20757528

Whatever Life Throws at You
by Julie Cross

published on October 7th 2014 by Entangled Teen
new adult | contemporary | romance

find the book on
Goodreads

Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas’s life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major leagues as the new pitching coach for the Kansas City Royals. Now she’s living in Missouri (too cold), attending an all-girls school (no boys), and navigating the strange world of professional sports. But Annie has dreams of her own—most of which involve placing first at every track meet…and one starring the Royals’ super-hot rookie pitcher.

But nineteen-year-old Jason Brody is completely, utterly, and totally off-limits. Besides, her dad would kill them both several times over. Not to mention Brody has something of a past, and his fan club is filled with C-cupped models, not smart-mouthed high school “brats” who can run the pants off every player on the team. Annie has enough on her plate without taking their friendship to the next level. The last thing she should be doing is falling in love.

But baseball isn’t just a game. It’s life. And sometimes, it can break your heart…

REVIEW

Four things you’ll absolutely love about Whatever Life Throws at You:

1. Annie was such a fantabulous protagonist. She was a responsible young woman who didn’t whine or bitch about her life problems. At times, she was also pretty feisty and sassy, which made her character totally relatable. I also adored how passionate she was about running. She also constantly put into consideration other peoples’ feelings and situations, making sure to give way to others. In short, she’s a main character you could definitely use as a role model.

“Pressure is just that–pressure. It’s all in your head. It has nothing to do with what you can or can’t do.”

2. Jason Brody is one swoon-worthy guy. Jason’s the exact opposite of your typical douchebag hero in most new adult novels–he’s sweet, caring and hilarious. He’s also realistic in a way that he made lots of bad choices in the past, but he’s trying everything he can to fix his mistakes and to be a better person.

3. The ship is very shippable. Annie and Jason have so much chemistry together, and you’re going to love them. They have some pretty fun and cute back-and-forth banter. They also went through that friendship stage before being attracted to each other, and it was glorious seeing their relationship progress.

“I’d rather be alone than be head over heels in love. It’s like being drunk. Your IQ drops a hundred points and you make stupid choices.”

4. Family plays a big role in this book. Annie has such a strong bond with her dad, and it was heartwarming to see how much they cared for each other. They pushed each other to be better, and they were always making sure that the other was all good, healthy and happy.

5. FEELS! You are going to feel everything Annie feels–the sadness, the need and the love. There are tears (both happy and sad), laughs and swoons.

pagebreak

Skulls 4

4 skulls

pagebreak

Liked this review? You also find it on Goodreads.
Liked this post? Follow us on Bloglovin’.

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

18 thoughts on “Whatever Life Throws at You by Julie Cross: New Adult at Its Finest

  1. Ahh Aimee I just finshed this one like two weeks ago and I LOVED IT! Ahh Annie was a fabulous protagonist and Brody was swoon worthy and this one did have a beautiful father-daughter relationship. OH MY HEART <3

    Like

  2. This one sounds SO AMAZING. I haven’t heard about it before but your review just describes the perfect book for me and one that I’m absolutely in the mood for at the moment. I like NA but it’s usually just more of the same and the fact that the guy in this book is different sounds GREAT. Also, I’m sure I’ll like the sports aspect of the story. Great review, Aimee, I’ll definitely add this to my TBR.

    Like

  3. OMG YES. Love this book something fierce! I want a Jason Brody of my own, and the father-daughter relationship is fantastic! Her dad should totally get his own book. :)
    Glad you loved it too! Great review. <3

    Like

  4. I thought so too! Annie was a great protagonist and her drama free attitude was a breath of fresh air. Also, Jason was such a cutie *swoons* I loved the friends to lovers part a lot! AND YES!!!!! FAMILY omg give me complicated family relationships but strong bonds regardless! It was so endearing to see her relationship with her dad. Oh lol! I wanted to say that I’d put this in upper YA category but a lot of people classify it as NA so you aren’t off there :)

    Like

    1. This book was easy to chillax with. Not too heavy/annoying like some other contemporaries out there. ;)

      I just add the age group listed on GR. :) I think this is NA because of the college setting, but that’s just me. ^_^

      Like

  5. A shippable ship? WELL, WHAT MORE COULD I ASK FOR?

    I haven’t been reading a lot of NA lately. It’s hit and miss for me sometimes, so I’m always a bit scared of it but I love that the MC here is a role model!!!! In NA they always seem to be huge f*ck ups who make the worst decisions. YAY FOR GOOD PEEPS.

    Like

    1. *nods head vigorously*

      You have to read this, and you’re going to love it! That’s saying something coming from someone who hates 90% of the NA books she reads. xD

      Like

  6. Oooooh swoony guy and amazing ship? I AM SO SOLD. I don’t read much NA but this one seems to be excellent so I’ll have to give it a shot.

    Lovely review, girly <33

    Like

  7. I read a Julie Cross book a while back, Letter to Nowhere, and it had such great relationships. I had no idea she had written another book, but people have been praising this one a lot. And I do love a nice love interest. :D Great review, Aimee!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

