16140841

Perfect Couple by Jennifer Echols

Superlatives, book #2
published on January 13th 2015 by Simon Pulse
young adult | contemporary | romance

find the author on
Goodreads 

find the book on
Goodreads

Can your heart be put to a popular vote?

As yearbook photographer, Harper is responsible for capturing those candid moments that make high school memorable. But her own life is anything but picture perfect. Her parents’ bitter divorce has left her wondering what a loving relationship would look like. And ever since the senior class voted her and star quarterback Brody the “Perfect Couple That Never Was,” her friends have been on her case to ask Brody out.

Brody doesn’t lack in female admirers, but Harper can’t see herself with him. He seems confused about why they were matched together, too. They’re total opposites—the last people in the world who would ever be compatible, let alone the “perfect couple.” Yet ever since the class paired the two of them, they’ve found themselves drawn together–first by curiosity, then by an undeniable bond.

The trouble is, though they’re very attracted to each other and both of them admit this, they have a hard time getting along or even communicating clearly. If they’re the perfect couple, this shouldn’t be so difficult! Soon it becomes clear their class was wrong, and they throw in the towel. But after they walk away, both of them feel so changed from making the effort that they can’t forget each other. What if that means this match made in hell is the perfect couple after all?

REVIEW

***Some spoilers for the sake of ranting.

From the moment I flipped open Perfect Couple, to the moment I closed the damned thing, I couldn’t stop rolling my eyes. I had lots of problems with this one–some minor ones, and some that are pretty major…

WTF is up with the romance?

It pains me to say this, but it’s undeniable–the romance made my heart hurt. In a bad way. See, Harper (the heroine) got really, really obsessed with Brody when she found out they were voted “Perfect Couple that Never Was.” She started flirting with him (while she had a boyfriend), and eventually cheated on her boyfriend with him. Oh, and did I mention Brody had a sort-of girlfriend at the time?

The romance really came out of nowhere–sure, these two are flirty with each other a lot, but that’s naturally how teens of the opposite sex treat each other–suddenly, they’re kissing on the beach! Wowza.

What happened to the young adults?

Harper and Brody sounded (and acted) like children. I mentioned in my review of Biggest Flirts that I loved the authenticity of the main characters (and their few moments of maturity), but I didn’t feel any character development from the ones in this book at all. They were impulsive, bratty and inconsiderate from the beginning of the book to the end.

Stereotyping sucks.

Most of the bothersome characters in this book are portrayed horribly. Take the ‘jock’ (Brody) for example–he’s a hot-and-cold douche who has his many adventures with various girls. Blegh. I don’t understand why so many people find that attractive, but I find this to be stereotypical and really annoying.

Verdict:

Originally, I gave this book two stars once I finished it, but the longer I got into this review, the more I realized how this wasn’t for me. I’ll still be anticipating the next book since it features my favorite characte from the sereis, but I’ll keep my expectations to a minimum.

pagebreak

Skulls 1

1 skull

pagebreak

Liked this review? You also find it on Goodreads.
Liked this post? Follow us on Bloglovin’.

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

17 thoughts on “Review: Perfect Couple by Jennifer Echols

  1. Oh no, this sounds like it was awful to read and something that I would hate as well! I so rarely enjoy over the top romances, and romances that are done badly are so painful to read. What is up with all the books I’ve come across lately with people cheating on each other??? I normally never read contemporary novels, but I’ve found some that I really enjoyed. Great review and definitely not going anywhere near this book! xD

    Like

  2. Well, this sounds awful! I am so sorry that it was such a disappointment for you :( I can see why it did though! I mean, talk about unlikable characters. I mean, just break up with your significant others for goodness sake. Definitely not a group of positive role models here. Also, I do not like that Harper got so obsessed. That just reeks of desperation, and no one wants that! Great review, I hope the next one works out better for you since your favorite character is in it!

    Like

    1. Definitely agree with you, Shannon! How hard is it to break up before doing your thing? x_x Harper just creeped me out from the start of the book to the end. :(

      I hope so, too! <3

      Like

  3. Ugh I hate those ‘bad boys’ or ‘jocks’ who are hot and cold and often play it to their advantage! It’s like an excuse to be a douche, and I hate those girls who fling themselves all over them as well. This does not sound like a book for me! Great honest review Aimee.

    Like

    1. I KNOW! I haven’t met any of those in real life, either, which is why it bothers me so much to read about them in books. -_- Thanks for stopping by, Jeann! <3

      Like

  4. I’m excited for Kaye and Sawyer, but this earns a two for me as well. I disliked the cheating aspect, not to mention that Kennedy was an annoying boyfriend, but Harper was pretty bratty too. It was like a contest to see who could be more annoying than the other. :/

    Like

    1. Yes! Ugh, Kennedy made me want to fling my phone across the room. I was expecting Harper to be more mature, but she really wasn’t–what a shame. HAHAHA, I guess it was. ;P

      Like

  5. :O oh NOO. I was so excited to read this :( AIMEE, I LOVED Biggest Flirts! I was anticipating even more maturity from Perfect Couple, but obsession? Kiss on thy beach after a few flirtatious words? CHEATING?

    Jennifer Echols, what have you DONE?

    Like

  6. YES!! *high fives* Harper was staring at pictures of him for an insanely long time. Brody is kind of a jerk (IMO) who has really feeble and lame excuses for everything. They totally acted like children. Harper’s all “He’s with his girlfriend so I’m going to revenge kiss _____.” Can’t remember his name right now… Echols tried to mash up the stereotypes and make it different. It annoyed me to no end. This book was just dreadful, I couldn’t agree more with this review! Wonderful review <33

    Like

  7. So. I’ve read numerous “flail-worthy” reviews for this book. But you’re the only who manages to pull me back. Is it because we are book twins separated at birth? That you know exactly what will drive me nuts? Yes. Yes, I do believe we are. Needless to say, I think I’ll pass for now.

    Like

  8. I’m going to sound really horrible for a second and say… I love your negative reviews, Aimee. I just LOVE them. Your snark is the champion.

    See, it’s books like this that make me so cynical of YA romances. I have no idea how you managed to read through this entire book, because I would have given up with that kind of shitty romance in the story. Cheating is a HUGE no-no (even though it is a very realistic problem — I just don’t like how it seems like the author is condoning it in this book), and I get the feeling that Harper is a very slappable kind of girl. And Brody, too. Does no one in this book have morals??

    Bratty, immature teenagers, ftw! Those characters only have one thing going for them. They make me feel like a good, responsible adult for once.

    Yep. Never going near this book, even though it sounded like it could’ve been such a fun, fluffy read. Sorry you had to go through such torture, Aimee! D:

    Like

  9. Oh dear, it’s such a shame that this one didn’t work for you at all! The romance doesn’t seem appealing at all D: I wasn’t sure about this series, so now I’m no longer sure if I’ll bother with this series.

    Great review, Aimee <33

    Like

  10. Oh god, this sounds absolutely horrible. I absolutely hate stereotyping, and it sounds like this book just has the worst case of it… And the characters were like children? Ew no. Definitely avoiding this…

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

