A History of Glitter and Blood Hannah Moskowitz

A History of Glitter and Blood
by Hannah Moskowitz

published on August 18th 2015 by Chronicle Books
young adult | fantasy | romance | LGBTQ

find the book on
Goodreads

Sixteen-year-old Beckan and her friends are the only fairies brave enough to stay in Ferrum when war breaks out. Now there is tension between the immortal fairies, the subterranean gnomes, and the mysterious tightropers who arrived to liberate the fairies.

But when Beckan’s clan is forced to venture into the gnome underworld to survive, they find themselves tentatively forming unlikely friendships and making sacrifices they couldn’t have imagined. As danger mounts, Beckan finds herself caught between her loyalty to her friends, her desire for peace, and a love she never expected.

Book Review

I received a free digital copy of this book in advance from Chronicle Books. This did not affect my review in any way.

I have never read any book like this one before–it was weird, it was odd, it was different.

This is my first Hannah Moskowitz book, and I am definitely going to be hunting down her books at our local bookstores so I can devour them as I did with this fabulous piece.

If there’s one thing I can promise you, it’s this: A History of Glitter and Blood is one big mess. Now “mess” in regards to this book can mean two things: a) a legitimately annoying, confusing mess, or b) a beautiful mess–luckily for me, I thought it was a fucking gorgeous, brilliant mess.

Okay, you’re probably wondering how that sentence could possibly make any sense. Well, it does, I swear!

This book was written with a more… cluttered writing style, as opposed to lyrical writing. And fuck yeah did I love it! It went really well with the unreliable narrator’s voice and made the story seem even more authentic.

The story itself had a mix of everything–romance, politics, drama, mystery–and each aspect was balanced out really well. None of them were boring or less interesting than the other.

And the characters! That aspect was amazing as well. This book featured a load of unique paranormal creatures–fairies (who can live with missing body parts and shed glitter), gnomes (who eat fairies–whoops!), tightropers, backpackers, nymphs–they were all incredibly badass and also very fascinating.

The relationships between the characters were… unique, to put it simply. There was just so much intimacy between everyone–and yeah, everyone pretty much had sex with everyone at some point in the book. (The main couple, though? I SHIP THEM SO HARD.) There was prostitution, too, which was handled in a… questionable but interesting way.

Overall, I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for something different, and isn’t afraid of a little a lot of a shit ton of weirdness.

Skulls 4.5

pagebreak

Bloglovin

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

21 thoughts on “Review: A History of Glitter and Blood by Hannah Moskowitz

  1. This book sounds all kind of scandalous and interesting. Plus in a market where I think I’ve read everything I welcome a book that’s said to be unique. Wonderful review Aimee, will have to check this one out!

    Like

  2. I read the first few chapters before I stopped. It was a mess I can’t get through; I actually thought there’s something wrong with my review copy at that time but…no. I do plan on picking this book up in the future once I get a physical one so I’d have a better reading experience lol.

    Like

  3. I’ve started this one and it is SO STRANGE. I tend to like strange so I think it’ll be an ok read for me. I’m excited to see that you really enjoyed it! I need to pick it up but more pressing review books popped up (it was a gift so I don’t HAVE to review). Great review!

    Like

  4. Ooh look, you redesigned your header + navbar — I’m going to have so much fun clicking around :D :D AND OOH. I’d heard tidbits here and there about A History of Glitter and Blood (that gorgeous cover!!) It sounds really unique, and I’ve always had a soft spot in my heart for books that are beautiful messes, so I shall give this a try. Lovely review!

    Like

  5. I wanted to like this book so badly, because I saw the appeal, I just… couldn’t get into it. Usually I like weird writing styles, but I guess this one didn’t suit me. Glad you were able to love it, though :D

    Like

  6. I’M SO GLAD YOU LIKED THIS! This is seriously one of the most interesting books I’ve read in ages. (OMG MAIN COUPLE, I GET SO SWOONY THINKING OF THEM.) I love love loved that the narrator was literally writing the book as it happened. It’s one of those quirky postmodern things that you see in fiction classes but NEVER in mainstream stuff, and it worked SO WELL. For me, anyway. I think it’s a love or hate kind of thing.

    CJ

    Like

  7. Okay, I’m SERIOUSLY INTRIGUED! Lol. I love odd books that feature Fae etc. They’re not suppose to be cute, but strange, dark and even deadly like in Grimm. I like my swoon and romance, but not endless copious amounts, but this sounds so intriguing …*Adds to want list*
    Thanks for the great *tantalizing* review ;)

    Like

  8. I’ve heard some really good things about this book like I’ve heard some really bad things. I think it’s all about the person the reader is. Personally, i haven’t read unreliable narrator so I have no idea if I’ll like it or not but your praise is awesome! I think I would be able to relate to this mc since i’m a little crazy myself ;)

    lovely review!

    Like

  9. this book was just so weird. While I thought the writing style was hard to follow at times, I loved how the story was told. Because of that, we don’t know what REALLY happened, ya know? LOL

    Like

  10. YES! Someone else in the History of Glitter and Blood fanclub! *fist pump*. This book was the breath of fresh air that so many of us were looking for. I still gave this book a chance after reading all of the negative reactions, and I am glad I did. (This is, in no way, an attack on those who didn’t like it. There are plenty of diverse books that I didn’t like – no offence to those who didn’t care for it!!)

    I like how this played out, because the character writing it was falling apart. Sometimes it bothers me when a book is written from a POV of a character that is under stress or trying to handle a mental illness or an emotional incident, and their thinking is linear and exact. While we do need this to help us understand their views and their thoughts, I want to see more books on what ACTUALLY is going on through someone’s head when their mind is not alright. That is what I loved about this book, because I understood WHY it was written in such a form!

    Like

  11. Well this sounds incredibly interesting and unique in the realm of fantasy, Aimee, and I have to say I love the sound of it. Not sure how I feel about gritty novels, personally- I haven’t read enough, although I get terrified easily and don’t like that much- but I really love the way you’ve described how everything is very different. It seems unexpected, and I like that for sure.
    Lovely review. xx

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

