I was tagged to do the ultimate book tag by the lovely Eugenia @ Genie In a Book!

So let’s get right to it!

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

Yes! I get sick in the car, period. I have motion sickness… especially when I’m hungry. I totally need to be well-fed before getting in the car or else I’ll be holding my head between my knees for the whole trip.

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

I’ve only read ONE book from her thus far, but Hannah Moskowitz’s writing style in A History of Glitter and Blood was absolutely unique. It was gorgeously cluttered instead of annoyingly lyrical like most other popular authors.

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

Confession: I haven’t finished either series. I read the first four Harry Potter books and the first two Twilight books, so I can only speak for the books that I’ve read. Let’s count the movies in as well since I’ve watched all of them.

I’d say Harry Potter, just because:

  1. The world-building is more intricate,
  2. The main character isn’t an emotionless zombie, and
  3. I still plan to continue the series but have decided to stop reading the other Twilight books.

This doesn’t mean I don’t like Twilight–I do! I even cried watching the movies!

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (besides books)?

I HATE BAGS. I prefer to travel light (aka bring nothing but one book/my Kindle and my cell phone). So no, I don’t carry a book bag.

5. Do you smell your books?


GRBUTTON

Who doesn’t? ;) I remember specifically that my copy of Across the Universe smells peculiarly like a box of doughnuts. (I sniffed it again and yup, still has that doughnut smell.)

6. Books with or without little illustrations?


GRBUTTON

If they’re necessary to the story, then with. If not, without. ALSO, if the book is horror or if the pictures are creepy–NO PICTURES. This is why I’ve had Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children for more than a year and still haven’t read it.

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?


GRBUTTON

I read Fallen years ago. In fact I’m pretty sure it was the third young adult book I’ve ever read. I LOVED it back then, but now whenever I think about it I cringe at my earlier Gothic romance-virgin self.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

I don’t think so, unfortunately. I was never a huge reader as a kid. It wasn’t until my pre-teen years when I started to read full-length novels!

9. What is the tiniest book on your shelf?

I have this bindup of summaries Shakespeare’s works that’s literally smaller than my hand, but at the moment it’s lost and is probably buried somewhere under all my other books. Whoops.

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?


GRBUTTON

This is actually a compilation of three books–it’s a bindup. But it still counts, right? Dark Reflections by Kai Meyer is about 890 pages long.

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

I dooooo. Right now I’m currently working on my WIP called Let’s Be Awkward, which is about a tall girl and a not-so-tall guy. :) I love writing, although I’m not sure I have the self-belief needed to become a published author. Maybe though… One day, we’ll see.

12. When did you get into reading?


GRBUTTON

When I was 11, I’d say. I read the book version of the Red Riding Hood movie because no one wanted to watch it with me. After that, I realized how awesome reading can be, and I started buying book after book after book.

13. What is your favourite classic book?


GRBUTTON

Like I said during the Coffee Book Tag, it’s The Merchant of Venice, AKA the only classic I’ve ever finished. And yes, I did read the Sparknotes simplified version. ;)

14. In school what was your best subject?

COMPUTER. No, seriously. I love this subject so much. ;) Last year we had to make our own website and I was like, I GOT THIS. I also love English, but I’m not amazing at it. Same goes for Social Studies.

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated, what would you do?

I’d probably still keep it. I have a difficult time parting with books. I’m considering selling them, but probably not anytime soon.

16. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?

I’d rather not pitch other books as Harry Potter or The Hunger Games because if you guys end up reading them and not finding the similarities, y’all would come at me with pitch forks. ;)

17. What is a bad habit you always do while blogging?

I eat snacks and get grease all over my keyboard and mouse! Yuck. What’s worse is I’m often too lazy to get up and grab a towel to clean.

18. What is your favorite word?

Unicorn. Don’t even ask.

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

First, let us define these words via whatever pops up first on Google…

  • NERD: a foolish or contemptible person who lacks social skills or is boringly studious.
  • DORK: a dull, slow-witted, or socially inept person.
  • DWEEB: a boring, studious, or socially inept person.

So I’d like to say I’m none of those. I am an honor student but I don’t like school, and I wouldn’t say that I’m socially inept (but I am awkward at first). Also, FUCK LABELS.

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

Fairies as in the fluttery, glittery and giggly kind? Or Faeries as in the darker kind? IS THIS A TRICK QUESTION.

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

Shapeshifters all the way! I’d rather read about them (because angel books, I’ve learned, bore the heck out of me) and I would also want to be one and to turn into a unicorn that poops rainbows.

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Can I say both? I like scary spirits, and I like scary werewolves… Gah. (Although personally I’d choose to be a werewolf because spirits don’t eat.)

23. Zombies or Vampires? Why?

I’d rather be a vampire because all YA books say they’re hot, so. But I’d read about either of them no problem!

24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

OBVIOUSLY forbidden love. Love triangles only work out rarely for me, but I love forbidden love because ANGST. I am a big fan of angst, in case you didn’t know.

25. And finally: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

I’m a mood reader, so it depends on my mood. If I want something light, then bring on the romance! But normally I’d prefer the action-packed books with a hint of swoon. ;)

pagebreak

And I tag… (Sorry if you already did the tag… Eep!)
Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog
Emily @ Loony Literate
Jeann @ Happy Indulgence
Whoever else wants to do the tag!

pagebreak

About Aimee
Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

40 thoughts on “Let Me Share My Fabulousness (The Ultimate Book Tag)

  1. ZOMBIES ALL DAY EVERY DAY :D I’d take a forbidden love over a triange anyday. Triangles are freakining annoying. I think I’m gonna do this tag, too! It’s so much fun, great questions! :D I’m always intrigued by people who make these tags up.

    Like

      1. I did the same thing a few years ago with the Fallen Series and made it halfway through rereading Torment before I likened the experience to torture. I still have to read the final book so I’m going to attempt to skim the other three books to get enough of a gist about what is happening in order to finish the last book.

        I’m undecided about watching the movie…oh who am I kidding, I’m totally going to watch it :P

        Like

      2. Haha–we stopped at the same book. I read the third then gave up on the fourth. :P Not sure if I’m ever going to read it though.
        ME TOO. Just to entertain myself with its cheesiness, if anything. ;)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love how you answered most questions real short and compact! I wouldn’t be able to do so, I could just rant on and on about some of these questions. I wish I could travel as light as you can but somehow I always find more stuff that I can or have to bring with me, so I rarely leave my house without luggage… And a bind-up totally count for the biggest book question!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Merel! I made sure to keep it short because I’m pretty sure readers would be bored with my long rants. ;) My mom actually has a ginormous going-out bag and I’m still baffled by it, haha!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children’s horror pictures is the reason why I bought it hehe and if you watch anime, then check out “Lovely Complex” because it’s about a really tall girl and a short guy and it shows how they bond based on their interests and I don’t know it could give you more ideas for your WIP I hope! I actually did not know that Sparknotes had simplified versions of Shakespeare’s plays?? omg I’ve been trying to understand them since I was 15 and I still can’t daaamn I need to check these versions out!

    Like

    1. Scary pictures and I do NOT get along! xD Yes, I’ve watched and read Lovely Complex–I absolutely LOVED it and was obsessed with it at a time. I even watched the live action, haha. :)

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Supposedly, the pictures are the scariest part of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. The book did not reach the level of the pictures.

      Like

  4. love this! It was great getting to know more about you:) Ha! I dont carry a bag either. Carrying things around drives me nuts. If it cant go in the pocket it doesnt come along. Vampires are always hot, but look at that Warm Bodies movie, those zombies weren’t too gross!:)

    Like

  5. I’M SO HONOURED I LOVE THIS TAG. In fact I really love reading other people’s tag. You’re so right about the nerd/dork/dweeb one – fuck labels, haha. And I thought the same about Fallen – loved it when my mum bought it for me when I was about 13, don’t like it now.

    Like

    1. I love reading ALL the tags, so… Yep. ;D Yep! Like you mentioned before, these clique things don’t really happen IRL for me, so fuck labels! I got it in 2011 and loved it! Definitely not rereading it…

      Like

  6. Lovely to see your post Aimee :) Hahaha ‘unicorn that poops rainbows’ – priceless (now that is something which I’d love to see). The Merchant of Venice is a Shakespearean work I am yet to read, though now I definitely want to check it out. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  7. Fun tag! Methinks I want to give it a shot :3 I have a friend with severe motion sickness and she is the opposite with food, she has to travel on a empty stomach. Good thing they make audiobooks :) I’m in love with your WIP already, as a tall girl who always falls for really short guys I am relating to this on a spiritual level.

    Like

    1. That would totally make sense–you know, to prevent vomit. o_o Unfortunately I need to sleep in the car so I don’t get dizzy, so no audiobooks. :( Ahh that’s so awesome, thank you! (I am super short which makes this impossible for me, but short guys are ADORABLE!)

      Like

  8. I can’t read in the car either. But I’m even worse when I’ve eaten. I get headachey and queezy. But what about this WIP! As a woman who could double for big bird, I’m so incredibly excited about this. You’re snark and sass would make for an incredible read Aimz, will we be seeing a little snippet any time soon? <3

    Like

  9. Thanks for the tag lady! This one is fun! I would die if I couldn’t read in the car. I get so much done that way. Also, I snack while I blog all the time and my computer is soo gross!! Which is just stupid because the stupid computer is so much money and i”m getting all crumbs in it and my greasy fingers. UGH

    Like

  10. A History of Glitter and Blood sounds so wonderful AAAAAH. And I am a proud nerd, but I shall probably steal your retort at some point XD (The best parts about these tags is stealing things from other people’s answers you never thought of.) And to be honest, forbidden love is really a love triangle between the two lovers and society, isn’t it?

    Also, re: HP vs Twilight, this has to be the best argument in favor of either side ever: “The main character isn’t an emotionless zombie.” OMG.

    Like

  11. Ooooh, I really enjoyed this tag and reading all your answers! I do believe I’ll do it one of these days :) I do wish you’d finish reading both HP and Twilight though, because (of course) the books are always better XD – though I’m sure you’ve heard that before ;) ALL of the pictures you posted are GORGEOUS ♥ I love the word unicorn too hahah! And hell yes forbidden love :) xx

    Like

    1. Awesome! I can’t wait to see your answers, Micheline. :) Haha! There have been a few times when the movie was better *cough TFIOS *cough*, but I mostly agree with that statement. ;) Thank you, lovely!!

      Like

  12. I also get so sick if I read in the car! It makes me mad because that’s a lot of potential reading time gone to waste. Having an Across the Universe copy that smells like donuts must be amazing, sounds like you’ve been blessed by the book gods! I can relate though, the copy of Twilight I first read smelled like a really amazing perfume that totally fit the book, I think I’ll always associate that scent with Twilight now, haha. And I’m totally with you on the angel books are boring thing.

    Like

    1. YES! I love doughnuts, AND Across the Universe, so I totally win. :) I used to read *all* the angel books but gave up when I realized that I didn’t really love any of them.

      Like

  13. Niceeee, Aimee! This is definitely a neat tag and I’ve enjoyed seeing fellow bloggers reveal these neat tidbits about themselves. I particularly like the this creature vs this one questions- it’s been so interesting to see how people answer (I think you’ve been the closest to my own choices, which is kind of awesome!)
    Unicorn. I ask. Why is it your favourite word, apart from being beautiful and gorgeous and slightly brilliant?
    Smelling books is so nice- it seems like it could be a little odd, but… they smell divine. I want one that smells of Donuts! xx

    Like

    1. Hooray for being twins, Romi! :D
      IT IS. Also because I think the word itself just screams adorable. ;)
      Books smell fabulous! There are a handful that smell less like books and more like other things (like doughnuts), but I love them anyway!

      Like

  14. Oops, this reminds me that I still need to do the Coffee Book Tag you tagged me with. xP I’ll hopefully get to it by this week! I can relate to getting sick in the car… For some reason, even though I don’t have a weak stomach nor do I get motion sickness, I just can’t read while in the car at all. Even one paragraph makes me feel like throwing up, haha. It’s such a shame, too, because imagine how much I can read instead of sitting in the car doing nothing! (Though podcasts and music have saved me, lol.)

    AIMEE, WTF??? YOU HAVEN’T FINISHED READING HARRY POTTER, LIKE HOW IS THAT POSSIBLE WASN’T IT SO INTERESTING AND BEAUTIFUL AND COMPLEX AND PERFECT?! But okay, at least you picked HP over Twilight, and at least you still plan on continuing the series. I hope you get to it soon. *holds up knife threateningly* ;)

    The smell of new books is heaven. My parents give me weird looks when I do it, but they just don’t understand.

    Hahaha! One of the reasons why I really want to get Miss Peregrine’s is because of the pictures! I love scaring myself and I think the pictures will add a nice creepy quality to the freakiness of the book, hehe. Plus, apparently the scariest YA horror is still Anna Dressed in Blood, which is full of gore and sounds just like my kind of thing! So you have nothing to fear!

    Omg, your WIP sounds so sweet! I don’t think I’ve read any book that features a not-so-tall guy and a taller girl, so go Aimee! It kind of reminds me of Lovely Complex, which I STILL need to read.

    If you’re looking for a good classic to read, I’d highly recommend To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee! Never mind that the sequel is coming out this year, it was such an interesting and thought-provoking book that surprised me in the best of ways. I went into it expecting it to be boring, but I came out completely awed. You should definitely try it one day!

    Loved this post, hon! <3

    Like

    1. I KNOW. I’m in the bus for 40 minutes a day too–I could read a lot in that time, but I need to sleep so I don’t get dizzy. D:
      HAHAHA. I don’t know why–I LOVED the movies, but the books seem only “good” but not “great” to me?! Maybe I was born with a weird brain…
      I’m okay with scary BOOKS (I LOVED ANNA DRESSED IN BLOOD SO MUCH), but anything that’s VISUALLY scary–please get out of my face!!
      Lovely Complex definitely inspired me–it’s one of my favorite anime/manga ever!
      To Kill a Mockingbird is definitely on my TBR, but all classics make me hesitant!
      Thanks, lovely! <3

      Like

  15. Whoa this was a lot of questions to answer and I don’t even know where to start with commenting on this. I also have motion sickness, but not nearly as bad as you from the sound of it! I have to say that i love Twilight <3 And um, I liked reading all your answers. We read The Merchant of Venice this year and it was pretty good ^^

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

