Waiting on Wesnesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine
  • “Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I’m waiting on…
The Girl from the Well

The Girl from the Well by Rin Chupeco

a standalone
to be published on August 5, 2014 by Sourcebooks Fire
horror | paranormal

Goodreads

You may think me biased, being murdered myself. But my state of being has nothing to do with the curiosity toward my own species, if we can be called such. We do not go gentle, as your poet encourages, into that good night.

A dead girl walks the streets.

She hunts murderers. Child killers, much like the man who threw her body down a well three hundred years ago.

And when a strange boy bearing stranger tattoos moves into the neighborhood so, she discovers, does something else. And soon both will be drawn into the world of eerie doll rituals and dark Shinto exorcisms that will take them from American suburbia to the remote valleys and shrines of Aomori, Japan.

Because the boy has a terrifying secret – one that would just kill to get out.

The Girl from the Well is A YA Horror novel pitched as “Dexter” meets “The Grudge”, based on a well-loved Japanese ghost story.

pagebreak

whyimwaiting

1. The author is a Filipina. A Filipina, guys! I’m very proud of my citizenship and that a lot of Pinoys are making their own names in whatever industry, whether it be in arts, music, sports, etc. A Filipina author… *happy sigh*

2. Another retelling, wee! I think that this is a retelling of The Ring/The Grudge, otherwise known as the story of the ghost Sadako. I haven’t watched The Ring yet, but I know of Sadako–I love Japanese stuff! (*coughs* Otaku *coughs*) I don’t remember much about The Grudge 3 since I watched it two years ago, but I remember it being creepy as hell.

3. I looooove horror books. Authors who creep me out are fantastic! I can’t stand watching horror movies (I’m a wimp), but horror books? Yes, please, gimme!

What are you waiting on this week?

sigAIMEE

38 thoughts on ““Waiting On” Wednesday: The Girl from the Well

  1. Excuse my excessive flailing, but… I’M SO EXCITED FOR THIS BOOK SO BADLY I COULD SCREAM. It sounds amazing and the cover is beautiful and it references my favorite poem of all time. I’ve also decided YA horror is the best kind of horror, because it’s scary without being overwhelmingly so. (Seriously, I don’t do horror movies–though I’ve seen both The Ring and The Grudge!) :) AMAZING PICK!

    My WoW!

    Like

  2. I do quite enjoy horror, though I feel like I haven’t given YA horror the proper attention it deserves. The Girl from the Well sounds super intense, which makes me want it even more. I like how the main character is Filipina, good to see that YA is finally getting more diversified. I love Dexter so I can’t wait to see how this book connects with it. Great pick! :)

    Like

  3. I really can’t wait for this one! It sounds so good. *fingers crossed that I get approved* I hope it doesn’t let us down :D

    Like

    1. My mom always asks, “Why do people pay good money just to scare themselves?” Lol, I don’t know the answer, but I do love myself some horror books! :D

      Like

  4. First of all, your blog. It’s absolutely gorgeous. Second of all, the book sounds amazing! I’ve always been a fan of novels with asian settings, so this one is going to be a must read for me.

    Thanks for stopping by!
    Daphne @ Reading Until Dawn

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!