Unicorn Tracks

Hi there, friends! Today we have a pretty kick-ass guest post on F/F romances (in YA), unicorns and the #ownvoices hashtag, by the absolutely lovely Julia Ember, author of the upcoming fantasy novel Unicorn Tracks. Be sure to check the book out after reading this post and leaving your thoughts down below!

25231892

Unicorn Tracks
by Julia Ember

published on April 21st 2016 by Harmony Ink Press
young adult | fantasy | romance | lgbtqia+

187 pages
PB ISBN 978-1-63476-878-8
EBOOK ISBN 978-1-63476-879-5

find the book on
Goodreads | purchase

Originally from Chicago, Julia Ember now resides in Sunny Scotland where she learned to enjoy both haggis and black pudding. She spends her days working as a professional Book Nerd for a large book wholesaler, and her nights writing YA Romantic Fantasy novels.  She also spends an inordinate amount of time managing her growing city-based menagerie of pets with Harry Potter themed names.
A world traveller since childhood, Julia has now visited over 60 countries. Her travels inspire the fictional worlds she writes about and she populates those worlds with magic and monsters.

Guest Post

Writing f/f romances is one of the most rewarding subjects for me to talk about, so I was really pleased when Aimee selected the topic for my guest post! The term #ownvoices, which was coined as a hashtag by Corinne Duyvis, means an author writing characters who share their marginalised experience.  I am a very openly polyamorous and bisexual author. My primary partner is a woman, and we both have individual boyfriends. My first love was a girl. The person who broke my heart the most painfully way possible was also a woman. But before I wrote Unicorn Tracks, I’d never written a f/f manuscript of any kind – not even fan fiction (and I wrote A LOT of fan fiction)!

In a lot of ways, writing Unicorn Tracks marked a complete departure from compartmentalising my writing. When I started writing the book, I was still reeling from an absolutely traumatic breakup. It was the kind of breakup that left me crying in my bed for days, unable to focus on anything else in the aftermath. I wanted to write something that was going to make me feel better. I wanted to write a love story where two femme girls fall in love, have wild crazy times, and it works out in the end (#spoiler alert).

I think that the way Mnemba and Kara’s relationship progresses very much mirrors what my own relationships with women have been like, where deep friendship, trust and attraction all go together. When I was a teenager and still figuring out my sexuality, there really weren’t many books that featured lesbian characters. The ones that did, were almost universally about coming out, tragic queer (a trope I hate) and contemporary.

While I occasionally read contemporary novels and enjoy them, I never fangirl over them. I can’t think of any contemporary books that feature in my lifetime Top 10, Top 20, maybe even Top 50 … and when I was a teen, I was even more of an escapist reader than I am now. I didn’t want to write a story I wouldn’t have wanted to read as a teen, so I started planning an f/f fantasy novel with a classic HFN ending. Once I opened the flood-gate of writing from something I felt, it was easy to branch into writing a fantasy setting that was based on African Safari – but it was an experience I’d had and lived multiple times. As a lifelong horse fan, incorporating the unicorns actually came pretty naturally.

The Author

Julia Ember
website | Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter
email her at: Julia_ember@yahoo.com

Originally from Chicago, Julia Ember now resides in Sunny Scotland where she learned to enjoy both haggis and black pudding. She spends her days working as a professional Book Nerd for a large book wholesaler, and her nights writing YA Romantic Fantasy novels.  She also spends an inordinate amount of time managing her growing city-based menagerie of pets with Harry Potter themed names.

A world traveller since childhood, Julia has now visited over 60 countries. Her travels inspire the fictional worlds she writes about and she populates those worlds with magic and monsters.

 

YOUR TURN!

What are your thoughts on F/F romances in YA? How about unicorns? Are you excited for Unicorn Tracks, coming out on the 21st of April?

If you liked this post, spread the love and tweet about it! You can click on the image below to automatically tweet:

pagebreak

Bloglovin

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | RedBubble | all of Aimee’s posts →

8 thoughts on “F/F Romances, Unicorns and #ownvoices

  1. I haven’t read an f/f romance yet either, I don’t think. Obviously that isn’t on purpose. I’ve read books with lesbian/bisexual/ characters before, but I don’t think I’ve read a single one with a lesbian/bisexual MC with a romance. I love that we are expanding diversity in YA still and I love that that diversity isn’t being limited to contemporary also. I’ll probably be adding this book to my TBR soon!

    Like

  2. This sounds like such a well done f/f romance and I love it even more that it’s coming from the heart with the author’s own experiences. The fantasy world sounds like it’s done really well as well! Thanks for the awesome guest post!

    Like

  3. The only f/f romance I have read is The Abyss Surrounds us, and I absolutely loved it! So I am definitely looking for me, and I’ll definitely be adding Unicorn Tracks to my TBR (I mean it also has the word “Unicorn” in it so that already makes it fabulous). I think I have fangirled over maybe ONE contemporary, which is sad, but hey it’s not really my genre! I mostly read fantasy, so to see a book such as Unicorn Tracks being published soon is really exciting :)

    Like

  4. Yes to f/f romances! Sadly the only f/f works I’ve read are fanfiction, so yay for Unicorn Tracks! #ownvoices is SO important, and I absolutely try to prioritise reading those. Although you mention tragic queer and I’m curious (because of the recent discussion over the 100? even though I’m not in the fandom, ahaha) — what exactly is your viewpoint regarding that? Would love to hear your opinion!

    Like

  5. Yay for diversity representation! Particularly by people who know what they’re talking about. ;D I haven’t read a lot of f/f romances…only one really springs to mind (Unbecoming by Jenny Downham) and the rest have been secondary or background romances.

    Like

  6. Thank you for sharing this post!! I’ve never read any books with f/f romance before. I’ve watched a lot of tv shows with it, so I’m excited for this. Also, unicorn!! I love unicorns! Why didn’t the author talk more about the unicorn part of the book????

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

