19547856

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

published on April 7th 2015 by Balzer + Bray
young adult | romance | contamporary | lgbtq

find the book on
Goodreads

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.
With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

REVIEW

FOR THE LOVE OF OREOS (which I’m eating right now), READ THIS BOOK NOW.

“But I’m tired of coming out. All I ever do is come out. I try not to change, but I keep changing, in all these tiny ways. And every freaking time, I have to reintroduce myself to the universe all over again.”

Guys, Simon is just the most honest, realistic, clever, hilarious and adorable character you’ll ever come across. He’s a sassy gay teenager with perfect grammar and all the wit in the world–oh how I wish Simon was real and that we could be best friends. He may not have been the most amazing friend or family member all the time, but that just made him flawed and more real. Plus he likes Oreos.

He’s also one lucky guy to have the sweetest love interest in the world. But I won’t get too much into that because… spoilers! But let me just tell you that SIMON AND BLUE ARE THE MOST PERFECT SHIP EVER. They will make you grin until your face hurts and swoon until you faint. (Bonus points since Blue’s identity was really surprising–hooray for contemporaries with a bit of a mystery!

And that crazy, supportive family we’re always looking for in books? Simon’s got it. He has such a big support system from his family who accept him for who he is. They’re a really fun family, too. Lots of cute moments with his parents and fabulous sister.

Simon also had some not-so-perfect friends who he had not-so-perfect relationships with. This aspect I loved mostly because of how realistic it was–I mean, we don’t always get along with our friends, right? Sometimes we can feel left out, and sometimes we leave someone out. We fight, we make up. And that’s what Simon did with his friends (who were, by the way, also pretty supportive about his sexuality).

“White shouldn’t be the default any more than straight should be the default. There shouldn’t even be a default.”

This book isn’t just about adorableness (although there’s a ton of that), Simon also sometimes has some pretty deep thoughts about issues in the world that need change. This book is also a lot about acceptance and thinking outside what is “normal” for most of us. Lots of beautiful messages were conveyed here, and I’m extremely happy about that.

Becky Albertalli is one awesome writer. The dialogues were so natural, the characters had great chemistry (!!!), and she just wrote what overall was one of the most adorable and beautiful books I’ve read. This book is a perfect fit for anyone looking for a fun book that isn’t shallow at all.

*A digital review copy was provided by Balzer + Bray via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

pagebreak

Skulls 4.5

4.5 skulls

pagebreak

Liked this review? You also find it on Goodreads.
Liked this post? Follow us on Bloglovin’.

About Aimee
Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.
Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →
25 thoughts on “Review: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

  1. This sounds absolutely amazing! I admit I had seen some hype for it but didn’t think much of the book until now. Will bump it up on my to read list! Great review :)

    Like

  2. I’m so excited for this book!! Especially because I’m seeing nothing but good things being said and I’m all for amazing chemistry and just FUN but the fact that it has importance messages is perfect. Glad you enjoyed it!! Great review. :-)

    Like

  3. Awww, I more than want to read this book! I NEED to read this book! Sure it’ll be as adorable as you make it seam and that cover is so beautiful. I feel like year after year YA book covers become more and more amazing :D Great review, Aimee!

    Like

  4. I freaking loved this book! It was just so dang adorable! But I also really admired how it touched on a lot of serious issues as well- bullying, LGBT, defining “normal”. And the relationships in this book were so great. Definitely a really impressive debut.

    Like

  5. Girl you make me wanna just get this book and my Oreos and enjoy all day long. I have seen this one around lately and everyone seem to be loving it. I’m not surprised though when Simon sounds like a really amazing character and I love that kind. Great review, Aimee :)

    Like

  6. Aww this sounds AMAZING! I am hearing great things about this all over the place, but I was sold on the quote you posted! I mean, just from that, you can tell he is going to be witty and smart. I love that it is thought provoking too. I am definitely going to be needing this book! Great review!

    Like

  7. AH YES. I am so, so glad you loved SIMON, Aimee! And I totally agree with you about this being the most adorable book ever. Because it seriously is – but so much more. Like you said, it gets you thinking about norms and how there shouldn’t be any. UGH this book is just so perfect on so many levels. Friendships, families, romantic relationships. They are all in there, and all done SO WELL. IT’S UNBELIEVABLE THAT THIS IS FICTION BECAUSE THEY WERE ALL DONE SO WELL.

    I know that Becky is now on my autobuy list, and I seriously cannot wait to see what other books she releases into the world.

    Like

  8. This book is EVERYTHING. Omg the ship, Aimee, THE SHIP. It’s perfect. I want to read it for the first time again and again. The friendships, too, are so realistically drawn. I can’t wait to read more of Becky’s work!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

