18304348

In a World Just Right by Jen Brooks

published on April 28th 2015 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
young adult | fantasy | contemporary | romance

find the book on
Goodreads

High school senior Jonathan Aubrey creates worlds at will. In Kylie-Simms-is-my-girlfriend, he’s given himself everything he doesn’t have in real life-–the track team, passing grades, and his dream girl–-until one day he confuses his worlds and almost kisses the real Kylie Simms. Now his girlfriend Kylie and the real Kylie are changing, and Jonathan must solve the mystery of his own life to save his love from a gruesome fate.

s-

*I received a digital review copy for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.*

REVIEW

Light fantasies aren’t usually my thing, since I’m all for hardcore world-building and all that, but surprisingly, In a World Just Right was an enjoyable read! Reminiscent of Kasie West’s Pivot Point, romance lovers will surely enjoy this one.

Honestly, I was expecting this to be a detail-heavy book that focused on the parallel universe aspect, but that definitely wasn’t the case. In fact, this book read more like a realistic fiction novel than a fantasy which is totally fine by me, being a fan of those myself. Fantasy took a backseat while the character development reigned.

Despite this book being written by a female, Jonathan’s voice was authentically male. I didn’t have to remind myself that I was reading from the point of view of a guy, like in other books. It wasn’t only his voice that was realistic, but also his personality. Jonathan had wants and needs like a teenage boy. He wanted a world where he had a girlfriend, and although that was kind of creepy, he did it. He was sweet towards this girlfriend of his, and they were cute together.

The “actual” (you’ll get me when you finally read the book) romance happened a bit suddenly, but there’s a reason behind it all, so it wasn’t bothersome at all. Kylie was an interesting love interest–she was honest about her feelings, and I really liked that about her.

Because of this book not really going into depth with the fantasy elements, lots of questions were still floating in my head after I finished, like: a) HOW is Jonathan able to create worlds? and b) how the heck are people not noticing when Jonathan is nowhere to be found and is in a different freaking world?

This book was also full of crazy twists. Like, you can’t trust anything or anyone in this book. Seriously. The twists made me go HOLY SHIT! every single time. And you won’t even see any of them coming until they’re right in front of your faces.

In a World Just Right is an easy read, perfect for anyone looking for some drama, romance, and world-hopping.

pagebreak

Skulls 3.5

3.5 skulls

pagebreak

Liked this review? You also find it on Goodreads.
Liked this post? Follow us on Bloglovin’.

About Aimee
Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.
Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →
25 thoughts on “Review: In a World Just Right by Jen Brooks / “Fantasy Lite”

  1. I’ve never heard of this book before but it sounds kind of cool with the world hopping and all. *adding book to goodreads* Judging from your review, I don’t think it will become my new favorite book of all time but when I’m in the mood for something light and easy, I might give it a go. Great review :)

    Like

  2. The cover is very pretty – I been seeing a lot of hype for this book, so I am pretty excited to read it! Although, it’s a bit shame you couldn’t enjoy it to it’s full potential. Love the honest review x

    Like

  3. I’m also more cautious about the light fantasy bit, but the realistic fiction side makes me want this desperately since I’m trying to read more character-driven stories. And parallel universes are totally my thing :)

    Like

  4. So I hadn’t really heard much about this one by now I really, really want to read it. Reminiscent of Kasie West’s Pivot Point? Plot twists? HELL YEAH, I’M IN. Though usually I prefer fantasy to realistic fiction I’m going to give this one a chance, because who doesn’t like character-driven stories, right? (Also that cover is very eye-catching.) Great review!

    Like

    1. I adore Kasie West! And this wasn’t in the same level as Pivot Point, but the style was really similar. :) The plot twists towards the end were INSANE! ;D And the cover is just toally wow. :)

      Like

  5. Ooh I was never aware that this one was written in a male perspective! I always assumed female protag, hah. Anyway, this seems pretty darn awesome. I LOVED Pivot Point so I’m gonna put this on my wishlist now!

    Lovely review, Aimee <33

    Like

  6. Hahaha! Yes, I didn’t like this one as much as you but I’m so glad you enjoyed it more than me. Idk, I just couldn’t get into this one. It felt like the MC was just pining over Kylie the whole time and tbh I found their relationship creepy. In both worlds. I couldn’t connect to any characters or their relations. I much preferred Pivot Point and Julie Cross’ Tempest series with world building/execution.

    THAT TWIST THOUGH. IT CHANGED EVERYTHING. I loved it quite frankly and it really changed the story around for me. Almost made this one a 3 star read but I couldn’t just forgive like the other 400 pages ;p

    Lovely review Aimee and again, so happy you enjoyed this more than me <33

    Like

    1. The creepy, stalkery stuff was pretty much the main reason why this book wasn’t above four stars for me! And I definitely prefer Pivot Point to this. ;)
      RIGHT?? It was crazy and totally unexpected! Ha!
      Thanks, Larissa! <33

      Like

  7. This book really intrigues me, but I’ve been kind of hesitant about it at the same time. I love the sound of it but not having things explained(you NEVER find out how he can create worlds!?) drives me insane and would probably hinder my enjoyment of the book. I’m a lot like you, I love world-building in fantasy which is why I usually stay away from these kinds of books. I’m glad that the main character is so unique though, that’s always a good thing. I’m still on the fence about this one, but the whole crazy twists thing could persuade me to pick it up. =)

    Great review!

    Like

    1. Yep, that totally sucks. And extra suck points since this is a standalone, so you’ll NEVER GET ANSWERS. :/
      The twists were the best part about this book for me! Definitely deserved an extra half star for those alone. ;)

      Like

  8. The fact that you compare it to Pivot Point has me REALLY intrigued, but I’m really worried about this book reading like a love triangle (I barely made it through PP lol!). It does sound really interesting though!

    Like

  9. I’m glad you liked it Aimee! I’ve been eyeing this one for a while, especially since it’s similar to Pivot Point :) I don’t know if I’ll read it right away, but I’ll keep it in mind :)

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

