If You Liked You'll Enjoy Books

Sara here! As my first post on this beautiful blog, I will be giving some (hopefully) helpful recommendations. So take out that TBR list because you’re about to add a lot more books to it!

These recommendations are a mixture of books I have and have not read. Do not be afraid, though! I consulted a couple of book nerds to not only suggest what books to feature, but to verify the ratings and popularity of all suggested books. So I assure you that at least one recommendation is definitely for you.

Are you ready? Let’s go!

IF YOU LIKED THE HUNGER GAMES

You’ll probably enjoy….

Unwind Battle Royale Lord of The Rings

Unwind: Due to a war based on reproductive rights, parents can now have their unwanted child “unwound”, a process where all of the child’s organs are transplanted into different donors. Three teenagers sent to be unwound, although experiencing drastically different situations, cross paths and fight for their survival.

Battle Royale: Claimed as the book The Hunger Games ripped off, Battle Royale consists of junior high school students forced to kill each other ruthlessly by the government in order to remain the last one standing. The Hunger Games is rated PG compared to Battle Royale.

Lord of the Flies: A plane evacuating a group of school boys is shot down, leaving the boys in an inhabited tropical island. In order to survive, they elect a leader and assign tasks to each, but things get complicated when there is a power struggle between the boys and monster sightings on the island.

Let me tell you something about these three books: they are i n t e n s e. These books are action packed, nerve-wrecking, and completely disturbing in the best way possible. If you don’t mind a bittersweet taste in your mouth, I strongly suggest you dive right in.

IF YOU LIKED LORD OF THE RINGS

You’ll probably enjoy….

Mistborn 2986865 11127

Mistborn: The Final Empire: In a world where ash falls from the sky, and mist dominates the night, an evil cloaks the land and stifles all life. The future of the empire rests on the shoulders of a troublemaker and his young apprentice. Together, can they fill the world with color once more?

Eon: Dragoneye Reborn: Twelve year old Eon has been training for years to be chosen as a Dragoneye, an apprentice to one of the twelve energy dragons of good fortune. But Eon is actually Eona, a sixteen year old girl masquerading as a boy since females are forbidden to use Dragon Magic. When her secret threatens to come to life, she is plunged into a world of danger.

The Chronicles of Narnia: Epic battles between good and evil, journeys to the end of the world, and fantastic creatures like you’ve never known before.

I am a sucker for fantasy fiction. Give me a fantasy book, and I’ll have it read in about a day or two. If you can relate, then give these books a try. They’re filled with action, adventure, butt-kicking scenes, and much more.

IF YOU LIKED ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS

You’ll probably enjoy…

12294652 7863274 12578313

My Life Next Door: The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy, affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them… until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything.

Graffiti Moon: An intense and exhilarating 24 hours in the lives of four teenagers on the verge: of adulthood, of HSC, of finding out just who they are, and who they want to be.

Golden: Seventeen-year-old Parker Frost has never taken the road less traveled. Valedictorian and quintessential good girl, she’s about to graduate high school without ever having kissed her crush or broken the rules. So when fate drops a clue in her lap—one that might be the key to unraveling a town mystery—she decides to take a chance.

These recommendations lean more towards romance, but who doesn’t need a little love in their life? You are never too old or too “cool” to be affected by a cute, heart-warming story. Indulge your emotions into these books and don’t be afraid to say “aw, my heart” if necessary.

IF YOU LIKED A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES

You’ll probably enjoy…

12558285 7514925 Cinder

Splintered: Alyssa Gardner is a descendent of Alice Liddell, the real-life inspiration for Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Soon she discovers that Wonderland is no fiction and that the only way to save her family is to fix Alice’s mistakes.

Tiger Lily: Before Peter Pan belonged to Wendy, he belonged to the girl with the crow feather in her hair…

Cinder: Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction.

Retellings are the bomb diggity. Anyone who can write a unique and exciting retelling while still being true to the original story is absolutely brilliant. If you’re ever in the mood to send your feelings into complete chaos, pick up one of these books and read.

IF YOU LIKED PERCY JACKSON

You’ll probably enjoy…

157055 The Isle of the Lost The School for Good and Evil

Once Upon a Marigold (a.k.a. my favorite childhood book evah): Christian is gaga for Princess Marigold. But he’s just a commoner, and no match for royalty. Now he’s discovered something terrible: Queen Olympia is scheming to take over the kingdom, and she’ll bump off her own daughter to do it. Can Christian foil her diabolical plans?

The Isle of the Lost: Twenty years ago, all the evil villains were banished from the kingdom of Auradon and made to live in virtual imprisonment on the Isle of the Lost. The only way to escape is to find a dragon’s eye hidden in the Forbidden Forrest. Only the cleverest, evilest, nastiest little villain can find it… who will it be?

The School for Good and Evil: The first kidnappings happened two hundred years before. But if at first the choices seemed random, soon the pattern became clear. One was always beautiful and good, the perfect child. The other was homely and odd, an outcast from birth. An opposing pair, plucked from youth and spirited away. Where to? The School for Good and Evil.

Read and read very carefully: there is no shame in being a grown (young) adult and reading middle grade fiction. Absolutely NO shame. If anyone tries you pick on you for it, give them a punch right in the gut (no… don’t do that… write a strongly worded letter instead). Enjoy middle grade books. Love them, hug them, kiss them. Leave aside any critical thinking you have obtained over the years and just pick up a book and read it as if you were still a child. You will not regret it.

pagebreak

Have you read any of these books? Do you want to? Do you agree with my recommendations?

About Sara

I’m Sara, a Colombian teenager with a never-ending enjoyment for reading. I’m a Netflix and Disney enthusiast and my monumental obsession is coffee, so I can do nothing with more energy.

Goodreads | Twitter  | Instagram |  all of Sara’s posts →

Advertisements

60 thoughts on “If You Enjoyed… Then You’ll Probably Enjoy…

  1. Although I have a copy sitting on my shelf, I haven’t read A Court of Thorns and Roses yet but I’ve read and loved Tiger Lily, Splintered and Cinder so I can’t wait to start reading ACTR asap! Great post.

    Like

  2. Hi Sara! I LOVE this type of post and Mistborn, LotR, ACOTAR, HG, Percy Jackson, The School for Good & Evil, Cinder and Narnia are among my favorite reads! I still need to read Battle Royale, Unwind, Eon , Tiger Lily and Splintered though but seeing them here makes me all the more excited to get into them :D

    Like

    1. Hello! I’m glad to hear that. Unwind, Battle Royale, Eon, Tiger Lily and Splintered are all incredibly amazing so I really, really, really hope you enjoy them to the fullest.

      Like

  3. These recommendations are amazing! I added Eon and Unwind to my TBR :) I loved Battle Royale, and I do believe THG ripped it off :( although, they’re both amazing books. My life next door was kind of blah for me.. I liked the second half much better though.

    Like

    1. YAY! I hope you enjoy Eon and that Unwind leaves you as stunned and breathless as it left me. And yes, I do have to agree that THG ripped off Battle Royale, but it was still a great book. I LOVED My Life Next Door, but hey, not everyone will enjoy something to the same extent :)

      Like

  4. I totally want to read the School of Good and Evil!! I only JUST got into Percy Jackson this year and have devoured, like, 7 books. XD I have no idea what i’m going to do when I’m done, so these recs are fabulousness.

    Like

    1. I am the biggest Percy Jackson fan in the whole world so you cannot imagine how happy it makes me that you just got into it :D I’m glad these recs are helpful!

      Like

  5. But if I didn’t like ACOTAR, you think I might still enjoy Cinder? :o Also, the School of Good and Evil keeps appearing – I know I have to give it a chance soon.

    Nice to meet you, Sara!

    Like

    1. Oh, definitely, Vane :) Just because you disliked one book does not mean you’ll dislike the other. These recs are just to point people to the right direction and are based off of basic similarities (like the fact that they’re both based of fairy tales, include action, etc.) I encourage you to give Cinder a try because it is fabulous.

      Nice to meet you, too!

      Like

  6. This is a fun post. There are several here that I haven’t read.
    I always get to excited when I see Unwind as a suggestion! I just loved it so much and I always feel like it never got the level of hype that it deserved.

    Like

    1. Glad to hear it! Unwind is amazing, so get on that bandwagon ASAP. And even if you haven’t read LOTR, I’m sure you’ll enjoy Eon and Mistborn :)

      Like

  7. HI SARA. I totally agree on Hunger Games/Unwind — you wouldn’t think of it at once, but the strong sci-fi undercurrent, plus the political issues, and also really really deep first person POV — they’re absolutely a match. I’m not sure about LotR and Narnia — both great worldbuilding and fantasy, I agree, but the religion in Narnia was really heavy, at least for me. (I still liked it! But it wasn’t the same vibe as LOTR personally.) And I *didn’t* like ACOTAR, but I’m thinking of trying Cinder? SHOULD I?

    Like

    1. Hello, Alyssa! Both THG and Unwind were similar in many ways but managed to be drastically unique stories and definitely worth the time and effort. And you’re right, LotR and Narnia do not have the same vibe, aside from the adventure and fantasy, but LotR and Narnia are both dominating books in the fantasy genre, and I felt compelled to include Narnia. There are people out there who will enjoy it to the fullest, just as I did.
      YES, PLEASE READ CINDER. ACOTAR and Cinder are both alike in the fact that they’re based off fairy tales and full of action and so on. However, they are two different books and many people who disliked ACOTAR actually enjoyed Cinder. So definitely give it a go.

      Like

  8. Unwind!! my very first dystopian novel and is still my fave book!! and you just reminded me to finish reading the whole series :D and I really, really need to read Battle Royale!!

    Like

    1. Unwind was my first dystopian novel and is still one of the my favorite series too!!!! I’m so glad there are people out there with so much love for Unwind since it never really got the attention it deserves.
      And yes, Battle Royale is awesome but definitely full of gore and blood.

      Like

  9. I’ve read almost every book on this recommendations list! *proud*
    Just need to get around to reading more Middle Grade I guess haha. The trouble with MG books though is that sometimes they’re suitable for anyone of any age to read (e.g. PJO), and sometimes they seem targeted a little too young for me. I mean, obviously, that’s personal preference, but it’s difficult to know before starting the book!

    Like

    1. That’s awesome, Nara! And yes, I agree with you. But sometimes it’s great to get into those books that target a waaay younger audience and simply think and feel like a child. :)

      Like

  10. I’ve heard of Graffiti Moon before and completely forgotten about it until now! Surprised to see it up here- I’ll have to read it!
    Also, (directed at Aimee) you’d BETTER have checked with the nerds first!

    Like

  11. HAPPY FIRST POST SARA! *throws confetti*

    I completely agree with all of these recommendations; and I’m definitely going to have to pick up all of the recommendations that I haven’t read yet. Thank you for sharing these – can’t wait to read them!

    Like

    1. Totally agree on adding Riordan’s Kane Chronicles to the Percy Jackson file. Though I haven’t read Michael Scott’s Nicholas Flammel series, so I’ll definitely add that to my list.

      Like

  12. Great post Sara, thanks so much for these recommendations! I really enjoyed Golden, but still need to read My Life Next Door (though I do have a copy so hopefully I’ll get to it sooner rather than later). Tiger Lily is another one I need to get to – I love the Peter Pan storyline so that book looks promising. Thanks again for sharing, looking forward to seeing more of your posts :)

    Like

  13. Unwind was one of those books that scared the living crap out of me.

    I actually own Battle Royale – I just need to read it now.

    Like

  14. Once Upon a Marigold and Isle of the Lost both sound so good! I’m definitely going to be looking into them more throughly and, likely, adding them to my tbr. I love fairytale retellings and things that delve deeper into stories and ideas already once told. So yay! Wasn’t a fan of The School for Good and Evil, though, This is a really neat post! xx

    Like

    1. I’m glad to hear that, Romi! I hope you enjoy those books to the fullest and I’m sorry to hear about you not enjoying The School for Good and Evil. But don’t worry, there are other great books :)

      Like

  15. I’ve only read the Battle Royale manga but it mESSED ME UP. It was so much more graphic and depressing and just a nightmare. Still, it was intense and reflected on several unique issues so it was a worthwhile read :)

    The School of Good and Evil is such an exciting read, I loved how it played with your preconceived notions of good and bad characters!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s