The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

The 5th Wave
by Rick Yancey

Published May 7th 2013 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
young adult | science fiction | romance

find the book on
Goodreads

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother–or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

Book Review

Aliens are coming! Not to save us or communicate with us, though. Oh, no. Aliens are coming to kill us.

But that should be pretty obvious, right? Since when do aliens, or the ones we’ve seen in the movies, at least, ever come other than to cause trouble? In The 5th Wave, that’s exactly what they came to do. The only problem is that no one knew what they looked like (probably not like green sticks with bobble heads), which made it easier for the aliens to attack. They attacked in 5 waves, and Cassie, our protagonist, survived 4.

The plot was unique. Not the alien part (because when has that not been done?), but the waves. An EMP crashes all devices and electricity, tsunami’s flood cities and countries, birds carry a deadly and contagious disease, and aliens pass as human beings only to kill real human beings. Let’s just say the alien’s enjoy mass-killing with a little bit of spice.

Moral of the first 4 waves: do not trust other human beings. They could be aliens for all you know. In the beginning, Cassie lived by that motto. Then she met Evan Walker, and what did she do? She immediately trusted him. Cue the eyeroll. Yes, there was instalove. Yes, his job was to kill her but for some unknown, unbelievable reason, he did the exact opposite (because she’s apparently special compared to the hundred other humans he’s killed???). Yes, it was ridiculous. But I liked Evan and there is no shame on my part. He could shoot and kill with little effort! It was soo cool!!!!!!!!! (No, children, I don’t condone killing. But when you gotta get through bad aliens to rescue your brother during the end of the world, a guy like Evan comes in handy.)

[Okay, but on a sidetone, I won’t ignore how easily Cassie trusted him. She knew better and yet she still kept fooling herself. Come on, YA, haven’t we had enough of that????]

I admired Yancey’s writing style and his ability to handle four POV’s. I was able to keep up with each one and it allowed an insight to different conflicts during the alien invasion. The only problem I had was with Sam’s POV, a 5 year old boy who sounded like a young adult more than anything else… But he was a cutie pie, so who cares?

My favorite character, however, was Ben. Benjamin Thomas Parish. Wow. So beautiful, I think I shed a tear. I smell a love triangle coming up soon, but hey, we’ll see how it goes.

It’s a good book, but not great. The plot, the writing, and the characters were a joy to read about. Although there were minor set-backs, I was able to overlook them and enjoy the book as a whole. I’m so excited to read The Infinite Sea!

Bring it on, Yancey!

Skulls 4

pagebreak

You can find this review on Goodreads.

Bloglovin

About Sara

I’m Sara, a Colombian teenager with a never-ending enjoyment for reading. I’m a Netflix and Disney enthusiast and my monumental obsession is coffee.

Goodreads | Twitter  | all of Sara’s posts →

17 thoughts on “Review: The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey

  1. I loved this book so much! I read it in one sitting two summers ago and was totally blown away. I never noticed the instalove when I read it but that’s probably because I was amazed. Thinking back on it now though, I completely agree with your thoughts on Cassie and Evan. Lovely review!

    Like

  2. Hmmm I don’t know if it’s just me, but the title for this review says Anna and the French Kiss but then the actual review is for The Fifth Wave…?! In any case, I wanted to read your thoughts either way so here I am :)

    I definitely want to check this book out, but I’m not expecting to be blown away by it either, so your thoughts here pretty much lined up with my expectation. It sounds exciting and scary though LOL! Especially with the movie coming out I feel that I need to check this out^^ Thanks for sharing your thoughts Sara

    Like

    1. Hahaha, it was a mistake, I accidentally switched the titles. But thank you!

      I’ll admit I only read it because the movie is coming out soon. It’s not mind-blowing, but it’s a good read.

      Like

  3. WOOT. This makes me want to read it so so bad! ;D I mean, I want to read it before the movie comes out buuuut I’d heard a ton of less-than-happy things. *gulps* SO YEAH. Your review is fabulousness and I’m going to read it soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So glad you liked this Sara! I completely agree that the whole direction Yancy took with the alien invasion was definitely unique. :) Can’t wait to see what you think of The Infinite Sea!

    Like

  5. I remember, years back, I really loved this one. I wasn’t too fussed on THE INFINITE SEA — primarily due, I think, to the fact that I’d forgotten everything that happened in the first book. Which proved rather problematic when it came to the characters. But I agree — I think he does a really good job with the PoVs, and I loved that aspect of the novel a lot.

    Like

  6. Yesss there were so many parts in this book that didn’t make sense to me, like Cassie trusting Evan just because he’s good looking, and Sam being in the army. He’s 5! Anyway, glad you enjoyed it! It was definitely a unique read.

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

