetheless. I really enjoyed it though, and agree with your thoughts on Coin’s character who was spot on. I liked the slow moments with Katniss spending time with Gale and her family, though. Great review!

    Like

  15. OK… I totally feel you on the spiting of this into two movies should not have been done. This movie was all plot no action. The last two movies were so fun and jam packed and this one… not so much. I wouldn’t care to own this movie that’s for sure.

    Like

  16. I think it’s not that bad that they split the movie into two. It’s like the last book of Harry Potter and The Twilight series. But I agree on you there, that Jennifer is a bit dispassionate on the movie. I have not read the book so I can’t tell if this is Katniss’ aura.

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

