DEADLY CHRISTMAS - HEATHER

A Deadly Christmas is a series of 2014 debut author features (quick interviews, reviews and giveaways) hosted by Deadly Darlings. Check out the full schedule here.

Let’s welcome yet another author who published TWO books (debut included) in 2014–Heather Demetrios! *claps*

DEADLY CHRISTMAS BOOK

15789443

Something Real by Heather Demetrios

published on February 4th 2014 by Henry Holt BYR
young adult | contemporary | romance

find the book on
Goodreads

purchase the book on
Amazon

There’s nothing real about reality TV.

Seventeen-year-old Bonnie™ Baker has grown up on TV—she and her twelve siblings are the stars of one-time hit reality show Baker’s Dozen. Since the show’s cancellation and the scandal surrounding it, Bonnie™ has tried to live a normal life, under the radar and out of the spotlight. But it’s about to fall apart…because Baker’s Dozen is going back on the air. Bonnie™’s mom and the show’s producers won’t let her quit and soon the life she has so carefully built for herself, with real friends (and maybe even a real boyfriend), is in danger of being destroyed by the show. Bonnie™ needs to do something drastic if her life is ever going to be her own—even if it means being more exposed than ever before.

DEADLY CHRISTMAS INTERVIEW

Recommend your book!

I would recommend Exquisite Captive to fans of Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor and Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo.
I would recommend Something Real to fans of Open Road Summer by Emery Lord.

 Why will readers enjoy your book?

You guys will definitely enjoy my book because they are about girls who are trying to break free, have fun book boyfriends, are fast-paced, and touch on deeper issues.

You caught one of your characters eating the last slice of pizza. Which character is this, and why was there pizza in the first place?

It would definitely be Josh from I’ll Meet You There, which comes out on 02-02-15. He’s a Marine and he’d pretty much take down anyone who came between him and food when he’s hungry. And there’s pizza because he works in a roadside motel and they don’t have a kitchen, so everything has to be ordered in.

Which of your main characters is least likely to give gifts during Christmas and why?

Nalia from Exquisite Captive is least likely to give gifts during Christmas because she’s a jinni and the whole Christmas thing is over her head. Also, there’s no way in hell she’d get her master a Christmas present.

What would you do if one of your characters suddenly leaped out of your book?

Well, it would definitely depend on the character—Nalia is a trained killer, so I’d certainly be wary of her. I’d probably want to first make sure I wasn’t dreaming and then after that, we’d hang out. If it was Nalia or someone from the Dark Caravan Cycle, I’d ask them what they want to do in Book 3, which I’m currently writing.

DEADLY CHRISTMAS T&L

Can you guess which of these facts about Lori is actually a lie?

1. I almost drowned in the Great Barrier Reef.
2. I saw a ritual goat sacrifice in India.
3. My sister, my grandfather, and I all have the same birthday.
Answer (highlight): #1 is a lie! Oops!

DEADLY CHRISTMAS AUTHOR ABT

Heather Demetrios

stalk Heather through her social media accounts!
Twitter | InstagramFacebook | PinterestTumblrGoodreads | Website

When she’s not traipsing around the world or spending time in imaginary places, Heather Demetrios lives with her husband in New York City. Originally from Los Angeles, she now calls the East Coast home.

pagebreak

Have you read/added any of Heather’s books to your TBR? Did you guess her lie correctly? Thoughts on the interview?

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

9 thoughts on “A Deadly Christmas: Heather Demetrios

  1. Hah, funny to think Nalia is the least to give out a gift considering she’s a jinni ;) I’m not sure how they are in their true mythology (I only know of the blue cartoon version) but I’ve known them to be generous, no? ;) Haha! I stil need to finish Exquisite Captive >.<

    Faye at The Social Potato

    Like

  2. Something Real ended up on a lot of peeps top 10 lists in 2014 which is pretty crazy considering the book came out in February. I guess that only goes to show that it was super memorable. And, that’s the first good lie that I’ve come across during this event in that it would have been scary horrible had it been true!

    Carmel @ Rabid Reads

    Like

  3. I always forget about Exquisite Captive; I’ll have to check it out! Something Real should be in my mailbox this week, and I’m so excited to read it :D And I have I’ll Meet You There preordered (actually won it – yay!), but I didn’t realize it was released so soon. I’m so ready to get into that one as well.

    Like

  4. I am in love with HD’s books! Something Real and I’ll Meet You There both received rare five stars from me – they are just so stunning. I’ve held off on reading Exquisite Captive because of the love triangle, but I really don’t want to. I want to read all of her words!
    Thanks for sharing this fun interview, Aimee!

    Like

  5. I absolutely love Something Real and it was really fun to learn more about the author! And I totally guessed that lie correctly whooooop.

    Lovely interview, Aimee <33

    Like

  6. I actually thought #3 would be a lie, but that’s cool! I have three friends who have the same birthday so it’s really easy to remember ;) For some reason the fact that Something Real and Exquisite Captive were written by the same author never registers with me. I can’t wait to read them both though!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

