unnamed (1)

Hi guys! I’m so excited to be part of the 5 to 1 blog tour, since I absolutely loved this book myself! I hope y’all end up reading and loving it! Thanks for Hannah @ The Irish Banana Review for hosting!

The Book

18588998

5 to 1 by Holly Bodger

published on May 12th 2015 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
young adult | dystopia | science fiction

find the book on
Goodreads

buy the book (NOW) on
Amazon | iBooks | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository 

Sudasa doesn’t want to be a wife and Kiran, a boy forced to compete in the test to become her husband, has other plans as well. Sudasa’s family wants nothing more than for their daughter to do the right thing and pick a husband who will keep her comfortable–and caged. Kiran’s family wants him to escape by failing the tests. As the tests advance, each thwarts the other until they slowly realize that they might want the same thing.

Review

5 Signs to Know That You Will Love 5 to 1

1.) You love unique yet realistic dystopians. It’s one of those stories that are just so plausible–it’s one of those books that will make you fear the future. And it’s fantastic.

2.) You love reading in verse… or not. It honestly doesn’t matter if you’re a prose or verse fan. This is my first book half-written in verse and I loved it!

3.) You want to meet a main characters with strong beliefs. Both Sudasa and Kiran are such passionate people when it comes to what they think is right, and they certainly will fight hard for their beliefs.

4.) You love diverse books. Because this book is set in India. And you learn a lot about their culture.

5.) You are a human being and/or are not. Because really, anyone will love this book.

 

You can also check out my full review with Faye right here.

5 stars

The Author

Holly Bodger

Holly Bodger
Website | Twitter | Facebook | TumblrGoodreads

HOLLY BODGER has a BA in English Literature and has spent her entire career in publishing. She is an active member of RWA and is a 2013 Golden Heart finalist in the Young Adult category. She lives in Ottawa, Canada.

Giveaway

This giveaway is open to readers from the US only–sorry, international friends!

  • three (3) winners will receive a finished copy of 5 to 1!

Enter Here

pagebreak

Have you read 5 to 1? If not, is it on your wishlist?

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

45 thoughts on “5 Signs You Will Love 5 to 1 by Holly Bodger (+Giveaway)

  1. haha number 5! So great.
    Well, this book definitely sounds rather fabulous. I’m not the biggest fan of verse to be honest, but I think I’m willing to give this one a try! I like the sound of a realistic dystopian :)

    Like

  2. I’ve never read a novel in verse before, so I think this might be a good place to start since it’s half verse and half prose. I can sort of test the waters a bit:) Plus, the story sounds absolutely amazing and I’ve been dying for this one since I saw that stunning cover. *makes grabby hands* I love #5 above ;-)

    Like

    1. Hopefully that’ll help you get used to the verse, Jenny. :D And yes, the cover is just GORGEOUS! <3 #5 is basically the main reason why you should read this. ;)

      Like

  3. Definitely on my TBR list because we don’t have enough YA in India! The diversity in the new releases this year is amazing and I hope it only gets more common. Oh yeah I heard that one of the POV’s is in verse and the other is normal. Is there a reason for that or it’s just like that because it is?

    Like

    1. Yes! So many fantastic diverse books this year. :) I’m not sure if there’s really a reason for it, but I wouldn’t have it any other way! It makes the book more authentic for me. :)

      Like

  4. This one has been popping up left and right so I’ve had my eye on this one for a while. While i’m not much of a ‘verse’ reader, I do enjoy reading books that are diverse so i’m very tempted to start this one!

    Like

  5. Ooh, I’m not sure if I’ve ever read a book in verse actually but if you and Faye loved this book I better check it out! It’s been a while since I read a good dystopian! And great main characters who stand up for what they believe in always right in my book! Thanks for sharing Aimee! Will check this out! :)

    Like

  6. I loved the verse of this novel, overall, I found the concept wonderful. I love reading about arrange marriages especially in other cultures. I’m a bit disappointed in the actual plot though because it mainly focuses on the series of tests instead of the world building plot. It was a good attempt though :) Lovely review though :)

    Like

    1. Me too. I’m surprised how much I’ve come to enjoy this trope! I was actually okay with the non-world-building here. It wouldn’t have fit the story either way. :)

      Like

  7. AHHH! I’ve heard so many great things about this one Aimee, and I saw your review with Faye on GR about how much you both loved this one. So excited to get my hands on a copy of this one ASAP! Thanks for sharing, and fabulous post!

    Like

  8. Okay so I DO want to read this… I’m just not suuuuuuuure about the prose. I like it when it’s lyrical writing — just not all out poetry prose. Not sure I could get through that, aha. But I’ve seen spectacular things about this book so I’m going to give it a chance. :)

    Like

  9. I’m definitely interested in this for the fact it’s a unique feeling dystopian, because I feel a little wiped out by the dystopian rush of a couple of years ago, and I’d like to read something fresh in that genre that used to be my all time favourite, but I don’t tend to like verse novels. I never sink into them, or get them, as much, and the experience may be quicker but it’s never been as enjoyable as prose, as of yet. I’m definitely up for more diversity, too, though, so I’m mixed. Maybe I should see if I can read an excerpt, or get it from my library?
    Xx

    Like

  10. That cover is absolutely GORGEOUS! I must admit that this book fell under my radar for some odd reason – it’s right up my alley, so I definitely need to get on board with it. YAY for diversity, I don’t recall the last time I read something set in India. Wonderful listy review Aimee!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

