DEADLY CHRISTMAS - PAULA

A Deadly Christmas is a series of 2014 debut author features (quick interviews, reviews and giveaways) hosted by Deadly Darlings. Check out the full schedule here.

I’ve talked to Paula lots of times, and this woman’s fantastic and sweet! Let’s give her a warm welcome, shall we? *applause* But instead of talking about her debut, The Art of Lainey, Paula’s here chat about her upcoming release, Liars, Inc!

DEADLY CHRISTMAS BOOK

18009950

Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes

published on March 24th 2015 by HarperTeen
young adult | contemporary | mystery

find the book on
Goodreads

pre-order the book on
Book Depository | Amazon

It all starts with one little lie…

Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell lies to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a little money and liven up a boring senior year. With the help of his friends Preston and Parvati, Max starts a business providing forged permission slips and cover stories for the students of Vista Palisades High. Liars, Inc. they call it. Suddenly everybody needs something and the cash starts pouring in. Who knew lying could be so lucrative?

When Preston wants his own cover story to go visit a girl he met online, Max doesn’t think twice about hooking him up. Until Preston never comes home. Then the evidence starts to pile up—terrifying clues that lead the cops to Preston’s body. Terrifying clues that point to Max as the murderer.

Can Max find the real killer before he goes to prison for a crime he didn’t commit?

DEADLY CHRISTMAS INTERVIEW

Recommend your book!

I would recommend my book to fans of I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga, White Cat by Holly Black, Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn and Get Even by Gretchen McNeil. I also think fans of the TV show How to Get Away With Murder would like it because it has a similar group of conniving students plotting things and getting in way over their heads.

 Why will readers enjoy your book?

You guys will definitely enjoy my book because Max and Parvati start out flawed but go through major character development throughout the novel. Also, the romance doesn’t overshadow the plot and Max doesn’t fall into the trap of obsessing about his girlfriend issues when there are more important concerns at hand–like not going to prison for murder.

You’ve decided you want to become a super secret agent/spy. What would your alias be? (And just because I’m sure we’re all curious–what do you think your first assignment would be?)

My alias would be Siren, because I’d be super manipulative and because I love the ocean. And my first assignment would be to infiltrate an evil ring of book piraters and use my powers of persuasion to convince them to shut down their sites and start new ones promoting legal book buying and borrowing. :)

If your main character could pick one superpower to have, what would it be and why?

Max is so not about saving the world. I’d say his power of choice would be invisibility, but as that average boy dozing off in the back of the classroom, he already feels invisible for the most part. I guess because he’s in trouble with the FBI, his superpower would be super-intelligence so he can figure out who set him up. Either that or time travel so he could go back to when his dad was alive and see him again.

Compare your book to any dessert.

Liars, Inc. is like Devil’s Food Cake. It’s dark, delicious, and a little bit evil.

DEADLY CHRISTMAS T&L

Can you guess which of these facts about Lori is actually a lie?

1. I have a shark’s tooth pendant that I bought after a surfing lesson in Hawaii, when our instructor made us leave the water because he saw a tiger shark.
2. I used to daydream about being a CIA operative, just like Parvati does.
3. One of Max’s Korean baby sisters is named after my real life cousin…and I haven’t told her yet.
Answer (highlight): #3 was a joke! Did you believe it? xD

DEADLY CHRISTMAS AUTHOR ABT

Paula Stokes

stalk Paula through her social media accounts!
Twitter | Instagram | FacebookGoodreads | Website

When she’s not working (rare), she’s kayaking, hiking, reading, or seeking out new adventures in faraway lands. She’s petted tigers, snuggled snakes, snorkeled with stingrays, and once enjoyed the suction-cuppy feel of a baby elephant’s trunk as it ate peanuts from her palm. Her future goals include diving with Great White sharks, learning Krav Maga, and writing a whole slew of novels, not necessarily in that order.

DEADLY CHRISTMAS GIVEAWAY

You guys can win an ARC of Liars, Inc.! Fabulous right? And yes, this giveaway is open internationally!

Enter

pagebreak

Have you read/added Liars, Inc. to your TBR? Did you guess Paula’s fib correctly? Thoughts on the interview? Feeling lucky for the giveaway?

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

Advertisements

28 thoughts on “A Deadly Christmas: Paula Stokes

  1. I love the cover for Liars, Inc. SO FREAKING MUCH. Something about it just chills me to the bone, yet makes it look so interesting that I want it on my shelf right now. And the premise is also something totally original! I haven’t read any of the books Paula mentioned, though, so I should probably get to them ASAP — especially I Hunt Killers, because I have that on my Kindle. :P And FINALLY, here’s an author who understands the pain readers go through whenever the romance overshadows the entire book. I am so glad that that won’t happen here! And character development is always a huge plus.

    Haha, I totally failed for the two-truths-one-lie thing. xD All of them sounded so believable!

    Like

  2. Okay, the cover itself is creeping me out, I don’t know how creepy the story will be…*shudders* but YAY for romance not overshadowing the plot! :D

    Like

  3. I don’t know why when I first saw this book I didn’t think that it would be for me, but when I saw the opening lines that fans of Gone Girl would enjoy this one, I was convinced to give this book a go! Also I love it when characters show great character development in a story. Thanks for sharing this great post with us! :)

    Like

  4. I’m super excited to read Liars Inc., even though I have a feeling it will stress me out big time. This is definitely completely different from The Art of Lainey though, with MURDER and MYSTERY, and all that fun stuff. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  5. Very excited to read Liars. Inc especially hearing how it’ll be perfect for fans of Gone Girl and HTGWM! Plus, I love mystery ;D Yay for character development too and I like that the romance isn’t going to be overwhelming. Fingers crossed I love it!

    Like

  6. I WANT TO READ THIS SO BAD IT’S RIDICULOUS. Also: devil’s food cake. Yes, gimme cake please. And I’d take invisibility too. Then I could steal cake from everyone. MWAHAHAHA EVIL PLANS.

    (Side note: that cover . . . I swear I’ve seen that stock image floating everywhere lately. Am I going crazy? I think I’ve even got it on one of my Pinterest boards!)

    Like

  7. I didn’t read Paula’s first book, but I’ve been dying to get my hands on an ARC of this one. It seems like it’s going to be a little suspenseful, and I am working on reading more books like that.

    Thanks for the chance to win! :)

    Like

  8. Wooohooo! I never win at these, but like they say, “you can’t win if you don’t play.” I loved I Hunt Killers but absolutely loathed Gone Girl (DNT that book). Since this book is compared to both I wonder where I’ll stand. It sounds really good.

    Like

  9. I need an ARC of Liars so badly. I hope I win but if not, I’ll be excited to read it when it comes out. Looking forward to more giveaways so thanks for this one!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s