photo PushTourBanner 1_zpslyp2fgu8.png
Check the full schedule for the Push blog tour here

Hi guys! Welcome to my tour stop for Claire Wallis’ Push! This is my first new adult suspense read, and I’m (mostly) glad that I decided to give this book a shot.

The Book

21010103

Push by Claire Wallis

Push, book #1
published on May 1st 2014 by Harlequin MIRA
new adult | contemporary | romance | suspense

find the book on
Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | iTunes | Kobo

I feel like I am wrapped in a cyclone. Everything is whirling around me, drawing the air out of my lungs and filling me with the best kind of turmoil. Every time his tongue slides against mine, a prickle in my gut tells me how right we are together. How much I need David. How much I need us.

I hope the cyclone never stops.

Emma Searfoss has spent a lifetime trying to escape her abusive stepfather. It’s why she moved far away from home. It’s why she’s kept no ties with her remaining family. And it’s why she’s got a major rage problem. When her neighbor shows up to fix the kitchen in her new apartment, his enigmatic charm calms the fire in her. David is cool and collected, and he makes Emma feel safe for the first time ever. But David has his own chilling past—his six previous girlfriends have all disappeared without a trace. Emma’s walking a dangerous line, but David’s pull is intoxicating. And impossible to resist…

This is a new adult romance with mature content for readers 17 and up.

Review

This was my first time trying to read a new adult suspense novel, and I’m pretty surprised. It definitely succeeded in taking fucked up (in a good way) to a whole new level for me, if that’s how we’re going to look at things.

Really, this story is all kinds of crazy. I don’t want to spoil anything for you guys, but let me just tell you this: the line “David has his own chilling past” from the synopsis does not do this chilling past any justice. It should say, “David has his own FREAKING INSANE past.”

Romance-wise, this book does have insta-attraction. Emma literally just pranced around in tight dress, sat on David’s lap and they just got it on. That was during their, what, third meeting? That was my main problem with the book, obviously.

Other than that, I quite enjoyed it. The writing was really easy to get into, and I had no trouble getting into the story because of it. The mystery itself was a page-turner. David’s past (and his present) will suck you in, and will leave you craving the next page.

And let’s not forget that ending, folks. This book ended in one of the biggest cliffhangers in history–that I’ve come across, at least. It seriously left me going, what the fuck? but not in a bad way. I was intrigued and surprised, to put it simply.

3 stars

The Author

 photo claire_zpsj2dtvrbd.jpg

Claire Wallis

Go forth and stalk Claire!
Facebook | Twitter | Website | Goodreads

Claire Wallis has penned hundreds of magazine and newspaper articles over the last ten years, with science playing the lead role in almost all of them. Though non-fiction writing will forever be her first love, fiction has unexpectedly swooped in, hooked her by the soul, and become her true love. As a result of this coup d’état, Claire’s writing career has made a complete U-turn, and instead of rocks, plants, insects, and microbes, she is now putting human characters in the lead.

Claire’s previous jobs include working at a limestone quarry, hawking vegetables at a farmer’s market, clerking at the dollar store, and convincing new mothers that they need to renew their subscription to that parenting magazine in order for their child to survive. She lives in Pennsylvania with her amazingly awesome husband and son.

Giveaway

This giveaway is open internationally!

  • $25 Amazon Gift Card
  • One digital copy of PUSH via Amazon
  • One audiobook of PUSH via Audible Studios

Enter Here

pagebreak

Are you into NA thrillers? Do you think you’d be interested in this one?

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

18 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Push by Claire Wallis / This Book is Crazy! / Review + Giveaway

  1. Hm. I love a good romantic suspense story Aimee and while David’s “chilling” past has me more than a little curious, the cliffhanger freaks me out. THEY CAUSE ME STRESS!!!! *takes deep breaths* I’m going to have to wait and see what happens with book two before I can pick this one up:) Fantastic review though!

    Like

  2. The mystery itself sounds like a great read and I’m super curious about David’s past now! I love those kinds of storylines! Glad you liked it, Aimee! Great review! :)

    Like

  3. Emma needs David. Well, I also need something ha! I need to know to know the biggest cliffhanger in the history! Haha so happy to have my notification on on your tweets Aimee! :)

    Like

  4. I hate cliffhangers on principle but you’ve got me interested in this one since you mentioned it left you reeling but not exasperated and angry. Hm, I definitely have to give this one a shot than. Great review!

    Like

  5. LOL. Now you definitely have me intrigued with David’s insane past. I hope you eventually get a resolution to the crazy cliffhanger!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

