Discuss Darlings

Come discuss with us!

If you didn’t know, Teen Librarian Toolbox is hosting the #SecondChanceChallenge, which is a challenge for readers to try rereading books they put ‘on-hold’ or DNFed, and ultimately giving them a second chance to win you over. (Full details in the post!)

So I’m going to list down books I want to try reading again for this challenge. I’ll be reading them from May 1st to May 9th, and possibly even keep going even when the challenge is over, because I know I won’t be able to finish all of these in just a week.

Side note: I’m totally open to buddy reads if anyone wants to read these with me!

REALLY WANT TO TRY AGAIN

8490112 7279365 10429092

1.) Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor:  I got through about half of the book before putting it down. But I really, really want to try again because there is potential for me to love this book.

2.) Eon by Alison Goodman: Again, I got through half of this before putting it down for some unknown reason.

3.) The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson: Not sure how I far I got through with this, but I feel the same way about Daughter of Smoke and Bone with this.

14061955 17449197 13042154

4.) Siege & Storm by Leigh Bardugo: Loved the world building in the first book. I’ll be buddy reading this with my friend Riz!

5.) Unhinged by A.G. Howard: I already know how this trilogy ends (it ends horribly–at least for me), but I still want to give it a go.

6.) Rebel Heart by Moira Young: Loved book one, but unfortunately can’t remember anything that happened in it, so when I tried reading this… Eek. Confused as hell.

MIGHT TRY AGAIN

8700056 18295852 13406425

1.) The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan: It’s RICK RIORDAN, guys. But for some reason, I’m just not too keen on this one… I tried reading it, got through half before thinking that it wasn’t for me.

2.) The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith: I read a few pages and was like, no, no, no. But I almost always give books the benefit of the doubt.

3.) Burn for Burn by Jenny Han: I read a few chapters of this, and it was just screaming NOT AN AIMEE BOOK in all caps at me, but I have seen some fabulous feedback of this from trusted reviewers.

pagebreak

Have you read any of these? PUSH ME TO READ THEM. Or buddy read them with me!

Liked this post?  Never miss a discussion post–follow us on Bloglovin’!

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

113 thoughts on “I DNFed These Books… But Now I Want to Try Them Again!

  1. My jaw dropped a little when I saw Siege and Storm on here. I really enjoyed that book, even though it was way different from the first in the series. Definitely worth another try :)

    Like

  2. There are quite a few dfn books I try again. my reading enjoyment can go simply on my mood at the time i pick up a book. Often I will get 50 pages in and decide nah not right now, but its still a good book. There are some books I get like halfway through and its not doing it for me at all. I give up on those generally. some of your DFN books are books I really enjoyed. Girl of fire and thorns,loved it.

    Like

  3. I read Blood Red Road, too, Aimee but it’s been forever ago and I couldn’t drum up the interest to pick up the rest of the series. The year wait in between books is awful for me, because I forget why I wanted to continue with the series. Hope you enjoy Dustlands. I’ve heard great things about Leigh Bardugo’s series. I didn’t end up liking Daughter of Smoke and Bone as much as the majority out there. The second half took a downward plunge for me. I guess that doesn’t really encourage you, because you quit at the 2nd half. Good luck! :)

    Like

    1. Yes! Waiting in between books just makes me want to cry in a hole. :/ I’m actually 300-ish pages in DoSaB and it’s going downhill for me as well. :(

      Like

  4. I didn’t love Daughter of smoke and bones when I first read it, but then I gave it another shot and BANG. I fell in love. I’m a huge fan of The girl of fire and thorns :) Siege and Storm is my favorite book from the series. So, I would definitely recommend to revisit those three :D

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

