17661416

We’ll Never Be Apart
by Emiko Jean

published on October 6th 2015 by HMH Books for Young Readers
young adult | mystery | thriller | contemporary | romance

find the book on
Goodreads

Murder.

Fire.

Revenge.

That’s all seventeen-year-old Alice Monroe thinks about. Committed to a mental ward at Savage Isle, Alice is haunted by memories of the fire that killed her boyfriend, Jason. A blaze her twin sister Cellie set. But when Chase, a mysterious, charismatic patient, agrees to help her seek vengeance, Alice begins to rethink everything. Writing out the story of her troubled past in a journal, she must confront hidden truths.

Is the one person she trusts only telling her half the story?

Book Review

I received an advanced reader’s copy of this book from HMH for review. This did not affect my review in any way. Quotes are taken from the uncorrected proof and might be changed in the final version.

image

This is one of those times where you have to ask yourself if there’s such a thing as reading too much. This was a decent and well-written debut, but it was so predictable.

Confined to a mental ward to recuperate, all 17-year-old Alice can think of is the fire that killed her boyfriend and left her scarred. The fire that her twin sister Cellie set.
And now she’s ready to teach Cellie some lessons. She’s ready to right some wrongs. Now, it’s time for revenge.

Cellie was your typical thriller protagonist, nothing more, nothing less. She was confused, full of hatred and a need for vengeance – and rightly so. Reading her journal entries and her thoughts made you feel every bit of her anger and hate and made her extremely easy to connect to.

The book’s main flaw is how entirely predictable it is. The twist at the ending has been used in so many psychological thrillers lately that it didn’t feel extraordinarily shocking to me. I see where Jean was trying to come from, however, and I think the ending will be more effective for those who haven’t read many of the thrillers that have been published lately. Yet, luckily, the predictability doesn’t deter from its eerie atmosphere and its addicting quality.

While it may have been a bit of a far cry away from some of the other more dark and twisted YA thrillers I’ve read (Dangerous Girls comes to mind instantly), it is still a very suspenseful novel and I’d certainly recommend it to those who haven’t read many thrillers.

Skulls 3.5

pagebreak

Bloglovin

About Zoe

Zoe is a critical reviewer. When she’s not reviewing, you can find her performing in plays / musicals, doing gymnastics, or designing websites.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | all of Zoe’s posts →

16 thoughts on “Review: We’ll Never Be Apart by Emiko Jean

  1. I swear this is the fifth review of We’ll Never Be Apart I’ve come across today. I think it’s a sign I need this book in my life ASAP! lol I’ve heard it’s pretty predictable, but I honestly don’t think I’ve read a YA thriller that wasn’t! Still, i find a way to enjoy them somehow. ;) Great review!

    Like

  2. Thrillers become more and more predictable the more you read them. I’ve actually been in a slump thanks to this. I don’t think I’ll be reading this because I have other book priorities, but I’m glad it wasn’t atrocious.

    Like

  3. Well Zoe, luckily I haven’t read many thrillers these days! I’ve been sticking with the romance genre which I really need to branch out from. I hate this one was so predictable and didn’t give you many good FEELS. That’s is really disappointing!:(

    Like

  4. Awwww. I’m not a huge fan of predictable thrillers, because I want to be able to be surprised, like I was in Dangerous Girls (!!!). It kind of sucks because I can see how a cover like that can just suck you in. But hey you did enjoy it Zoe :)

    Awesome review Zoe!!!

    Like

  5. I totally know what you mean by being a bit too genre savvy you can’t enjoy books properly. Even though I probably won’t check this out, I still found your review immensely interesting because I’m writing a revenge story myself, and it’s always enlightening to see what’s been done, and what’s been done to death.

    Like

  6. Oh gosh this book sure sounds creepy from reading the title. It sucks that this book didn’t bring anything new to the table though, such a shame!

    Thanks for the honest review, Zoe <33

    Like

  7. This sounds quite creepy…the perfect book to read in October, I suppose! I don’t read very many thrillers (I’m a total wuss), but I might give this one a go. Great review!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

