Discuss Darlings

Come discuss with us!

There are always these little details or things in books that make you instantly like them or make you want to read them, and today I wanted to talk about some of my bookish turn-ons.

Since I’m a romance junkie, I’ve read about all sorts of romances (best friends, forbidden romances, enemies turned lovers, etc.) and there are some things I prefer over others (even if most of the time, it really just depends on the author’s execution):

1. When the two characters become friends before lovers. (Preferably best friends.)

YOU SAW THIS COMING, GUYS. I don’t even know how many times I’ve mentioned how much of a best-friend romance fan I am. They just make me really giddy inside since there’s obvious closeness and chemistry, plus it isn’t that awkward or fast. It’s (usually) just at this perfect and adorable pace.

Examples: Percy & Annabeth from Percy Jackson and the Olympians (DUH PEOPLE), Joss and Matt from When Joss Met Matt (this book also showed how they met and all, which was super cute), Jordan & Henry from Catching Jordan (and they have the same interests which makes them extra adorable!)

2. When the two characters are already together at the beginning of the story.

Because this way, you avoid insta-love. And it’s cute since you already know that they’re comfortable with each other and with the fact that they’re together. It’s flailing over their ship minus the pre-dating drama, right?

Examples: Sloane & James from The Program (I SHIP THESE TWO SO HARD), Max & Parvati from Liars, Inc. (I love how they’re already together and yet still flirty and cute towards each other!)

3. The adorable hero with a crush on the heroine. (Or vice-versa.)

CUTENESS OVERLOAD, PEOPLE. That pining from a far thing is freaking annoying, but it’s really adorable when the guy (or girl) actually APPROACHES his/her crush. It’s lovely seeing them make a (sometimes funny) effort to win the guy or girl over. These characters are usually the humorous and/or endearing kind.

Examples: Zak who had a crush on Ana from The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak (at the beginning of the book, Zak tried to flirt with Ana and it was HILARIOUS), Juli who had a crush on Bryce from Flipped (she was annoyingly clingy, but then after a while her clingy-ness became an awkward kind of cute!)

4. The supportive hero.

Honestly, we probably all like this kind of guy. We want guys who push the heroines to be stronger, and to follow their dreams, because he believes in her and he trusts her. That kind of relationship is absolutely solid, and I respect the guys for doing what they do.

Examples: Bodee from Faking Normal (Alexi had a very serious issue, and Bodee was always there for her, like an adorable pillar of support. Much love for these two), “Drill” from Rites of Passage (despite how everyone else pushes Sam down, Drill believed in her and helped her support herself in every step of the way)

5. The emotional couple.

Believe it or not, I actually like crying when I read. It feels nice to know that a book seriously invaded my heart and bombarded me with so much feels that I cry. Emotional couples (whether because of a family problem or maybe just little angsty moments) make me ship them so much harder. It makes me want to support them as they grow and develop together.

Examples: Quinn and Colton from Things We Know by Heart (LET ME HUG YOU), Lily & Lo from Addicted to You (WHAT IS LIFE), Day and June from Champion (FUCK THE UNIVERSE)

So those were five of my bookish turn ons in romance. Next up is probably bookish turn ons in fantasy!

 

 

 

pagebreak

Agree with my choices? What are your romance turn-ons? Any recommendations from the categories I picked?

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

28 thoughts on “Five Bookish Turn-Ons: Romance Edition

  1. YES TO EVERYTHING!!! Number one is my fave romance trope, swear. Especially when the couple have been best friends forever like Henry and Jordan! My fave emotional couple is probably Josh and Nastya from The Sea of Tranquility- I cried buckets, seriously.

    Now I’m even more excited to read Things We Know By Heart and Addicted To You!

    Like

  2. A+ COMMENT FOR CHAMPION. AGREE WHOLEHEARTEDLY. IT’S UNACCEPTABLE.

    And oooohhh Bodee <3 My HEART.

    My favorite trope is probably the best friends to lovers, or enemies to lovers. The latter, especially. I can’t get enough of it because there’s SO MUCH TENSION JUST KISS ALREADY YOU FOOLS.

    Like

  3. I AM SO EXCITED TO READ THE IMPROBABLE THEORY OF ANA AND ZAK, OMG. That just sounds adorable! I LOVE CUTE CRUSHES SO MUCH.

    And oooh, that really makes me want to read Liars, Inc! I would really love more books where the characters are already together when the book begins! I can’t really think of any I’ve read that are like that. Max and Parvati sound really cute.

    Like

  4. BEST FRIEND ROMANCES ARE SO CUTE OMG. Although I wish there would be some books where they STAYED best friends instead of having to get together. Anyway. I really have to read The Improbable Theory of Anna and Zak!! It’s actually on my shelf :D and so is Faking Normal for that matter…

    Like

  5. Aimee I LOVE this post, as I’m the biggest ever romance junkie, so everything you’ve mentioned I love, especially the friends before the romance one. You’re post is definitely making me want to dig out all my books which feature the above and read them all over again!

    Like

  6. I am also a romance junkies ;) If someone recommends me something the first thing I ask about is if there is romance xD I like number one but I’m not a huge fan of number two because I love reading about the development. It does beat insta-love all day every day though. Oh my gosh, Bodee and Drill, STOP. I love them so much. Except what the heck was that ending in Rites of Passage when it came to their romance!?

    Like

  7. THE EMOTIONAL COUPLES AND BESTFRIEND COUPLES ARE WHAT I LIVE FOR IN BOOKS TBVH. HAHAHA Sorry for the caps, I was excited! SQUEE I want to read Things We Know By Heart because I can foresee the feels. DAY & JUNE! You already know ;) Need to check out the other books in this post! :D

    Great post as always, Aimee! :D

    Like

  8. Number five. NUMBER FIVE. NUUUUUUMBER FIIIIIIIIIIIIIIVE. Mainly because Day & June and Aimee you know how I cannot HANDLE DAY AND JUNE BECAUSE PAIN AND FEELS AND EMOTIONS AND EVERYTHING SHOWERING DOWN ON ME UNTIL I AM UTTERLY AND COMPLETELY USELESSSSSSS

    Other than that, I really love all the other ones you mentioned, too. I LOVE BFFs-turned-lovers. It may be one of my absolute favourites because there’s the worry that their friendship might not survive and bbs, it’ll be okay.

    Generally, I love romance where one party is completely unsure of whether the other party will love them back. It’s so full of angst and pain, and makes me love the unsure party SO MUCH because they’re scared and adorable and just LET ME HOLD YOU

    Like

  9. This post was AMAZING. I agree to almost everything you said especially the best friend part!

    Your Deadly Discussions are so awesome, btw. I’m kinda in a blogging slump and I have no idea what to talk about, so mind if I use some of your topics? Your blog is kinda my inspiration.

    Like

  10. NUMBER ONE IS MY SPIRIT ANIMAL ALRIGHT. Actually, I won’t generalise the best friends trope in books only – basically, in every form of entertainment I’ll root for the adorable, unknowing couple.

    I think my type of romance varies as I read different stories, and as you said earlier, it usually depends on the author’s execution. But I am partial to the enemies-to-lovers trope! It usually comes with the witty banter and the *sexual* tension aha! :)

    Like

  11. I’m all for being friends before lovers! That way you actually get to know the person before you dive head-first into a relationship, which often gets very intense very fast in YA. At least I can root for you if you love them for who they are, not for what they look like.

    Like

  12. Yessss you like all the couples I do, we definitely have similar tastes in romances Aimee! Definitely friends to lovers romance, emotional couples (not to be confused with drama) as well as the supportive hero. SO CUTE! Great post Aimee!

    Like

  13. YAY FOR BEST FRIEND BEFORE LOVERS! Its my favorite romance, and usually I always end up love the book that has that kind of romance. And also yay for emotional couple! I’m reading Champion now and June and Day already give me feels even though I’m still in the beginning!

    Like

  14. These are fantastic choices! I love it when a boy has been crushing on the girl from afar for a while (pre-book) and then reveals this at some point during the book. So stinkin’ cute!
    Best friends to more is one of my favorites. It can be done so well because it’s believable!
    I also like second chance love stories (usually). A really great, but different, one is I’ll Meet You There. They weren’t dating before but they still had history and it’s like they got a do over.

    thanks for sharing, love!

    Like

  15. Great post, Aimee. Some of these I’m a fan of, and some not so. I don’t really enjoy reading books featuring a couple that’s already a couple. I like watching two people get together. Their meet-cute; the angst of does she/does he like me?. I’m also one of those who can live without the friends to lovers bit. I’m just not a fan, sometimes.

    Like

  16. Completely agree with all these. Anything that avoids insta-love is okay with me. I’m even okay with insta-attraction if it develops into something more through the course of the book. I’m also a huge fan of broken-up couples that find each other again. Because they have history and a lot of romantic tension….

    Like

  17. I love your list, Aimee! Bestfriend romance tops my list of turn ons, too. And yeah, I saw Percabeth from a mile away. Their relationship is one of the best ever written — tested through time, founded on solid friendship, and definitely cute. I am on their ship forever. <3

    Like

  18. The Emotional Couple. YES.
    There’s something about crying for fictional characters that makes you come back for more, I don’t know what but I guess you get what I mean? Or not? HAHA! Anyway, getting emotionally invested in a book is good, I think, because that makes it unforgettable. Even if it made your chinky eyes shrink more, you would not think twice of reading it again just to get those “feels” again because it made you, in a way, feel good. Am I making sense? LOL
    Adorable post Aimee! :D

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

