22573426

Crow’s Rest by Angelica R. Jackson

published on May 12th 2015 by Spencer Hill Press
young adult | fantasy | romance

find the book on
Goodreads

Avery Flynn arrives for a visit at her Uncle Tam’s, eager to rekindle her summertime romance with her crush-next-door, Daniel.

But Daniel’s not the sweet, neurotic guy she remembers—and she wonders if this is her Daniel at all. Or if someone—some thing—has taken his place.

Her quest to find the real Daniel—and get him back—plunges Avery into a world of Fae and changelings, where creatures swap bodies like humans change their socks, and magic lives much closer to home than she ever imagined.

s-

*I received a digital review copy for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.*

REVIEW

***Possible minor spoilers.***

So I just came back from attempting to pump life back into my brain after this book fried it. I’m afraid it can no longer return to the way it was before. Some of the things in this book just can’t be unseen.

This book was basically a paranormal romantic movie gone awry. It has all the cliche aspects down perfectly, but done in a more gag-worthy manner. Such as:

  • the heroine who is The One. And is, unfortunately, literally referred to as “The One.”
  • a failed harem of “hot guys.” You don’t know how much Avery pined for each of the three guys. It was painful to watch, especially since each of the guys had crappy personalities.
  • a villain who spills out his entire plan upon the heroine’s request.

More on the heroine. See, Avery’s a complete nut-job. And she acts so immaturely: announcing every time she “defeated” an enemy, demanding “stories with lots of drama” when her love interest clearly doesn’t want to talk about it, being obsessed with all the hot guys, healing her love interest before her dad… Also these quotes such as the one below which made me want to shove a fork up her ass:

“My knee jiggled in a pee-pee dance.” — is this how we teenagers are supposed to think when we need to take a piss? What even?!

And then we have the romance. You’re probably going to need a trash can near you to puke on for this. You see, it’s just a love triangle… with Avery swooning for other guys on the side. Each of the love interests made me want to hurt someone, as such:

Love interest A: The moody-as-shit friend. I don’t understand this guy. First he gets all jealous when love interest B starts flirting with Avery, and then the next minute he’s telling her that he’s never been into her.

Love interest B: Your typical YA love interest. He’s the kind of guy who likes to flirt but you know you shouldn’t trust.

Love interest C: Random hot guy. Basically this guy isn’t really a love interest, but Avery thinks about his “wide shoulders and etched pecs.” Also describing him like this:

“Makes all those Hollywood hotties and boy bands look like orcs.”

But really, it was the main romance that made me want to throw a fit. At first, Avery was pretty much head over heels with her friend, and then love interest B comes along and bam! What pains me the most is that she even mentioned in the book that what they had wasn’t insta-love:

“I don’t believe in insta-love, like in books and movies–but there’s something here. Something in you that speaks to a part of me that I didn’t even know was there.”

*cue gagging noises*

Oh, and we also have some pretty shitty parenting in this book. Avery’s mom was okay and pretty supportive, but she was only there for the first quarter of the book. Sure, she had things to attend to, but doesn’t she check on her daughter every now and then? She won’t even know if her little girl’s suddenly frolicking in the grass with her new lover. And don’t even get my started on Avery’s dad, who, by the way, puts his lover (who is not Avery’s mom) before his daughter.

The gist of this review? Crow’s Rest made me want to hurl, gag, and stick a fork in my eyeball. Normally this is the part where I recommend the book to people who I think will love it, but I honestly can’t think of anyone right now.

pagebreak

Skulls 1

1 skull

pagebreak

Sooo… Any plans of reading this book? Have you read it yourself?

Liked this review? You also find it on Goodreads.
Liked this post? Follow us on Bloglovin’.

About Aimee
Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

31 thoughts on “Review: Crow’s Rest by Angelica R. Jackson

  1. Wow. This sounds… I don’t even know? That quote about insta-love, I mean, really!? It kind of sounds like the author’s way of trying to make an insta-love connection to appeal to readers who are sick of it. (If that makes any sense whatsoever.) Honestly doesn’t sound like something I’d enjoy, but still, I don’t like making assumptions about books I haven’t read yet. ;) Probably not something I’d buy, but maybe I’d pick it up at a library. Thanks for the great review!

    Like

    1. YES. I totally hate it when those happen. :/ I’m not going to fall for your main character’s attempt at hiding insta-love. *shakes fist* And yes, I would definitely recommend you check it out at the library first. :)

      Like

  2. Ouch this is bad! I mean I get to survive one cliche by book, but three in one and to that extreme let’s just say NO! Sorry you had to go through this but your mission shall be to stop us from frying our brains then :) Great review, Aimee :)

    Like

  3. Dang, I’m so glad I read your review before reading the book. I’m participating in a blog hop for this book but it seems like it’d be a waste of time to actually read it.

    Like

  4. This is my first time hearing about this book and after reading your review, I am no longer interested >.<
    Avery sounds incredibly awful and I hate books with sooooo many cliches. Great review though!

    Like

  5. Oh.So this is the “Pee pee dance” book that you were ranting about in Twitter?
    You really didn’t have a good time with this book,did you?Sounds like a piece of work:)
    Here’s some virtual chocolate cake to make you feel better;)
    Hope your next read is a better one!

    Like

  6. Um.. I am now doing the “pee-pee dance” because I almost pissed by pants from laughing so hard. Yeah, I will not be reading this. Also, so HAPPY to know that “the one” gets to pick between 3 love interests. How NICE

    Like

  7. Eeeek! Sounds like the perfect storm of horrible! I hate love triangles but it sounds like this was more than a triangle, maybe more than a quadrangle, and that would be a hell-to-the-no for me! Sorry this didn’t work out for you, Aimee. Great honest review! :)

    Like

  8. Oh my god… Aimee… this sounds awful!!! I just finished a one-star read but, honestly, it didn’t make me feel as queasy and agitated as yours did!! Thanks for this though, because I’m completely skipping on this one. What are you reading next? Hope it’s amazing!

    Like

  9. Haha, I asked you about it on twitter so I already knew how you felt about it, but STILL. I didn’t expect it to be THIS bad but, ugh, this book just sounds pure awful. All the things on your list of cliches bothered me, but not as much as the last one did. At least get the villain right, dammit.

    Urghh, I hate Avery just based on that one paragraph you described her in and I can’t believe you had to go through an entire book full of her shit. Announcing every time she defeats an enemy? Not respecting people’s privacy?? What the actual fuck, and the average rating is so high on Goodreads??? HOW. And then there’s that weird line. I mean, I understand the shivers we get whenever our bladders are full (or am I pulling an Avery here and just coming across as weird too? >_<), but pee-pee dance? Maybe she could have been a little more elegant describing that.

    The romance… Oh well, at least the love interests have horrible personalities to match hers. T_T You know YA books these days — there's no romance if there isn't any drama! And what she said about Love Interest C just makes her sound even more immature than she already is. That whole thing about insta-love too is bullshit. I feel like the author just put it in there in case the romance did come across as insta-lovey… which it did.

    I admire your bravery for pushing on and continuing this book despite all the gag-worthy moments, Aimee. You have some serious self-discipline going on right there, haha. Awesome review, girl! I really hope you're enjoying your current read a lot more than this one. xx

    Like

    1. YES. Honestly I didn’t think there were books where the villain outright laid out all their plans. What the heck.
      I honestly don’t know if it’s just me, or it’s the book. ._. But oh god to the pee pee dance line! I totally get the jitters when I need to pee, but… no. D:
      EXACTLY, and it just made me want to hit someone with a brick! :/
      Ha, it’s my non-DNF policy this year. ;) I am learning! XD Thanks so much, Meg. <3

      Like

  10. I am impressed that you managed to finish this one. Based on quotes alone, I think my IQ dropped! Why do so many young adult books use a love triangle? And with a mean guy, no thanks. I’d considered this book, so I appreciate your saving me! (And my sanity) I enjoyed your review though. :)

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

