Extraordinary Means

Extraordinary Means
by Robyn Schneider

published on May 26th 2015 by Katherine Tegen Books
young adult | contemporary | romance

find the book on
Goodreads

At seventeen, overachieving Lane finds himself at Latham House, a sanatorium for teens suffering from an incurable strain of tuberculosis. Part hospital and part boarding school, Latham is a place of endless rules and confusing rituals, where it’s easier to fail breakfast than it is to flunk French.

There, Lane encounters a girl he knew years ago. Instead of the shy loner he remembers, Sadie has transformed. At Latham, she is sarcastic, fearless, and utterly compelling. Her friends, a group of eccentric troublemakers, fascinate Lane, who has never stepped out of bounds his whole life. And as he gradually becomes one of them, Sadie shows him their secrets: how to steal internet, how to sneak into town, and how to disable the med sensors they must wear at all times.

But there are consequences to having secrets, particularly at Latham House. And as Lane and Sadie begin to fall in love and their group begins to fall sicker, their insular world threatens to come crashing down.

REVIEW

There’s a difference between being dead and dying. We’re all dying. Some of us die for ninety years, and some of us die for nineteen. But each morning everyone on this planet wakes up one day closer to their death. Everyone. So living and dying are actually different words for the same thing, if you think about it.

A year ago, thanks to The Fault in Our Stars, a huge contemporary craze began in the world of young adult literature. Extraordinary Means continues that craze. Unfortunately, even though it was entertaining and decently written, I didn’t feel that it added anything significant to this fad that hasn’t already been written about.

Lane is on the path to fulfilling his dream of being accepted to an Ivy League school when suddenly everything comes crashing down on him. He is diagnosed with a rare and incurable form of tuberculosis, and is sent away to a boarding school / hospital called Latham House.

Little does he expect that being diagnosed with a potentially fatal disease will be the reason he falls in love and learns what it’s like to really live.

Lane is perfect on paper – he never goes against the rules; always does his homework; is on track for becoming his class’ Valedictorian. You can see how being diagnosed with a possibly fatal disease tears him apart; and no doubt it will break you just as much as it does him. The character development he goes through and the lessons he learns are invaluable and wonderfully written.

While at Latham House, Lane ends up falling in love with spunky and free-spirited Sadie. While their romance was well-written enough to keep me personally invested, it didn’t do much beyond that. I didn’t feel any sparks or extreme chemistry between them. It was just simply…there.

Certainly not a bad read; but it didn’t have anything that stood out to me or enough substance to me clap, gasp, or cry. I’d still recommend it however – especially to readers who like John Green’s books.

Skulls 3.5

pagebreak

Bloglovin

About Zoe

Zoe is a critical reviewer. When she’s not reviewing, you can find her performing in plays / musicals, doing gymnastics, or designing websites.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | all of Zoe’s posts →

19 thoughts on “Review: Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider

  1. Hi to all the people who moderate this blog!! :) This book is on my TBR for quite some time now, seeing that Robyn Schneider was here last July 5 for a signing event, Bbut I haven’t read the book yet. And with that said, I’ll come back to this review after I finish reading it. Hehe. :D

    Like

  2. I only made it about halfway through this book before putting it down. Like you said, nothing stood out. It sucks though because I loved The Beginning of Everything.

    Like

  3. Aww, I’m sad this didn’t work out for you. Because the premise did sound really interesting, but it really didn’t live up it’s expectations for a lot of people. Since I have liked John Green books, I’ll give it a shot. But I’ll set the bar low XD

    Lovely review, Zoe <3

    Like

  4. Omg what a coincidence, I just came across this on Goodreads. I must agree with you, ever since John Green has come into the picture a YA craze has formed which is not a bad thing considering I have now become a John Green fan myself ;). I’ll definitely be putting consideration into reading Extraordinary Means.

    Like

  5. Awww. I understand the trend though. But I did hear good things about the book otherwise. Sadly I won’t read this because it is an overdone plot/theme. Awesome review ZOEEE. At least you enjoyed it :)

    Like

  6. I definitely enjoyed it and really connected with the idea of the disease that was being discussed, but like you said, I don’t think it was anything super special in terms of YA Lit. A good read, but more fluffy than important… you know?

    Like

  7. “I didn’t feel that it added anything significant to this fad” <– THIS. I TOTALLY AGREE. I really enjoyed this one (but I think my 4-stars is pretty similar to your 3.5 hehe I just don't use half stars CAUSE I'M MAINSTREAM LIKE THAT **sigh**) but yes, like I enjoyed it, but it didn't keep me hooked to the edge of my seat. I did think it was a nice nod to John Green. Like I REALLY love his stuff and I hate rip offs, but this seemed to do it okay. Not that I think it’s too similar, but there are similarities. Omg. I am completely rambling. xD LOVELY REVIEW, ZOE.

    Like

  8. The fact that from Lane’s perspective, this reads as a coming of age is what I absolutely like about Schneider’s sophomore book. But I agree with you on the there’s-nothing-we-haven’t-seen-before and Lane and Sadie having no chemistry. And EM is very quiet, wouldn’t you agree? Also, have you read The Beginning of Everything? I love that so much better. Although, again, like you, I still recommend EM.

    Like

  9. Yes yes yes ALL OF THIS. I love Schneider’s first book, but for some reason this one is just… lackluster, to me. I feel like it’s a geeky version of TFIOS meeting Looking for Alaska? Which is all good and well, but I wish it was a bit more unique, especially with that ending.

    Like

  10. Whoa, I never saw this one until now. TBRing! Sometimes a fluffy book is good–and maybe it’s a craze, but it’s still someone’s story. (Of course, ask me again after and I’ll probably be ranting about it.)

    CJ

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

