22715908

Cold Burn of Magic by Jennifer Estep

Black Blade, #1
published on April 28th 2015 by K-Teen
young adult | fantasy | paranormal | romance

find the book on
Goodreads

It’s not as great as you’d think, living in a tourist town that’s known as “the most magical place in America.” Same boring high school, just twice as many monsters under the bridges and rival Families killing each other for power.

I try to keep out of it. I’ve got my mom’s bloodiron sword and my slightly illegal home in the basement of the municipal library. And a couple of Talents I try to keep quiet, including very light fingers and a way with a lock pick.

But then some nasty characters bring their Family feud into my friend’s pawn shop, and I have to make a call–get involved, or watch a cute guy die because I didn’t. I guess I made the wrong choice, because now I’m stuck putting everything on the line for Devon Sinclair. My mom was murdered because of the Families, and it looks like I’m going to end up just like her. . .

REVIEW

I’d tell you guys that this book was nice but I’d be lying.

No. This book wasn’t just nice. It was freaking fantastic! This book’s going to be popular, I’m telling you guys. It already won my heart.

Characters and Relationships:

The heroine Lila reminds me of Celaena from Throne Of Glass, maybe even better than her. She was amazing guys! I can’t help but admire her tenacity, her sarcasm, her bravery! She acts all tough but really, she’s a vulnerable person. I can’t help but see myself in her (excluding all the killing, of course) and somehow, I think that’s what made me love this book a little bit more.

I liked that Lila is realistic and practical. She knows what she can and can’t do. She’s pretty smart and she has priorities! (So many YA heroines don’t have, unfortunately) So okay, I totally want to be her friend in she was real.

I loved everyone actually, even the secondary characters! I loved Devon, Oscar, Mo, Felix and just about all the people. No one was a freaking doormat. All these characters are complex and have a personality of their own.

The Romance:

I thought there’s going to be a love triangle but there’s none. N-O-N-E. Oh My God. The romance was not the main focus here and I think it was great! I wouldn’t find this book super amazing if the plot’s being overshadowed by relationship dramas. But there’s a love interest, I hope to God he was. I SHIP IT. God, my shipper heart just doesn’t stop.

The Plot:

The plot has similarities with the author’s adult series: Elemental Assassin. They have strong female leads and they both have soft sides whose been hurt but never broken. The similarities end there, though. Mob families fighting for each other for power? Monsters lurking all over the place? It was all pretty cool and fascinating. Ahhhh. Somebody help calm me down right now!

I found that I enjoyed this book more than the Elemental Assassin series, though, mainly maybe because I could totally relate with Lila and this book was just riveting and captivating as chocolates. I am still munching it, enjoying its delicious taste yet I crave for more. I admit that this wasn’t the most original book out there but you can’t just stop falling for a book when you loved almost everything about it, you know?

The only complain I have is that there are so many unnecessary descriptions that the book could’ve done without. Oh, and also, I guessed a major plot twist (I mean, dude, that was really predictable!) Anyway, that was so inconsequential compared to all the mini heart attacks I had. God, this book is somehow made for me.

I can’t help but think that this review is all over the place because I am majorly fangirling but honestly, you have to add this on your ever growing tbr-list. Basically, this book is just plain good stuff. The thing about reading a book early is that you get to wait for the next installment even longer than usual. Ahhhhh I want the next book now!

**Review copy received from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

pagebreak

Skulls 3.5

3.5 skulls

pagebreak

Liked this post? Follow us on Bloglovin’.

About Margarita

Margarita loves writing reviews to let out her feels and rants. She can be very shy but when you get to know her better, she’s really a pretty outgoing person!

Goodreads | Twitter | all of Margarita’s posts →

15 thoughts on “Review: Cold Burn of Magic by Jennifer Estep

  1. WOO HOO!!!! I love Jennifer Estep something fierce, so I couldn’t be more excited to dive into this one! She’s usually pretty good about not torturing us with things like love triangles, so I’m glad to see that trend continues with this one. I can’t wait to meet Lila!!!!

    Like

  2. Great review! I pre-ordered this book and I can’t wait for my copy to get here, I like Jennifer Estep her writing style style and after reading your review I am pretty sure I will enjoy this book. And the characters sound great, I can’t wait to meet them :).

    Like

  3. I am so happy to hear that there isn’t a love triangle. I can’t tell you how many books I’ve picked up lately and had to immediately put back down because of this. I love how enthusiastic you are about the book; can’t wait to read it!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

