I was tagged to do the coffee book tag by the lovely Mishma of Chasing Faerytales! I don’t drink coffee, but let’s go with it. You can check out Mishma’s post right here!

So let’s get right to it! (Also, I apologize for shitty photo quality!)

BLACK: NAME A SERIES THAT’S TOUGH TO GET INTO BUT HAS HARDCORE FANS.

Basically I read one page of this book and was confused as heck! But Game of Thrones has millions of loyal fans! I plan to watch the series–will that make it easier to get into the book?

PEPPERMINT MOCHA: NAME A BOOK THAT GETS MORE POPULAR DURING THE WINTER OR A FESTIVE TIME OF YEAR.

I don’t buy specific-themed books during holidays, but My True Love Gave to Me was extremely popular last Christmas!

HOT CHOCOLATE: WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE CHILDREN’S BOOK?

I was obsessed with all things Dr. Seuss as a kid! Particularly The Book of Riddles and Green Eggs and Ham. Also The Very Hungry Caterpillar, but I couldn’t find our copy. *sobs*

DOUBLE SHOT OF ESPRESSO: NAME A BOOK THAT KEPT YOU ON THE EDGE OF YOUR SEAT FROM START TO FINISH.

If you haven’t read Dangerous Girls yet, there’s something wrong with you. It remains one of my FAVORITE contemporary thrillers of all time–it’s crazy. So many twists!

STARBUCKS: NAME A BOOK YOU SEE EVERYWHERE.

I don’t really see this book everywhere, but I always see it on people’s favorites lists! (It wasn’t a favorite for me, but I liked it.)

THAT HIPSTER COFFEE SHOP: GIVE A BOOK BY AN INDIE AUTHOR A SHOUTOUT!

I (sadly) don’t own physical copies of any indie books (yet), but Krista and Becca Ritchie are my favorite indie authors!

DECAF: NAME A BOOK YOU WERE EXPECTING MORE FROM.

My expectations for this book? OFF THE CHARTS. But… I didn’t like it. The story was wonderful, but I couldn’t connect with any of the characters or the writing…

THE PERFECT BLEND: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT WAS BOTH BITTER AND SWEET, BUT ULTIMATELY SATISFYING.

This book is basically the epitome of bittersweet. Like, legitimately. The shipper in me is not satisfied, but I couldn’t imagine this book ending any other way.

GREEN TEA: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT IS QUIETLY BEAUTIFUL.

I’m not particularly sure what “quietly beautiful” means, but The Sky is Everywhere has that light and airy writing with a beautiful story.

CHAI TEA: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT MAKES YOU DREAM OF FAR OFF PLACES.

For this, I decided not to get a fantasy book. Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour made me dream of going state-hopping in the US, which is incredibly far from where I life.

EARL GREY: NAME YOUR FAVOURITE CLASSIC.

I’ve only finished one classic… And I read the modern English version. It’s The Merchant of Venice, by the way.

pagebreak

And I tag… (Sorry if you already did the tag… Eep!)
Mel, Celine and Larissa @ YA Midnight Reads
Meg @ Adrift on Vulcan
Alyssa @ The Devil Orders Takeout
Kara @ Diary of a Teen Writer
Whoever else wants to do the tag!

pagebreak

Do you like coffee, or are you more of a juice person like me? Also, do you agree with my bookish picks?

pagebreak

About Aimee
Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

59 thoughts on “I Don’t Like Coffee, But I Love Books!

  1. Thank you for tagging!!! I, I’m afraid, don’t drink coffee. As in I’ve never actually tried it, so I cannot honestly say I like OR dislike it. (I *will* try it one day. Maybe.) I suppose the A Song of Ice and Fire series isn’t for everyone. I adore it to pieces, but they are DEFINITELY not for everyone. :)

    Like

    1. Whoa, really? I’ve tried it, but it’s just not my thing. D: I’ve *tried* A Song of Ice and Fire but I just didn’t have motivation at the time. :(

      Like

      1. I know, I’m crazy. I have terrible insomnia, though — hence me staying away from caffeine. I’d definitely recommend to keep reading ASOIAF. There’s a lot of worldbuilding/character set up and whatnot. But hey, it might just not be your thing, which is totally okay. :)

        Like

    1. Oh, I’m more of a cold drinks kind of person as well! :) Dangerous Girls–ah, that one kept me on the edge of my seat even days after I finished it.

      Like

  2. I’m at the point of addiction where I get headaches any morning I don’t drink coffee, haha. STAY AWAY FROM IT. Or you’ll end up like me. This is such a fun tag! And…I have not yet read Dangerous Girls. *hides in shame*

    Like

  3. Welllllllll. I’m actually a HUGE coffee drinker Aimee, sooooooo. tee hee does this mean I can’t do the tag? I would SO love to do it and it looks like it’s a lot of fun. (I also loved your pics and picks.) tee hee I’m also an apple juice drinker. :) yumm <3

    Like

    1. You definitely can! The tag title is just me. It’s actually called the Coffee Book Tag. ;) Go ahead and you can say I tagged you. :) Thanks! <3

      Like

  4. I’m not exactly a coffee drinker either, haha. I’d much rather have a glass of lemonade. I completely agree with Dangerous Girls for an edge-of-your-seat story. A double shot of espresso perfectly describes it. I’ve been planning to review it soon, but it’s still hard for me to wrap my head around the ending. I was not expecting the plot twist at all! I have to admit I was pretty trusting of the narrator too- even rooting for her.

    I absolutely loved Dr. Seuss! My childhood reading memories are filled with One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish, Fox in Socks, and The Cat in the Hat.

    Claire @ Cover to Cover

    Like

    1. I love lemonade! :) Dangerous Girls was just so brilliant in the I’ll-give-you-goosebumps department. The ending was so insane–in a really good way!
      Oh, I have those as well, I think! :) The Fish one, I’m sure I’ve read. :D

      Like

  5. I love coffee xD this tag is great! From all the posts I’ve seen that have done this tag everyone has put The Game of Thrones for Black Coffee. Also I don’t think I’ve ever heard of Dangerous Girls O.o but if it’s so good I’m gonna read it! I need a good book!

    Like

  6. Love this tag and love me some coffee. It really is the only thing that keeps me going most days. Your photography/graphics is wonderful this post! I totally need to check out Dangerous Girls (and runs and hides because I never heard of it)

    Like

  7. Thanks for tagging me! And your photos are absolutely gorgeous!

    I am SUCH a hardcore fan of ASOIAF. You can actually skim past the prologue if you’re too confused — the PoV for the prologue always dies, and it’s often not super important. I should really read Daughter of Smoke and Bone sometime — Laini Taylor’s writing style seems to be right up my writing alley. The Merchant of Venice is on my literature syllabus next year … hopefully it lives up to other Shakespearean plays.

    Like

    1. Thank you! <3
      Ah, I didn't know that! I'll definitely just skim it next time.
      If you like really descriptive writing, then Daughter of Smoke and Bone is definitely your thing. :)

      Like

  8. I LOVE COFFEE. Except…I’m not supposed to have it atm, which sucks. >.> I did my post a little while ago and I took photos of books with coffee beans aND IT WAS PURE TORTURE SMELLING THE GLORIOUSNESS. Wah. Such a sad story, I know. ANYWAY!! I love Dr Seuss. xD I read them copiously to my niece/nephew and I still love them, hehe. The Hunger Caterpillar though, errrgh, after reading that 59 times in one sitting NO THANKS. I’d rather not talk about caterpillars ever again. lol I REALLY WANT TO READ THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE.

    Like

    1. I read your post and I LOVED ALL THE PHOTOS! ;) So sorry you had to go through such torment, though.
      I still read The Book of Riddles by Dr Seuss now! I memorize everything already. xD
      You should! It’s such a brilliantly emotional book! <3

      Like

  9. I love this…because I’m a huge coffee drinker. I will read The Sky is Everywhere before summers end. I keep putting it off and hearing how great it is. GOT is too intimidating for me. I don’t think I’m ever going to even try it. I’ve had Dangerous Girls on my list for awhile – I love a good twisty suspense and need to read it soon.

    Thanks for visiting my blog! Your blog is awesome – I love the theme!

    Like

    1. Yay for reading The Sky is Everywhere! I really hope you love it. :) GoT is EXTREMELY intimidating, and I salute every single person who managed to finish it. Dangerous Girls is so brilliant as well!
      Thanks so much, Brandie! <3

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Haha this one is so much fun!! I do love coffee… though I don’t do well with too much caffeine, so I don’t drink it often. There’s just something about that warm mug in my hands that makes everything in life feel okay. :) Love your book picks! Especially Amy & Roger – love them so much!!!!

    Like

  11. The Merchant of Venice is a pretty good classic! I read that this year for English. I also really want to read Dangerous Girls because I have heard so many good things about it being a great thriller. I am going to be trying Angelfall this summer, so I hope I can like it as much as most people seem to… sorry that you couldn’t. :( Personally I am not a coffee drinker as well. I’m all about the tea <3 Earl grey specifically!

    Like

    1. Dangerous Girls is SO good. You have to give it a shot. I think I just couldn’t get into the writing in Angelfall, but the story itself was nice. I don’t drink tea either. D:

      Like

  12. That’s a fun tag. And I think coffee is life! I studied The Merchant of Venice yonks ago in school and the never a borrower or a lender be quote has always stuck with me. I definitely apply it to books I love :) I’m addicted to The Game of Thrones tv show and look forward all week to the next episode. I haven’t read the books YET but even the show can be confusing as there are so many characters but I’m hoping that as I already know that it will be easier to keep up.

    Like

    1. That’s so awesome! I can’t remember a single line from it, actually. ._.
      My dad loves the GoT show too! He has double copies of all the DVDs, haha. Sometimes I ask him who a character is and he’s like, “Who?” :P

      Like

  13. I’d go with either coffee or tea, lol. I agree with most of the “coffees” – I haven’t read all those books, but DOSAB and The Merchant of Venice? What you said is what I thought.

    Like

  14. Yay! Thanks for doing the tag girl!:)
    *whispers hesitantly* I still haven’t read Dangerous Girls:). I am planning to though, as I really love myself some twisted thrillers.
    Forbidden! I love that book! It broke my heart to pieces and I cry so bitterly whenever I read it.

    Like

  15. I see A Song of Ice and Fire to be a popular pick for Black (it is mine, as well, actually). I watched the TV series before I started the books, and even then, I stopped at Book 4. Maaaan. They demand time and effort! I suggest you just go ahead and watch the HBO adaptation. If you find yourself wanting to know more back stories, then you can go for the books. :)

    Like

    1. Yes! They are huge and have about a million characters–they’re all incredibly intimidating. I’ll definitely go for the TV show first! :)

      Like

  16. I see so many of my favourite books here, Addicted To You, DOSAB, Angelfall (although you didn’t like it), Dangerous Girls and I don’t think I would pick up Game of Thrones, because it sounds confusing. Great tag Aimee!

    Like

  17. Based on the number of times I’ve seen GoT in the first category, it must be REALLY hella hard to get into! O_O It’s kind of intimidating me a little, because I do plan on reading it sometime in the future, but if it has such a huge fanbase then it HAS to be good. Or am I just better off watching the TV series?! (Which actually sounds like a better idea, haha, considering how thick the books are. :P)

    I am going to fail with the second coffee flavor because I don’t own any Christmas-y books nor do I own any festive ones either. I really am horrible with contemporaries…

    Daughter of Smoke and Bone is definitely a favorite for many people! Not me either too. I mean, I liked it, but it took me a while to get into. I have yet to read the other books in the series though, so I might change my mind. And YES, I was expecting so much more from Angelfall as well — GLAD I’M NOT THE ONLY ONE. Everyone loved it so much, but when I read it, I was like, eh… It was interesting for sure, but I just didn’t see what made it so special.

    Wow, you’ve read The Merchant of Venice! I actually did a play on it once, but I haven’t read the original. #fail

    Thanks for tagging me, Aimee! Hopefully I’ll get to it by June. :D

    Like

    1. I feel the same way about GoT! I REALLY want to try it but it’s just huge, and if I don’t end up liking it, fans will come at me with pitchforks, haha.
      Do not worry. This book is my ONLY festive one. xD
      Oh yay, someone who feels the same way about DoSaB & Angelfall! DoSaB took a long time for me to get into, but I will be getting to the sequels… eventually. Angelfall had a great story, but the writing was not for me.
      Cool! I would rather have done a play on it than read it. ;)

      Like

  18. Yea, I don’t drink coffee either, but give me hot chocolate and I will drink it all up.

    I’ve read some Shakespeare, but I haven’t read The Merchant of Venice yet. Right now in school we’re reading Romeo and Juliet, and wow, it’s really dashing my previous view of Shakespeare. I think when I read Shakespeare out of class I just didn’t go deep enough into it, because I had this idea that Shakespeare was a very elegant and cultured writer. AND THAT IS NOT THE CASE.

    Like

    1. I prefer cold chocolate, but hot chocolate works too! :)
      I’ve *heard* of many things that goes on in Romeo & Juliet, and it’s next on my Shakespeare bucket list!

      Like

  19. Dangerous Girls just didn’t do it for me. Christy read it and was totally recommending it like no other to me so I gave it a go and was actually quite disappointed. I guess WAY TOO MUCH during mystery novels and feel like I ruin it for myself.

    I need more mysteries in my life, any suggestions? <3

    Like

    1. Aw, so sorry to hear you didn’t like Dangerous Girls. :( I actually already guessed the actual killer early on, but the reason behind it was shocking for me! Mysteries, hm. I loved Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes and The Archived by Victoria Schwab. :) Also give Dangerous Boys a shot!

      Like

What's the juice? Spill!

