Jesse's Girl Miranda KenneallyThis post is part of the official Jesse’s Girl blog tour hosted by Sourcebooks Fire.

The Book

Jesse’s Girl
by Miranda Kenneally

published on July 7th 2015 by Sourcebooks Fire
young adult | romance | contemporary

find the book on
Goodreads

Everyone at Hundred Oaks High knows that career mentoring day is a joke. So when Maya Henry said she wanted to be a rock star, she never imagined she’d get to shadow *the* Jesse Scott, Nashville’s teen idol.

But spending the day with Jesse is far from a dream come true. He’s as gorgeous as his music, but seeing all that he’s accomplished is just a reminder of everything Maya’s lost: her trust, her boyfriend, their band, and any chance to play the music she craves. Not to mention that Jesse’s pushy and opinionated. He made it on his own, and he thinks Maya’s playing back up to other people’s dreams. Does she have what it takes to follow her heart—and go solo?

Review

Instead of writing my usual review, I’ve decided to write a letter to Jesse’s Girl. If only books could receive, read and respond to letters…

*clears throat* Ahem. Dear Jesse’s Girl,

Gosh darn it, you were a fabulous book. But you already know that, obviously. I just wanted to let you know that you made me swoon, laugh, smile, and feel tingles all over.

You made me cry, too. Typically I cry because I’m sad, but with you, I totally cried happy tears. I was deeply touched by how the Maya’s family just oozed love and support. The Henry family is definitely one I would not hesitate to say is what a family should be.

You also made me ship Maya and Jesse so hard it hurt. Okay, fine, I was totally iffy about Jesse at first, but he turned out to be one of the sweetest guys ever. And holy crud, their chemistry was off the charts! It was also pretty lovely how Maya was the kind of girl who didn’t jump to conclusions about the other girls Jesse hung out with.

You made me love both Maya and Jesse individually, too. I love how they were both extremely passionate about what they loved to do–Maya especially. She was also a very real and honest character–heck, at one point she admitted to liking the fact that she was gaining followers because of Jesse, as I know most of us would feel.

I would also like to give you bonus points for containing: a) lovable LGBTQ side characters, and b) SAM HENRY (and Jordan–and them together!).

I heart ya. Lots.

Hugs,
Aimee

rating: 4 stars

Interview

Which one of the Hundred Oaks boys are you most likely to date and why? Also, which one’s most likely to want to date you and why?

I would most want to date Jeremiah because he is all things sexy. Rory Whitfield would probably want to date me, because I like watching movies and he wants to be a screenwriter one day.

Compare both Maya and Jesse to a dessert, and explain why they’re similar to those desserts.

First of all, this is an evil question because now I really want dessert! Jesse is a Dairy Queen Dilly Bar, because he has a hard outer layer of chocolate, but inside he’s a sweet vanilla. I think of Maya like a wedding cake: she’s very elaborate and colorful and made up on the outside, but inside she’s just a normal girl, like a normal slice of cake. Together, Maya and Jesse are like pop rocks and soda: mix them together and they explode!

Which YA heroine (dead or alive) is Maya most likely to become best friends with?

Remy from This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen. Both Maya and Remy have had some bad luck with guys and love, but they both learn to trust again. And they are both blunt badasses who tell it like it is.

If Jesse had to write a book, what genre would he be most likely to write?

Jesse would probably write a non-fiction how-to guy on trout fishing. Or maybe a coffee table book featuring pictures of great cowboy boots!

Recommend your book in ten words or less!

Punk girl spends day with hottie country music star!

The Author

Miranda Kenneally
Goodreads | Twitter | Website

Growing up in Tennessee, Miranda Kenneally dreamed of becoming an Atlanta Brave, a country singer (cliché!), or a UN interpreter. Instead she writes, and works for the State Department in Washington, D.C., where George W. Bush once used her shoulder as an armrest. Miranda loves Twitter, Star Trek and her husband.

Other works include: Catching Jordan, Stealing Parker, Things I Can’t Forget, Racing Savannah and Breathe, Annie, Breathe,

 

pagebreak

Have you read/do you want to read Jesse’s Girl, or Miranda’s other books (which I highly recommend)? Thoughts on my letter? Thoughts on the interview? Tell me!

Bloglovin

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

16 thoughts on “Review: Jesse’s Girl by Miranda Kenneally (Plus a Fabulous Interview)

  1. This book looks ADORABLE! I love family elements and I can never resist an OTP with chemistry! Thanks for your review Aimee!

    Like

  2. I’ve heard so many amazing things about this series and I just love the sound of the family so much! Jesse and Maya sound really cute and oh man, Jesse sounds really sweet as well. Maya, I love the fact taht she’s honest with herself. Great review and interview Aimee!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

