Newt’s Emerald
by Garth Nix

Newt’s Emerald
published on October 15th, 2015 by Katherine Tegen Books
young adult | historical fantasy | gaslight

find the book on
Goodreads

On her eighteenth birthday, Lady Truthful, nicknamed “Newt,” will inherit her family’s treasure: the Newington Emerald. A dazzling heart-shaped gem, the Emerald also bestows its wearer with magical powers.

When the Emerald disappears one stormy night, Newt sets off to recover it. Her plan entails dressing up as a man, mustache included, as no well-bred young lady should be seen out and about on her own. While in disguise, Newt encounters the handsome but shrewd Major Harnett, who volunteers to help find the missing Emerald under the assumption that she is a man. Once she and her unsuspecting ally are caught up in a dangerous adventure that includes an evil sorceress, Newt realizes that something else is afoot: the beating of her heart.

In Newt’s Emerald, the bestselling author of Sabriel, Garth Nix, takes a waggish approach to the forever popular Regency romance and presents a charmed world where everyone has something to hide.

Book Review

 

This is my first Nix book (*hides behind barricade*) so I can’t compare it to Sabriel.  On it’s own, Newt’s Emerald is a cute, quirky magical tale reminiscent of Diana Wynne Jones.  It’s a light, tongue-in-cheek fantasy with a spunky heroine and swoony romance.

I LOVED the atmosphere.  Nix creates a fantasy world that’s more Howl’s Moving Castle than Game of Thrones.  It’s quasi-Regency England dusted with a coat of whimsy and a splash of magic.  There’s a spirited feel to the writing, a gameness and playfulness that makes this a fun rather than harrowing read.

I LOVED the characters and their intertwining.  Lady Truthful (whose very name reinforces the whimsy mentioned above) is a spritely lass, clever and a little foolhardy, with a quick wit and charming demeanor.  Harnett is charmingly rogueish in that way that gets me every time.  Their sniping and banter and grudging affection is stomach-squirmingly adorable.

I LIKED the adventurous plot.  It’s Truthful’s birthday and she wants to show her gentleman friends the precious emerald.  Of course, it happens to go missing!  It’s a bit contrived, but leads into a delightful swashbuckling adventure full of near kisses, blustering baddies, evil witches, and cross dressing.  It’s a fast, thrilling read.

I DISLIKED something I can’t quite put my finger on.  It was a good book but not a great one.  I can’t quite decide why.  Perhaps it was just a little formulaic, or the stakes weren’t high enough, or…something.  It was the kind of book that I enjoyed immensely while reading, but it hasn’t stuck with me like other stories have, even other stories with similarly fluffy whimsical feels (c.f. Howl’s Moving Castle).

 

Skulls 3

pagebreak

About C.J.

I’m a font of useless knowledge and an endless source of sarcasm. Oh, and I guess I read, too.

Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook | Blog all of C.J.’s posts →

4 thoughts on “Mini Review: Newt’s Emerald by Garth Nix

  1. Okay, confession: I haven’t read any books by Nix! But this sounds like an adorable story and man oh man I love that cover design. I love when my heroines cross dress a wee bit. Is that weird? I need to add this book to my “buy ASAP” list! :)

    Like

  2. Hahaha! – don’t feel too bad – I only JUST read Sabriel and the two other books in the series at the end of last year! I will say that they instantly became all-time favorites of mine so if you enjoyed this^^ I’d HIGHLY recommend checking out the series :D That being said, I was super curious to see how you made out with Newt’s Emerald: I have a copy but I haven’t gotten around to it yet. The way you described the whimsy, characters and adventure makes me think I’ll have a lot of fun with this one too…and of course, I’m looking forward to reading some more Nix now ;) Awesome review!! x

    Like

  3. I’m not a big Garth Nix fan even though I want to be! I read 100 pages of Sabriel before giving up; it was really good but not what I wanted to be reading at the time. He’s got a ton of books that I’ve heard amazing things about, and I do really want to try him again. Maybe I’ll get Newt’s Emerald from the library. :) That cover is beautiful, too!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

