20933641

What You Left Behind
by Jessica Verdi

published on August 4th 2015 by Sourcebooks
young adult | contemporary | romance

find the book on
Goodreads

It’s all Ryden’s fault. If he hadn’t gotten Meg pregnant, she would have never stopped her chemo treatments and would still be alive. Instead, he’s failing fatherhood one dirty diaper at a time. And it’s not like he’s had time to grieve while struggling to care for their infant daughter, start his senior year, and earn the soccer scholarship he needs to go to college.

The one person who makes Ryden feel like his old self is Joni. She’s fun and energetic—and doesn’t know he has a baby. But the more time they spend together, the harder it becomes to keep his two worlds separate. Finding one of Meg’s journals only stirs up old emotions, and Ryden’s convinced Meg left other notebooks for him to find, some message to help his new life make sense. But how is he going to have a future if he can’t let go of the past?

Book Review

I received a free print copy of this book from Sourcebooks for review. This did not affect my review in any way.

 

Ladies and gents, I am speechless. What You Left Behind was so good that it knocked the socks off everyone within a 5-meter radius of it. I’m pretty sure my pet unicorn lost his socks, too.

I’m not sure if my review will justify how awesome this book was, but let me give it a shot. *deep breath*

First off, we have one of the most realistic male narrators I’ve ever come across. Goodbye, annoying heroes who think about sex for 3/4 of the book! Sayonara, guys who insert a curse word in every sentence they say. Adios, brooding, abusive assholes with troubled pasts! And hello, Ryden Brooks!

Ryden acts like a normal teen would–he’s stubborn, confused, and kind of just there without making a huge deal out of everything. Weird or not, I kind of appreciated how his entire life didn’t revolve around his kid. Verdi took a risk showing us that yes, children are precious and need attention, but to some people, they aren’t everything. It’s not an ideal situation, but it’s truthful and it happens.

Verdi manages to make the story both realistic and emotionally investing. I felt all sorts of things, ranging from ohmigosh dying of shippy feels! to nooo! (in a good, please-don’t-do-that-I-beg-you kind of way) and everything in between. Yes, I did rage–but for the right reasons. And yes, I cried both happy and sad tears. Maybe even at the same time…

The romance definitely had an impact on this. The romance between Ryden and Joni was perfectly sweet, with a touch of angsty, which you guys know I adore in my books. It was paced perfectly–not too slow-burn that you just want to pull your hair out because of all the sexual frustration, or quick that you’d get grossed out. It’s smack-dab in the middle. I also loved Joni’s feelings towards Ryden being a teen dad–again, not ideal, but very realistic. I would probably have acted the same way in her shoes.

Another thing I have to mention is how much I adored the presence of family in this book. Ryden’s mom was gloriously supportive and loving. She was the kind of mom you wish you’d be. Joni’s family didn’t play a huge part in the book, but you could easily see how much they respected and cared for her even in those little scenes with them that we’re shown.

Can I also give bonus points for Verdi having a gorgeous Korean side character named Aimee? I am expecting more gorgeous Aimees in future books.

My unicorn Percy says go forth and read the book! Or else he won’t shit any rainbows for you.

Skulls 5

pagebreak

Bloglovin

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

25 thoughts on “Review: What You Left Behind by Jessica Verdi

  1. I never read any books about a single teenager dad. And this book have all the shiny ratings and reviews so I guess this might work out for me! I hope I’ll get my socks knocked off too ;)

    Like

  2. This sounds so good! I feel like finding a book with a REALISTIC depiction of anyone or their relationships is as hard to find as your pet unicorn’s socks. If you say it’s good – I completely believe you! Adding this one now!

    Like

  3. This book is actually very good just from the blurb itself but seeing as that even you liked ehem. sorry. LOVED it. Then its sure to be an awesome read! I am happy that I think for the first time we would both love the same guy! hahahaha (Other than Day of course wink wink)

    Like

  4. Gah, the last line of your review killed me. XD

    Seriously though, I’ve seen some great reviews for this one – will definitely be checking it out sometime soon. I think it’s awesome to have a book about teen pregnancy (or child-raising, as it were) from the dude’s perspective. And we can always do with more gorgeous Korean side-characters named Aimee, right?

    Like

  5. the name Ryden heavily reminded me of a band-ship (I just really have to get that out of my chest)..
    ANYWAY, this really sounds like my type of read. It’s good to know to that you loved it! And your emotions!! I really, really just need to read this. Great review, Aimee.. (and it must be awesome to read your name on a book, mine will definitely never be on one – unless I write one I guess, LOL).

    Like

  6. Ahahaha this is a great review AImee! I too very much enjoyed this book for a few of the reasons you did. I really just enjoyed how realistic this book was and how it wasn’t a teen mom. I feel as though when teenagers get pregnant, it’s always the mom who has to take care of the child but seeing RYden take care of his daughter and do parent-y things was just great and I loved it. Thanks for sharing!

    ~Kaitlin

    Like

  7. This book sounds wonderful and Ryden sounds like a very relatable and down to earth narrator! Love that this book explores the problems that young parents faces as well. Sounds very heartwarming and I always love reading your reviews because you are so passionate!!

    Like

  8. I love contemporary books and I love male point of views, but I thought this book may not be for me. Maybe I’m wrong?? Hearing how much you loved this, I think I need to give it a shot! Sounds like the author does a great job making the story line realistic and relatable.
    Great review, Aimee!

    Like

  9. Well I MUST read this book now if there’s a character named Aimee in it? Right?

    HAHA.

    I am so looking forward to this now. I have only heard positive things about Ryden and this book in general. And of course I’ll read anything with a baby in it.

    Like

  10. Yess, a realistic male narrator that doesn’t think about sex 24/7! I do like that, and woah Ryden with his child just sounds something that I’ve never read before. The slow burn romance sounds really good especially with all of the feels! And I’m so glad Ryden’s mom was supportive. Great review Aimee.

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

