Wow
23014725

Delicate Monsters by Stephanie Kuehn

to be published on June 9th 2015 by St. Martin’s Griffin
young adult | contemporary | thriller

find the book on
Goodreads

When nearly killing a classmate gets seventeen-year-old Sadie Su kicked out of her third boarding school in four years, she returns to her family’s California vineyard estate. Here, she’s meant to stay out of trouble. Here, she’s meant to do a lot of things. But it’s hard. She’s bored. And when Sadie’s bored, the only thing she likes is trouble.

Emerson Tate’s a poor boy living in a rich town, with his widowed mother and strange, haunted little brother. All he wants his senior year is to play basketball and make something happen with the girl of his dreams. That’s why Emerson’s not happy Sadie’s back. An old childhood friend, she knows his worst secrets. The things he longs to forget. The things she won’t ever let him.

Haunted is a good word for fifteen-year-old Miles Tate. Miles can see the future, after all. And he knows his vision of tragic violence at his school will come true, because his visions always do. That’s what he tells the new girl in town. The one who listens to him. The one who recognizes the darkness in his past.

But can Miles stop the violence? Or has the future already been written? Maybe tragedy is his destiny. Maybe it’s all of theirs.

WowW

1. You guys know that I love YA thrillers. See this, this, this and this if you don’t know what I’m talking about.

2. I have been told by my fabulous co-blogger Faye to read Stephanie Kuehn’s stuff. Faye has dubbed her “The Master of Toying with Readers’ Minds.” You can find her very convincing review here.

3. One of the main characters nearly kills her classmate. Please spell the word “intrigued” for me. It’s A-I-M-E-E, right? RIGHT?

4. THE LAST LINE OF THE SYNOPSIS. If the rest of the synopsis hadn’t already sold me, that fucking last line would have. My fingers are getting itchy for this book.

5. Emily May loved it. Giselle loved it. Both are reviewers I put my faith in!

pagebreak

Thoughts on my pick? What are you waiting on this week?

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

65 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday #12: Delicate Monsters

    1. I own Charm & Strange and I totally suck because I haven’t read it yet. D: I’ll probably read it if I end up enjoying Delicate Monsters. ;)

      Like

  1. I love a good YA thriller too so I DEFINITELY need to check this one out^^ Especially with it getting so much positive buzz :D Hopefully it’ll blow you away! Awesome pick Aimee! ♥

    Like

  2. YAAAAS. I definitely approve of this. You HAVE to check out her Complicit, too! Published last year. The ending really hurt, gutted, and pierced my soul, BUT I LOVED IT. IT WAS BRILLIANT. All her books, you have to read, srsly.

    Faye at The Social Potato

    Like

  3. I haven’t read a lot of thrillers lately. And I think I’ll try some next time. When i get over my YA withrawal haha. Hope you get your hands on this soon Aimee! :D

    Like

  4. I didn’t know Stephanie Kuehn was coming out with a new book! The cover is so cool and awesome, though, and it sounds like something I’d love. Sadie sounds like such a twisted and manipulative protagonist, so I’m looking forward to a refreshing perspective from her. THIS BOOK TOTALLY SPELLS M-E-G TOO.

    And hehe, even though I’ve heard fabulous stuff about Kuehn’s Charm & Strange, I haven’t read it either. Gotta change that soon! Awesome pick, lovely. :D

    Like

    1. The cover is definitely intriguing. And um, yes! I love insane heroines, so I’d better just tape “DELICATE MONSTERS WILL BE MINE” on my forehead. ;) Woot!
      Eek. Maybe we can buddy read in the future, girl! <3

      Like

  5. Doesn’t this one look so good!? I am glad to see someone else excited it about too!! Great taste (per the norm)
    <3 Britt
    ps – don't feel bad i haven't read my copy of Charm and Strange either

    Like

  6. I have heard great things about Kuehn’s writing, so can see why you would want to get your hands on this book immediately, it sounds fantastic! Also when Emily and Giselle have loved a book, you know you can never go wrong!

    Like

  7. Yes, that is how you spell intrigued, indeed. ;) Such a me book, too, and seriously hope it is a complete mindfuck because I need one of those and not long to go! Okay, just under a month, but THE WAIT. :(

    Like

  8. I DEFINITELY AGREE WITH ALL OF THOSE PEOPLE! I love Stephanie Kuehn’s books a lot! Complicit was one of my favorite books of 2014 and I recently finished Charm & Strange. I didn’t like it as much but I really need to reread it (I didn’t have time and had to read it broken up over a few weeks which is… never good for reading). The thing with Kuehn’s books (er her two published ones at least) is that the beginnings are always slow. It’s a slow burn of unreliable narratorness that gives you the feeling that something isn’t quite right. But stick it out! The ending is explosive and will mindfuck you so much!

    Like

    1. That’s so awesome to hear! I was going to buy Complicit the other day, but it was extremely expensive, so I opted out. D: UNRELIABLE NARRATORS ARE MY FAVORITES! Sop making me so excited. ;D

      Like

  9. Whoa, that synopsis. I’m very intrigued! If it were a movie, I’d be watching that in a heartbeat. It’s usually not the type of story I read, but I’ll definitely be on the lookout for your review. :)

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

