The Awesome by Eva Darrows (pseudonym)

published on May 26th 2015 by Ravenstone
young adult | fantasy | paranormal | romance

find the book on
Goodreads

Seventeen-year-old Maggie Cunningham is tough, smart, and sassy. She’s also not like other girls her age, but then, who would be when the family business is monster hunting? Combat boots, ratty hooded sweatshirts, and hair worn short so nothing with claws can get a grip, Maggie’s concerns in life slant more toward survival than fashion or boys. Which presents a problem when Maggie’s mother informs Maggie that she can’t get her journeyman’s license for hunting until she loses her virginity.

Something about virgin blood turning vampires into pointy rage monsters. Blood and gore and insides being on the outside and all that.

Maggie’s battled ghosts and goblins and her fair share of house brownies, but finding herself a boy – fitting in with her peers – proves a much more daunting task than any monster hunt. Did you know normal girls don’t stuff their bras with holy water balloons? Nor do they carry wooden stakes in their waistbands. And they care about things like “matching” and “footwear.” Of course, they also can’t clean a gun blindfolded, shoot a crossbow, or exorcise ghosts from a house. Which means they’re lame and Maggie’s not. Because Maggie’s awesome. The Awesome, in fact. Just ask her. She’d be more than happy to tell you.

After she finds herself a date.

s-

*I received a review copy for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

REVIEW

I just adore the cover, the title, and oh yes, that fabulous-sounding synopsis. So it was no surprise that I was interested in reading and reviewing this book.

But ultimately, The Awesome ended up being both a hit and a miss for me. There were some aspects that turned out being a pleasant surprise, and others that maybe made me want to gouge someone’s eyeballs out.

Things About The Awesome That Were Actually Awesome:

1. All of the relationships were fabulous. This book touched up nicely on all sorts of relationships, and each was done wonderfully, like so:

a.) The family love: Maggie and her mom were really close, to the point that they’d sometimes playfully take jabs at each other, like my mom and I usually do. They were supportive of each other, and even when they did fight, they find ways to make up. I think this quote sums up their relationship nicely:

“You’re my favorite daughter. I almost never resent that it took twenty-three hours to launch you from my loins or that you gave me hemorrhoids my last trimester.”

b.) The friendship: Maggie wasn’t a social butterfly or anything, but she appreciated her friends. She sometimes envied them, but for the most part was thankful for them being there for her. Her only two friends, Julie and Lauren, were both really friendly, sweet and supportive.

c.) The romance: To be honest, at first I wasn’t too keen on the romance, but it eventually grew on me. Ian was an awkward guy[1], but he was also sweet and endearing. There wasn’t any instalove, per se, but the romance did escalate a bit quickly. I was okay with it, though, since it was more of a trial-and-error kind of thing, and I was A-okay that they never went with the “I love you” route. They were just your ordinary, sweet couple and I appreciated that.

[1] You guys know that I love my awkward guys.

2. Maggie was imperfect in the best ways possible. I find Maggie to be a bit like me, actually. Sometimes she says things that nobody else wants to say–her brute honesty may make some dislike her, but she keeps it up because that’s how she is. I also love how she doesn’t have the perfect body (she describes herself as flabby, actually) and she’s a bit insecure about it, but she doesn’t mope and is totally okay about it.

3. This book had a little bit of everything. Action? Check. Romance? Check. Crazy supernatural beings? Check. There was even a hint of paranormal politics, which was cool (although I wish they’d expounded on this more).

Things About The Awesome That Lacked Awesomeness:

1. The humor came off as dry. I was expecting to laugh my ass off reading this because honestly the synopsis alone made me chuckle, but I ended up rolling my eyes at the “humorous” writing style used in the book. I found that a lot of Maggie’s jokes became redundant (I should’ve tried counting how many times the words “boob” and “dong” were used in the book). It felt like a writing style that was a better fit for a middle grade novel (minus all of the sex jokes).

2. The “WTF is happening?!” vibe came off. There were a couple of times where I literally had to go back a few pages to look for some foreshadowing, because THE HECK IS HAPPENING? Some things that happened in the book were pretty crazy and felt like they didn’t fit in with the original plot of the book (which was Maggie trying to find a date).

My Awesome Verdict:

The Awesome had a lot of potential to become a fun, sass-filled book with gorgeous relationships, but ultimately (and unfortunately) wasn’t as awesome as the title promised.

pagebreak

Skulls 3

3 skulls

pagebreak

Liked this review? You also find it on Goodreads.
Liked this post? Follow us on Bloglovin’.

About Aimee
Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.
Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →
20 thoughts on “Review: The Awesome by Eva Darrows / Not Enough Awesomeness

  1. The humor was dry, but that’s my kind of humor so :P I loooved this book so much. The relationships, characters, humor, action, all of it. :D

    Like

  2. So that cover is simultaneously awesome and disturbing at the same time. O.o Haha. Well I like the sound of those imperfect characters — they are always the best ones — and I’m one of those people who actually like dry humour. So I think this is something I COULD like. Not so fond of the “WTF is happening” sort of books, though. xD

    Like

    1. Right? But it looks absolutely gorgeous in physical form. :) We’ll see how this is for you, Kara! Normally I like dry humor too, but there was just too much of it for me.

      Like

  3. Aww I’m so impressed that the author touched on so many relationship aspects and did them justice. I love when friends and family are there like in real life and that they’re not just there as fillers. I love the dynamic between Maggie and her mother as well – so cute! Too bad that the actual writing and plot was a little lacking. Oh well, you can’t win them all right? :P Lovely review Aimee!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

