21469068

I’ll Meet You There
by Heather Demetrios

published on February 3rd 2015 by Henry Holt and Co.
young adult | romance | contemporary

find the book on
Goodreads

If seventeen-year-old Skylar Evans were a typical Creek View girl, her future would involve a double-wide trailer, a baby on her hip, and the graveyard shift at Taco Bell. But after graduation, the only thing standing between straightedge Skylar and art school are three minimum-wage months of summer. Skylar can taste the freedom—that is, until her mother loses her job and everything starts coming apart. Torn between her dreams and the people she loves, Skylar realizes everything she’s ever worked for is on the line.

Nineteen-year-old Josh Mitchell had a different ticket out of Creek View: the Marines. But after his leg is blown off in Afghanistan, he returns home, a shell of the cocksure boy he used to be. What brings Skylar and Josh together is working at the Paradise—a quirky motel off California’s dusty Highway 99. Despite their differences, their shared isolation turns into an unexpected friendship and soon, something deeper.

Book Review

Warning: Prepare yourself for much incoherency and babbling.

Book hangover (n.): When you’ve finished a book and you suddenly return to the real world, but the real world feels incomplete or surreal because you’re still living in the world of the book. — iciclethe828, Urban Dictionary

So, now y’all know how I’m feeling. WHO BROUGHT BACK REALITY? GIVE ME BACK MY SKYLAR AND JOSH No, I’m not fine. A warm hug or fifty would make me feel much better, though.

This book just brought out all of the feelings I am possibly capable of feeling. I smiled like an idiot, I cried like I had unlimited tears, I shipped like I actually owned a ship, and I got as mad as the Hulk. Basically I became totally moody.

Skylar is a heroine you just can’t help but feel for. I don’t know about you, but I’m seriously the most indecisive person on the planet, and I saw myself in Skylar. She had a lot of problems that needed solving, questions that needed answers, and choices that needed solid decisions. Through it all, she had plenty of ups and downs, just like we would if we were in her situation.

Josh. My dear, dear Josh Mitchell. He’s mine no stealing. Let me tell you this: You aren’t going to love Josh fully. He did a lot of shitty things that will make you want to smash his brains out, but he knows when he’s done something wrong and he’s honestly sorry about it.

Like I said, Josh doesn’t do the right things all the time, but despite that, I promise you that you are going to root for these two to be together forever and ever and ever. Their feelings were just so raw and realyou can’t not ship this ship. If you don’t we can’t be friends.

Also, the family aspect in the book wasn’t amazing, but rather, completely honest. Sometimes family members will put themselves before you. Sometimes they aren’t sweet outwardly, but actually really care about you inside. I’ll Meet You There explores all of these truthful possibilities.

Basically, what I’m trying to say is: This book. Please read it.

Skulls 4.5

pagebreak

Bloglovin

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

54 thoughts on “Review: I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios

  1. AIMEE YESS I HAD THE SAME REACTION. My review was an emotional mess but my goodness this book was amazing. <3

    Like

  2. SENDING WARM HUGS YOUR WAY.

    I think I loved Josh more BECAUSE of all the poor things he did. It made him more realistic! But also the fact that he hast to suffer consequences and be challenged by Skylar.

    BUT THIS BOOK *flailing*

    Like

    1. *catches hugs* <3
      I definitely didn't like him for the things he did, but I loved him so much for understanding that a) Skylar needed space and also that b) you have to work hard to earn back someone's trust. :)
      I KNOOOOW.

      Like

  3. LOL that’s awesome. I’d heard a lot of good things about this one. Yay for it being a great read!

    Like

  4. You’ve convinced me Aimee. I want the feels too! This looks like the solution to my terrible reading slump so I’ll make sure to look for this book first on my next trip to the bookstore. :)

    Like

  5. Hahahaha, I love this review! I can’t remember the last time you shipped someone like this since Percabeth, Aimes. This sounds like such a lovely book, I want to EAT it now. Shipping is why I live on this planet. And this kind of shipping makes me want to read the. BOOK NOW OMG. Aimes, why do you do this to me?

    Like

  6. I TRUST YOU SO THIS IS ON MY TBR. It sounds soooo amazing and I pretty much only hear good things about this author, SO I’M ONTO THIS. *nods*

    Like

  7. Weeeeeell. THERE YOU GO. YOU’VE CONVINCED ME, AIMEE. I’m reading this :P And since I’ve loved books that you’ve loved before., I’m going with your judgment 100% and giving this a try XD Lovely review, Aimee <3

    Like

  8. *squishy hugs*
    Awww, Aimee, I’m so glad you loved this book! I want to read this book SO BAD and so of course I haven’t read it yet :( But I’m planning on getting on it (soon, I hope) and you’ve definitely bumped it up my TBR! Thank you :*

    Like

    1. *hugs back* <3
      Don't worry, that's definitely what I before I read it, too! I actually couldn't wait and ended up getting an ebook when a friend of mine tweeted about it. :D

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I have this sitting on my TBR shelf and you just reminded me that I need to pick it up soon. I keep hearing the best things about it but then never actually read it. Soon. soon. SOON!

    Like

  10. THIS BOOK! I had the worst book hangover from it too! I almost didn’t even bother reading it, but oh my goodness, what if I hadn’t!??! This book was so amazing. I can’t like, leave an actual coherent comment because I just want to flail. So… you did a lovely job using actual words :D

    Like

  11. Aww yess you loved this book as well!! *flails arms* I thought it was one of the cutest books I have read this year, I also loved the disability factor – I felt that’s what made the book unique and separate from others in the genre I loved Josh too.. but okay, you can keep him THIS TIME ONLY :D I shall steal him next time when you’re not looking .. Wonderful review though Aimee <3

    Like

  12. I read this one just a few weeks ago because I asked for a contemp that wouldn’t make me cry and everyone recommended this one but THEY LIED THEY ALL LIED AIMEE. I CRIED. AND THEN I READ THE AUTHOR’S NOTE AND CRIED SOME MORE.

    Like

  13. Girl, you don’t know how happy it makes me that you loved this book so much! I saw your status updates on Goodreads and was all “hell yes!”
    Gosh, this book. It just GUTS me, but then I love it so much. OTP for life. <3
    I can't wait for Heather to write more contemporary.

    Like

  14. *Zaps warmest 45 degree celsius hugs at you*

    Your emotions are so real in this review, I really need to feel what ou felt! I haven’t had a ship overtake my life for so long, I need to FIND THE SHIPS TO SHIP. I want to ship Josh and Skylar already. Different portrayals of family are always interesting to read about too!

    Like

  15. Same I felt so so sooooo much. I ship it like there’s no tomorrow and I still think about them even though I read it a month ago. It was pain and swoon and everything. The family stuff really broke me *sobs* The only thing I didn’t like was the excessive, disgusting gay slurs which made me want to punch these characters I had come to love. But other than that I really loved this one too and am glad you did as well, my love!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

