Wow
21793116

The Truth About Us by Janet Gurtler

to be published on April 7th 2015 by Sourcebooks Fire
young adult | romance | contemporary

find the book on
Goodreads

The truth is that Jess knows she screwed up.
She’s made mistakes, betrayed her best friend, and now she’s paying for it. Her dad is making her spend the whole summer volunteering at the local soup kitchen.

The truth is she wishes she was the care-free party-girl everyone thinks she is.
She pretends it’s all fine. That her “perfect” family is fine. But it’s not. And no one notices the lie…until she meets Flynn. He’s the only one who really sees her. The only one who listens.

The truth is that Jess is falling apart – and no one seems to care.
But Flynn is the definition of “the wrong side of the tracks.” When Jess’s parents look at him they only see the differences-not how much they need each other. They don’t get that the person who shouldn’t fit in your world… might just be the one to make you feel like you belong.

WowW

1. THIS SOUNDS LIKE IT HAS ANGST. I love me some angst. (Not too much of course, but enough.)

2. “The truth is that Jess knows she screwed up.” A heroine who knows that she screwed up? Hooray! And of course, I’m intrigued about what she actually did wrong.

3. I haven’t even read the book yet, and already I’m swooning over Flynn. Doesn’t he sound dreamy and mysterious? *wink*

4. I’ve always wanted to try one of Janet Gurtler’s books, and this sounds like the perfect fit for me.

pagebreak

Never miss a single Waiting on Wednesday post–follow us on Bloglovin’!

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

23 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday #8: The Truth About Us

  1. Like Tiffany said I wasn’t really familiar with this book until now. I’m glad to hear the heroine realizes she’s done something wrong, but I hope she actually takes responsibility for it and tries to change her actions. In a lot of books I’ve read, the main character admits what they did is wrong, but doesn’t do anything to fix it, or STILL tries to pin in on someone else. *sigh* Anyways, I hope you like The Truth About Us!:)

    Claire @ Cover to Cover

    Like

  2. I’ve read a few of Gurtler’s books before and shes’ always really good at dealing with tough issues in a realistic way, so I hope you enjoy this one when you give it a go Aimee, and I have to agree Flynn sounds hot! ;)

    Like

  3. I never read any of Gurtler’s books either but this sounds like a good one to get started with! I love reading about characters that I can actually relate to and can admit their own faults. (yay for characters that realize that they screwed up!) (and yay for Flynn haha)

    Like

  4. This is one of those that I haven’t actually heard of, but it seems really intriguing! I may have to pick it up in the summer (when my itch to read contemporary usually picks up). Great post, and thanks for stopping by my blog, Caitlen’s Musings! :)

    Like

  5. I love ANGST too! This is my WoW pick today also. AND… this will be my first book by this author, so we have that in common too. I hope we both enjoy reading it.
    Thanks for stopping by My WoW.

    Like

  6. Haha, this isn’t a book I would put on my romance, but I DO agree with your reasons for wanting to read it – it does sound like it’ll be a little angsty, a whole lot of swoony, and contain some interesting secrets about the MC and her family. Hope you get a chance to read it! :)

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

