21411112

When Joss Met Matt
by Ellie Cahill (Liz Czukas)

published on February 24th 2015 by Ballantine Books
new adult | contemporary | romance

find the book on
Goodreads

Dating can be fun, but it can leave a nasty taste in your mouth. For Joss, ever since her longtime boyfriend cheated on her, she doesn’t want her last memory of a guy to be that jerk. Enter her college friend, Matt. They come up with a theory: after a bad break-up, a person needs to cleanse the palate with a little sorbet sex. Lovers for a night, but always back to being friends in the morning. The two can handle it because they have a contract: rules they wrote, rules they follow and rules they can sometimes bend. The arrangement works: everyone needs a little sorbet now and again … until it starts to be the only thing you want. And then Joss breaks the one rule they never wrote down: don’t fall in love.

REVIEW

Right of the bat, I’m going to tell you guys that this book won’t be for everybody. The two main characters have a best friends with benefits relationship, and a few readers might not be comfortable with that.

Now that I got that off my chest, I’ll tell you why I personally thought that this was a fabulous read.

1. There’s some sassy and hilarious dialogue. Like I’ve mentioned before, Ellie Cahill (better known as young adult author Liz Czukas), writes spot-on when it comes to humor. She writes such naturally funny banter between the characters in this book, and I was pretty much grinning my way through every page.

2. Although I’m not yet in college, I think that this book portrayed college life realistically. (But again, I’m just basing this off what my parents tell me.) Joss and Matt go through some tough, weird and pretty creepy relationships with other people. This may have bothered me just a bit, but mostly I was entertained by what odd situations these two have gotten into with their exes.

3. Both Joss and Matt are very flawed. Both of them made some stupid mistakes, but they learned from those and tried to fix them… sometimes. Still, you have to admit that most of us are this way, right? We make mistakes and sometimes we just don’t bother trying to fix them.

4. I loved how we got to see Joss and Matt’s relationship progress. This book is actually told in alternating chapters, ranging from when they first meet to their current situation. It was absolutely lovely seeing how they turned into friends and how their friendship bloomed into something more. It gave them a lot more chemistry, which is definitely something I look for (and mostly don’t find) in new adult books.

Overall, I’d still say that I totally recommend this to fans of light, fun and cute reads who are looking for realistic portrayal of teen romance.

pagebreak

Skulls 3.5

3.5 skulls

pagebreak

Liked this review? You also find it on Goodreads.
Liked this post? Follow us on Bloglovin’.

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

23 thoughts on “Review: When Joss Met Matt by Ellie Cahill

  1. So glad you enjoyed this Aimee! I’m typically fine with a friends with benefits setup except when they’re also with other people in between their hookups which sounds like it might be the case at times here. Still, it obviously wasn’t hugely bothersome for you because the humor worked so well, so I’m hopeful it will be the same for me! Lovely review:)

    Like

  2. Yay! I’m thrilled to see that you liked this one Aimee, I haven’t had the best track record with NA books, but this one sounds right up my street, I love books which show great progression of a relationship over the course of the book! I can’t wait to start my copy! Lovely review!

    Like

  3. I have seen this one around but due to issues with contemporary stories I avoided this author for so long. But now I think I’ll have to change my mind. I know that this won’t end on my fave list but I need some sassy and hilarious dialogue right now. It always cheers me up. Great review, Aimee :)

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

