Legacy of Kings Eleanor Herman

Legacy of Kings
by Eleanor Herman

published on August 18th 2015 by Harlequin Teen
fantasy | historical fiction | romance | young adult

find the book on
Goodreads

Imagine a time when the gods turn a blind eye to the agony of men, when the last of the hellions roam the plains and evil stirs beyond the edges of the map. A time when cities burn, and in their ashes, empires rise.

Alexander, Macedonia’s sixteen-year-old heir, is on the brink of discovering his fated role in conquering the known world but finds himself drawn to newcomer Katerina, who must navigate the dark secrets of court life while hiding her own mission: kill the Queen. But Kat’s first love, Jacob, will go to unthinkable lengths to win her, even if it means competing for her heart with Hephaestion, a murderer sheltered by the prince. And far across the sea, Zofia, a Persian princess and Alexander’s unmet fiancée, wants to alter her destiny by seeking the famed and deadly Spirit Eaters.

Weaving fantasy with the salacious and fascinating details of real history, New York Times bestselling author Eleanor Herman reimagines the greatest emperor the world has ever known: Alexander the Great, in the first book of the Blood of Gods and Royals series.

Book ReviewIf there is one thing that everyone should know about me, and never, ever forget, is that I live and breathe fantasy books. It is hands-down the best genre; I have never enjoyed another genre as much as I enjoy fantasy. Even though nothing can top fantasy (for me), I also love historical fiction.

Picture this: a 5’1 teenage girl in a fetal position with an ebook in her hands, not moving for five hours straight – even when she has to pee, or worse, eat – until she finally finishes the ebook. You, my friend, just pictured me while reading Legacy of Kings.

We’ve all heard about Alexander the Great at least one time in our life. Maybe you don’t remember the specifics from history class (because let’s face it, nobody listens in history class), but that’s ok! All we’ve ever really needed to know about Alexander the Great is already in his name: the guy was pretty great. And in this book, he was epic.

Physically imperfect and perceived by everyone to be an incapable child, we follow 16 year old Alexander in his struggle to fulfill, what he believes, is a fate of greatness. Alexander’s path crosses with Kat, a peasant yet witty girl who’s sole purpose in life is to kill Queen Olympias, Alexander’s mother. To be honest, almost every single character wanted to kill another character. Kat wants to kill Alex’s mother, Alex’s mother wants to kill Kat, Alex’s sister wants to kill Alex, Alex’s best friend wants to kill everyone that wants to kill Alex, and so on. The only person who probably didn’t want to kill anyone was Alex himself. Each character’s bloodthirst was enjoyable to read about, so I managed to overlook the fact that there were seven P.O.V.’s, one of them being completely useless (but I’m guessing vital to the second book).

The male characters were all brave and courageous and I sat there thinking, good for them. The female characters, however, were freaking badass. Four of them were in battle and were responsible for tipping the scale in favor of Macedon. These girls, although being told they weren’t men and therefore had different roles and responsibilities, didn’t accept the nonsense and did things their way. It’s a bit ironic that the female characters were actually the ones who hoped for more blood than the male characters did. Each character was unique, most were a little bit nuts, but all were great to read about.

The book had a slow start, and because there were so many P.O.V.’s, the characters were at first hard to keep up with. Once things started to pick up, however, there was nothing I had rather done than read (as you can probably tell by the fact that I put off peeing to finish).  There were also overwhelming amounts of information, but considering the author is a historian writing about ancient civilizations, it was fascinating and enjoyable to take it all in. She obviously researched her topics intensely, and that is truly refreshing, because there is nothing that bothers me more than when people write and talk about what they do not know.

Only a small amount of the book is focused on romance. Because, pft, who cares about romance when everyone’s trying to kill each other? Politics, war, mythology, deceit, and magic all dominate this book. It’s ancient Greece we’re talking about, so heck yeah!

Legacy of Kings sets great characterization, world building, and plot-development to be enriched with the second book and I cannot wait! If you’re like me and go weak in the knees whenever someone waves a fantasy book in your face (and maybe even historical fiction), this book is definitely for you. It’s fresh, engrossing, and packed with ancient drama.

The good news is, Legacy of Kings is out on August 18th. Go get it ASAP.

Skulls 4

pagebreak

Bloglovin

About Sara

I’m Sara, a Colombian teenager with a never-ending enjoyment for reading. I’m a Netflix and Disney enthusiast and my monumental obsession is coffee.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Sara’s posts →

30 thoughts on “Review: Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman

  1. SO glad you loved this one Sara! So far, I’ve only heard good things about it, which is awesome. Usually historical fiction isn’t my favourite genre (there’s probably only a couple of books that are HF that I actually like xD) but I am willing to make an exception for this ;) Lovely review!

    Like

  2. August 18th! Yay, though I didn’t know about this book until recently, so it will take long for it to come. Anyway, great review and I’m glad you enjoyed this. :)

    Like

  3. Amazing review, gosh I just want to to and buy this right now! Fantasy is the best genre that there is, no arguments about that! And man, this book just sounds phenomenal! 😄 xoxo

    Like

  4. This one should be arriving here this week and I’m so excited! Fantastic review. I actually love and am kinda of obsessed about Alex hehe, I hope the book does him justice :D

    Like

  5. I’m also a massive historical fiction fan so this sounds like something I’d love! Alexander the Great is a fascinating figure in history, so it’d be fascinating to read a book like this. Thanks for sharing a brilliant review Sara :)

    Like

  6. Bahahaha, I totally love your review, Sara! Also, I’m jealous of your height. I’m still 3″ shorter. :( *coughs* Anywayyy… I’m a HUGE fan of fantasy and am a lover of historical as well. I mean, bloodthirst. BLOODTHIRST. I’m so in. And female badassness? ASDFGHJKL.

    Like

    1. If I’M short, then you’re basically a dwarf xD Just kidding, you’re just tiny… hahaha. Not ALL female characters were badass, but those who were definitely had enough flair to share. BLOODTHIRST IS EVERYTHING.

      Like

  7. Gah! I wanted/needed this book at BEA this year but I missed it! Now I regret that even more because 1. I live and breathe fantasy too and 2. OMG YOUR REVIEW!!!! This book must be mine XD Gorgeous review Sara^^ xx

    Like

  8. You have NO idea how happy your review makes me, Sara! I was really excited about this one, and then read a few “meh” reviews, but yours has me excited again! Because I know for me, when I put off peeing for a book, it is GOOOOOOD. I love the historical element too, history has always been of interest to me, almost like a morbid fascination! I had heard about the POVs, but I am glad that it was only tough in the beginning- I can definitely handle that! Great review, I kind of wish I could drop everything and read this NOW :D

    Like

  9. I loved this book! Legacy of Kings had everything I love in an epic fantasy, and it delivered all the concepts in such an amazing way! Plus, Eleanor Herman is such a sweet person in twitter!
    Wonderful review Sara!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

