24378015

Never Never
by Colleen Hoover & Tarryn Fisher

published on January 7th 2015 by Hoover Ink
young adult | contemporary | romance | mystery

find the book on
Goodreads

Best friends since they could walk. In love since the age of fourteen.
Complete strangers since this morning.
He’ll do anything to remember. She’ll do anything to forget.

REVIEW

*Highlight to view spoilers at your own risk!

Why Never Never didn’t work for me:

1. Charlie’s a huge judgmental bitch. I’m not sure how many times she mentioned how ugly someone else was, and that she wasn’t judging them and that it was just a fact. Jesus Christ, girl, have a little fucking respect. She’s also a snob. Really, she dismisses everyone and their opinions… she just lacks the Queen Bee hair flip.

2. You can’t tell if the romance in this book is genuine. This is the kind of insta-love that could have worked for me, but didn’t. Let’s see… /spoiler/ BOTH parties cheated on each other before they “forgot” their memories. I guess that doesn’t apply to who they are now, but they hardly dealt with it. /end spoiler/ Also, both Silas and Charlie ignored each other at random times.

3. The what the fuck is happening factor of the book is negative. I totally understand that this book is part of a serial and is technically not an entire book in itself, but it felt like such a huge filler. Lots of the things that happened here seemed unnecessary since almost nothing was explained. The only useful chapters were the first (their meeting, of course) and the last (the bridge to the second installment).

Overall, while this book did intrigue me (because nothing was answered), I was shaking my head and rolling my eyes throughout my reading experience. This was not what it could have been…

pagebreak

Skulls 2

2 skulls

pagebreak

Liked this review? You also find it on Goodreads.
Liked this post? Follow us on Bloglovin’.

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

14 thoughts on “Mini Review: Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

  1. Yeah… I’ll just wait until the second book comes out. If I even want to read it by then. I’ve heard too many bad things about this one, but since it’s a CoHo book I still may give it a chance. Great mini review/rant haha.

    Like

  2. I’m really not sure whether I want to read it. If I’m being completely honest I’ve never really been a fan of Colleen Hoover’s work — or really, that whole “new adult” category in general — and I know judgemental characters are going to get on my nerves. =/ Thanks for the honesty!

    Like

  3. I agree 100% The book had that WTF was happening! I didn’t understand why this and that happened, nothing at all was answered….it was so stretched out. This was just an instruction for the book, it could have been a novella or something but yeah…I had a bad feeling about those two becoming co-writers. HAHA

    http://www.lite-rate-ture.com

    Like

  4. I’m so confused about this book. On one hand I liked it and on another hand I didn’t. In the end it all comes down to I think it shouldn’t have been split and that if it had all been one book we would have gotten so many answers and much more character and relationship developments that would have answered SO MANY QUESTIONS!

    Like

  5. Damn, this is disappointing! Usually, I find that the strongest aspect of Colleen Hoover’s books is the romance (she does such excellent banter). It definitely sucks that this one borders on instalove :(

    Like

  6. Pretty sure I am skipping this one. I haven’t been hearing a lot of positives, and the negatives you mentioned? Deal breakers. Potential insta-love AND an unlikable main character? Never, never. (HA, sorry, I had to!) Great review!

    Like

  7. Another two stars! I’m not alone! I rated this either 2 or 2.5 stars because there was nothing going on. Like you said, it was a filler of nothing important. And the cliff hanger wasn’t really a cliff hanger to me.

    Like

  8. I’m pretty curious about this, since I’ve enjoyed all of Colleen Hoover’s books I’ve read, but I wasn’t completely sold, given that it wasn’t a whole book, especially. I did end up buying it, because it was 99 cents, but I’ll keep low expectations when I get to it. Maybe part two will be better? :)

    Like

  9. So I’ve never read anything by Colleen Hoover, and I’m not sure which one to try, but it sucks that this one didn’t work out for you. I don’t like judgemental bitches, so I can see where you’re getting at here :(

    Like

  10. Great review. I started this and did quite enjoy it, but had a lot of problems with it to. It’s left me rather confused and unsure how I feel about it. I don’t like Silas and Charlie as love interests because they have such a beyond messed up story and I don’t get their relationship from before they lost their memories. I feel like this could plummet to a 0/5 star book to me if volume 2 doesn’t give any answers. How are they going to come up with a reason they keep losing their memories, one that makes sense?

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

