18505845

All Lined Up by Cora Carmack

Rusk University, book #1
published on May 13th 2014 by William Morrow Paperbacks
new adult | contemporary | romance

find the author on
Goodreads | website | Twitter

find the book on
Goodreads

In Texas, two things are cherished above all else—football and gossip. My life has always been ruled by both.

Dallas Cole loathes football. That’s what happens when you spend your whole childhood coming in second to a sport. College is her time to step out of the bleachers, and put the playing field (and the players) in her past.

But life doesn’t always go as planned. As if going to the same college as her football star ex wasn’t bad enough, her father, a Texas high school coaching phenom, has decided to make the jump to college ball… as the new head coach at Rusk University. Dallas finds herself in the shadows of her father and football all over again.

Carson McClain is determined to go from second-string quarterback to the starting line-up. He needs the scholarship and the future that football provides. But when a beautiful redhead literally falls into his life, his focus is more than tested. It’s obliterated.

Dallas doesn’t know Carson is on the team. Carson doesn’t know that Dallas is his new coach’s daughter.

And neither of them know how to walk away from the attraction they feel.

REVIEW

***Some spoilers for the sake of ranting.

Where do I even start? I’ve enjoyed quite a lot of books with sports and romance mixed together, so I guess I did set the bar high for this book. And, clearly, it was a huge disappointment.

All Lined Up took insta-lust, insta-attraction and insta-love to entirely new levels. Hell, Dallas and Carson kissed during their first meeting. Wonderful, isn’t it? And yes, he did have his hand up her skirt that time! The I love yous came on pretty early as well, although it was mostly just implied. I couldn’t get over how much they loved each other’s smell–blegh.

“I can smell him. Over the sticky September air, over the chlorine from the pool that is apartment overlooks, over everything.”

Romance aside, I still can’t find much to like about this book. Dallas acted like a whiny teenage girl, getting mad and upset of over the most shallow reasons. Another hot-and-cold character that didn’t work out for me, sadly.

Carson could’ve been an okay character, but unfortunately, Dallas had him wrapped up around her finger. He was way too enamored with her and I just couldn’t understand why.

The romance took over the whole story. There was lots of potential for lots of father/daughter love that wasn’t fully explored. There were a couple of scenes where I loved Dallas’ dad and their relationship, but it could’ve had a much bigger role in the story. Dallas and Carson also each had their own hobbies (dancing and football) that weren’t given much of a spotlight.

The writing wasn’t for me, either. There was a lot more telling than showing–Carson and Dallas often had these completely random heart-to-heart talks where their dialogues were entire full-length paragraphs of their lives. Some words and phrases were repetitive, and while that might not bother some, it bothers me.

So I don’t know if I’ll be trying out another Carmack book in the near future. Probably not.

pagebreak

Skulls 1

1 skull

pagebreak

Liked this review? You also find it on Goodreads.
Liked this post? Follow us on Bloglovin’.

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

13 thoughts on “Review: All Lined Up by Cora Carmack

  1. I was unlikely to pick this book up before because I didn’t really like her other book (Losing It or sth), but now I’m convinced I’m definitely not going to like this one…whiny, volatile protagonists are seriously the worst

    Like

  2. I could pretty much tell from the blurb it was going to end up in happily ever after, so I decided not to worry about spoilers :-P This sounds like everything I hate in a book, I’m glad you’ve warned me away from it!

    Like

  3. Ouch. I haven’t read this book, but I have read another book by Cormack, Losing It, and I liked that quite a bit. Maybe this is one of her earlier books, because insta-love was definitely not a part of Losing It. I hope you give Cora Cormack another chance, Aimee, I believe she can write some compelling stuff. Sorry you didn’t enjoy this one.

    Like

  4. There’s a whole lot on insta’s going on up in here, and that is NEVER a good thing. It really grinds my gears whenever authors use cliches as a crutch to try and trick readers into thinking that their story is comparable to other writers who’ve succeeded in incorporating these elements into their books (in a good way).

    Carmel @ Rabid Reads

    Like

  5. Aside that this book obviously is not for me, that gif! I couldn’t stop laughing for a couple of minutes. But yeah whiny girls are such a turn off and I cannot stand them in books anymore. I totally understand how you felt about this and I’m staying away from it. Great review,girl :)

    Like

  6. Oh what a bummer! I actually really enjoyed Cora’s other NA (Losing It I believe) so it’s rather disappointing to hear that this one sucked so much. I absolutely abhor insta-love sooooo much gah, and when it’s not even done properly? Nope, probably not even going to bother with this book. Thanks for the honest review Aimee, I’m not a fan of sport books – they haven’t worked out for me yet..

    Like

  7. I wasn’t going to read this book anyways because it’s romance and sports, but I’m sorry you didn’t end up liking it. BUT WOW insta-love to a whole new level? I can see that. Ah well I hope your next read is better Aimee!!

    Like

  8. U KNOW LIKE??? TBH I can’t remember if Siiri said to read this or not. I just remember that the cover was HEINOUS LOL But I don’t want this weird insta love thingy either. AAAH and telling over showing?? The big no no. I wish their actual hobbies and lives were explored, as opposed to it just being a story of the two TOGETHER. Yeah, I don’t think this one is for me. Thanks for the honest review, Aimee!<3

    Like

  9. Uhm…the romance seems pretty bad by the looks of it. I definitely wouldn’t like this either myself ugh.

    Nice review, Aimee <33

    Like

  10. Bwaahaha best review I’ve read in months!! Thanks for enduring the pain for all potential readers of this book :D I always thought Cora Cormack was one of the best NA writers of all time, so my expectations on this book were pretty high. too bad it turned out to be a train wreck for you. omg, I’m still laughing about wording –it’s priceless! :D :D

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

