Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes It’s almost the release day for Paula Stokes’ Liars, Inc! Celebrate with us!

18009950

Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes

published on March 24th 2015 by HarperTeen
young adult | contemporary | mystery

find the book on
Goodreads | Liars, Inc. website

Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell forged permission slips and cover stories to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a little money and liven up a boring senior year. With the help of his friends Preston and Parvati, Max starts Liars, Inc. Suddenly everybody needs something and the cash starts pouring in. Who knew lying could be so lucrative?

When Preston wants his own cover story to go visit a girl he met online, Max doesn’t think twice about hooking him up. Until Preston never comes home. Then the evidence starts to pile up—terrifying clues that lead the cops to Preston’s body. Terrifying clues that point to Max as the murderer.

1Review

Instead of doing my usual review, I’ll tell you why you need to read this book in a different way. I’m going to compare Liars, Inc. (and its characters, plot, etc.) with various people and objects. ;)

1. If Liars, Inc. would be a dessert, it would be dark chocolate. Rich, “creamy” in a way, with a touch of darkness… and sweetness

2. If Max (the main character) was an animal, he would be a dog. He’s helpful (even if he’s not completely moral…), protective (over his family, friends and girlfriend), and absolutely adorable. He’s the kind of guy you want with you every step of the way.

3. If Parvati (the heroine) was a place, she would be a dark alley. Dark alleys can serve as a comforting place, but it’s also quite mysterious inside… She’s always been there for Max, but of course everybody has their own little secrets, no?

4. If the relationships (romance-, friends- and family-wise) in this book were people, they would be babies–you would just want to squish their cheeks and huge them forever! Just like babies, the relationships in this book were as gorgeous as little angels. They’ll make you want to squeal, laugh and cry along with them.

Overall, Liars, Inc. is definitely a must read for fans of well-crafted thrillers with a touch of romance, friendship and family. Y’all are going to love Max and the rest of the gang.

rating: 4 stars

1GP

IF THE CAST OF LIARS, INC. TRADED PLACES WITH THE CAST OF THE 100

Paula: Okay, so the truth is, aside from a fierce female lead and a fair amount of time spent running around in the woods, LIARS, INC. doesn’t have a whole lot in common with the TV show (not the book) The 100.

Anyway, LIARS, INC. [which also rules! :D] is a contemporary, realistic murder mystery. No one gets floated into space or stabbed in the chest with a spear. There is no mysterious flesh-eating acid fog…unfortunately. My main character is not quite as sexy as Bellamy or as swoony as first-season Finn. But still, Max is tough in his own way, Parvati is tough in practically every way, and LIARS has a lot of plot twists and complicated relationship dynamics. So basically LIARS, Inc. and The 100 are mostly different but somewhat the same! And therefore, let’s examine what would happen…

Max would be Lincoln. For some reason my brain spent like an hour going “Finn or Bellamy? Finn or Bellamy?” before remembering that there are other guys on The 100. Max isn’t smart enough to be Monty, awkward enough to be Jasper, or charismatic enough to be Bellamy. He’s not quite as nice as first-season Finn or as messed-up as second-season Finn. [Sorry Team Finn—you know it’s true.] But Lincoln and Max are both intense and stoic, often appearing emotionless when there’s a lot going on inside their heads. They’re both outcasts. They both have a strong moral compass and see things primarily as black or white. They both begin their story arcs unable to trust people and gradually learn to let down their guard. And then there’s one more reason Max and Lincoln should trade places, and that’s because…

Parvati would be Octavia. Remember when we first met Octavia and she was kind of pouty and self-destructive, making out with all kinds of guys instead of focusing on the more important things, like not dying? And now she is EVERYTHING and you don’t even care if Clarke and Lexa get eaten by a rabid gorilla because there would still be Octavia getting her warrior on with Indra and that is ALL that matters. [Or maybe that’s just me?] Parvati, well, she makes some bad choices. But as Max’s precarious position worsens, she really steps it up, utilizing things learned from her military dad and lawyer mom to help Max as he flees from FBI custody. Just like Octavia risks her life for Lincoln, Parvati uses her smarts and strength to save Max. Whether or not you like her at the end of the book, you’ll probably see her as a force to be reckoned with. [Note: Parvati might need her own book to ascend to Octavia-like levels of greatness, but that’s okay, right? You’d totally support a Parvati-POV companion novel, wouldn’t you? :D] //Aimee: I WOULD!//

Preston would be Wells: Wells was kind of messed-up in the head from being the son of an important politician. And then he died. So basically Wells and Preston, twins separated at birth. ;-) Moving on… Oh okay, maybe that needed a [Spoiler alert!] But come on—Wells dies in like Episode 4 or something. If you’re not even to that point yet, you’re way behind! Oh, and I almost made Preston into Bellamy, more because I was hoping Aimee might slap a Bellamy picture here than because they have anything in common. ;-) I do love me some Bellamy!

//Aimee: How’s this? ;)//

Amanda would be that little girl who kills WellsI combed through the cast listing on IMDB trying to find her character name with no luck. You remember her, though. She looks all spunky and adorable but then she turns into a killer and everyone decides to blame Murphy for it. Max’s little sister, Amanda, is likewise completely adorable, but also a tad creepy. She’s eleven and spends most of her free time watching true crime shows on TV. She wants to be a forensic psychologist, or maybe a coroner, when she grows up. I like to mess around and tell people she’s the killer, which is why I decided to match her up with Wells’s killer. But Amanda isn’t reeeeeally a murderer. Probably not, anyway… but I’d still keep an eye on her.

Langston would be Marcus Kane. Senator DeWitt’s mysterious advisor Langston is hard to read, just like The 100’s Marcus Kane. At the beginning of their stories, both Langston and Kane appear to be little more than hired henchmen who do their bosses’ dirty work. But then as you get to know them better, their gruff exteriors fade a little and their layers begin to appear. You start to realize they’re probably decent guys. And then they mess up again and make you start wondering all over again.

Senator DeWitt would be the President of the Mountain Men: According to IMDB, the President’s name is Dante Wallace. Dante doesn’t get a lot of screen time (which is probably why I thought his official name was Mount Weather Old Dude), so it’s hard to know if he’ll ultimately turn out to be a good guy or a bad guy. The same goes for Senator DeWitt, who is talked about quite frequently in LIARS but off-screen for most of the book. Is Preston’s dad a good guy desperately trying to find his son? Or is he a soulless political type with a darker agenda? I guess you’ll have to read LIARS, INC. to find out for sure…

If you’re an obsessive fan of The 100, I hope this little comparison feature entices you to check out Liars, Inc. And if you’re not an obsessive fan of The 100, what the heck are you waiting for? Tough girls, hot guys, plot twists, and action galore. It’s one of the best things on TV!

1Wallpaper

Like I said, this book’s FUCKING AWESOME. So I wanted to share the love with you guys by giving you some downloadable Liars, Inc. wallpapers!

Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes - Wallpaper 1900x1200download 1900 x 1200

Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes 2 - Wallpaper 1900x1200download 1900 x 1200

Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes 3 - Wallpaper 1900x1200download 1900 x 1200

Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes 4 - Wallpaper 1900x1200download 1900 x 1200

pagebreak

Have you read/do you want to read Liars, Inc? Thoughts on the interview/review? Thoughts on the wallpapers?

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

31 thoughts on “Review: Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes (Plus a The 100 Guest Post + Wallpapers!)

    1. I’ve watched season one of The 100 and I enjoyed most of it! I’ll definitely catch up on season two after exams! :D A PARVATI BOOK WOULD BE AWESOME, WOULDN’T IT?! :D
      Thanks lots, Pili! <33

      Like

  1. I’m so stoked for this book. I love a good thriller and I LOVE DARK CHOCOLATE. My roommate watches the 100 and she always talks about how amazing and heartbreaking it is. I have it saved on Netflix so one day.Cool review, I’m totally using one of those wallpapers!

    Like

    1. I’m more of a milk chocolate girl myself, but dark chocolate’s definitely healthier! xD Everyone has been talking about The 100 on Twitter and I NEED to catch up on season two soon! <3

      Thanks so much, Taylor!

      Like

  2. Liars Inc is next up on my list of books (like, I am probably starting it tonight, so very soon!) and um, yes. I need it now more than ever. Because if you compare stuff to The 100, I am IN. (Also, note to Paula: I call him Old Man Weather still. Because come on, he does NOT look like a Dante, for goodness sake!)

    And The 100 IS the best thing on TV, so I am now not only extra excited to start Liars Inc, but giddy with excitement for tomorrow night’s episode. Well done, Aimee and Paula!

    Like

    1. Yes! Old Man Weather is perfect! Dante will always be THE COLLECTOR in my mind :) And note, really my book isn’t much like The 100, I just really like The 100 so it was fun to write about :D

      Like

  3. This whole post is filled with awesome. Your review is such fun, Aimee, and, though I literally JUST got started watching The 100 (last night! Also, the little girl’s name is Charlotte! My newbie status helps in some way!), it’s so great. I was excited for Liars, Inc. already, but the comparisons are just wonderful. AND those wallpapers! Downloading them all right now to make my desktop pretty. :D

    Like

    1. OMG I was going to tell you on Twitter not to read this so I wouldn’t spoil Wells’s death. (Apparently he doesn’t die in the book? IDK. I think I heard that). Glad you made it that far :) And yes, Charlotte! Blogger Shae told me that after I had turned in this post. She’s an official expert on The 100.

      Like

    2. Thanks, Rachel! :D I’ve watched the entire first season and mostly enjoyed it. Will definitely continue this summer break! :D

      Thank you again! <33 :D

      Like

  4. Can’t wait to read this one! Even though I haven’t watch The 100 too, I already start imagine some of the characters in my head. By the way, your post is so unique, Aimee, I never read a post like this before. Also, the wallpapers are so pretty! Thanks for making those wallpaper :D

    Like

  5. You have the most creative reviews/interviews Aimee, I love it!!!! I’ve heard really great things about this one, so I’m excited to get my hands on a copy. I’m in the mood for a story where all the relationships make me want to hug everyone:) And those wallpapers are gorgeous! Love the type.

    Like

  6. Okay all these comparisons to The 100 are making me more excited for Liars, Inc (not that I wasn’t already)! Bellarke may be the ultimate ship but Lincoln and Octavia are still king and queen so I’m looking forward to reading Max and Parvati! The photo of Bellamy does add to the awesome of this post but I have to say I adore your wallpapers most, Aimee! They look fabulous! :)

    Like

    1. Woot! You’re going to love this, Hazel! And Bellarke is just <3. I actually kind of really didn't like Lincoln in the first season, but I'll catch up on season two soon! :D Thanks so much! <3

      Like

  7. Hi
    I just ordered Liars inc .and am impatiently waiting for its arrival. I was wanted to read it since I read the synapse on goodreads. I am so excited!!!!!

    Like

  8. Wait, did you make those wallpapers? They’re absolutely gorgeous! You’ll have to let me know if you’ve made any for any other books because I would love to use one for a book I’ve read as my desktop wallpaper! (I just have a generic one right now.)

    I didn’t read the guest post because I don’t watch The 100 so figured it would be over my head (though that show is SUPER popular right now), but I did love how the review was set up with comparing different elements of the book to different things! So creative.

    And yeah, those wallpapers are beautiful! Do more! ;)

    Like

    1. Yup, I did! ;D I actually make some more on The Social Potato (including some Harry Potter ones!)

      Thanks so much, Asti! I’ve watched season 1 and it was… intriguing, to say the least. I can’t wait to catch up to season 2! Maybe I’ll even read the book after. :)

      Like

  9. Okay girl, this is making me EVEN MORE motivated to pick up Liars Inc. I am so freaking addicted to the 100 and I can’t wait to make these connections myself.

    Lovely post <33

    Like

  10. Awesome post, love the way you wrote your review and the Guest Post is very clever! I haven’t watched the 100 so some of it is lost on me but now I really want to give it a shot! The wallpapers are gorgeous, the third is my favorite and is now my desktop background xD *aggressively cleans out desktop icons so she can see the gorgeousness better*

    Like

  11. I haven’t read the book yet, because I’m not usually into thrillers, but I LOVE the cover and everything rates it so highly that I might actually give it a try. Your wallpapers are awesome and The 100 is THE BOMB.

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

