DEADLY CHRISTMAS INTRO

A Deadly Christmas is a series of 2014 debut author features (quick interviews, reviews and giveaways) hosted by Deadly Darlings. Check out the full schedule here.

Belated Merry Christmas, everyone! And happy holidays! <3 So here we are, sharing the stuff we did this Christmas plus photos of our bookhauls!

AIMEE

So this year, we had another family get together for Christmas. My family from the father’s side all came to our place and we played a game (Beat the Parents–has anyone else played that?) and then ate tons of food. I still feel quite bloated, really. I got a few memorable gifts, so thanks to everyone who gifted! My friends and I also had a no-book policy this year (we wanted to give unique gifts), so this haul’s mostly from my parents and grandma. More are coming this January when I have my exchange gift celebration with cousins (I’ll post those on Instagram)! Here’s the haul so far:

Xmas

DYAN

We didn’t really do anything special as a whole family this Christmas, since each family is going somewhere different. So we basically just had a really, really chaotic dinner! ;)

books2

ZOE

For this Christmas I was fortunate enough to spend a ton of time with my family. My aunt, uncle and cousin and grandparents traveled, where we all met up at my house for a fabulous Christmas dinner and exchanged presents.

I hope you all received a ton of wonderful books and that you all had a wonderful Christmas spent with your families and loved ones.

books

MARGA

The thing about your birthday being celebrated near Christmas is that you get joint gifts. It’s awful LOL. Anyway, I still thank my parents for giving me the money to buy some of the books and also some people for giving me some of them.

We always celebrate our Christmas having a mini family reunion. I get to see some of my aunts and uncles on my father’s side. Anyway, we had games and did some fun stuff and it was so much fun. And of course, after all the craziness, I just went away and read something. I reread Clockwork Princess and it’s still so beautiful. I cried again. Seriously it’s one of my favorite series of all time.

MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE!

20141226_102232 20141226_102432

pagebreak

So how do you guys spend Christmas? Any noteworthy books in your hauls?

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

19 thoughts on “A Deadly Christmas: Christmas! (+Bookhauls!)

  1. I love seeing which books people got for Xmas!! I got a fair few books under the tree. Itching to get reading them! Heh heh. Happy Holidays!!! Xx

    Like

  2. I haven’t heard of beat the parents, but I’m definitely going to have to check it out!

    So many awesome books you all got! I LOVED This Song Will Save Your Life, Mara Dyer, The One and Shatter Me! And there’s a bunch that I can’t wait to read :)

    Merry Christmas ladies!

    Like

  3. Nice hauls, ladies!! Enjoy your books and Happy Holidays!!

    @Aimee I can’t wait to read your thoughts on Mara Dyer and In the Afterlight

    @Dyan Ooh Crown of Midnight, SLA, and Kiss of Deception?! Nice!!

    @Zoe ooh I’ll Give You The Sun?? I’ve heard wonderful things about that one.

    @Marga Clockwork Princess always brings the waterworks… I LOVE Richelle Mead’s books, enjoy!

    Like

  4. LOVE YOUR HAULS GUYS! I wish I had a haul to showcase alas I’m under a strict book-buying ban policy that I issued on to myself. It gives me the chance to read my “abandoned” books AND save a lot of money ha. Hope you girls had a lovely Christmas! :D

    Like

  5. I got The Testing book set from my darling sister (I already knew though because I was going to get her the book set and mom told me not to… Very suspicious) then I got The Young Elites from my dad, which unfortunately I already own. I feel really bad about it though (are you supposed to tell people when you already have it?!?!) But it was still sweet and it’s cool th that that he remembered that I like Marie Lupus. I also got a Kindle Fire *happy dance!!* My sister kept asking for a Fire and I kept telling her that our parents would never get us one. My parents are sort of anti-technology, so I honestly haven’t thought of it happen. But it did!!! :)
    Merry Christmas Aimee, Dyan, Marga, and Zoe!!

    Like

  6. MERRRY CHRISTMAS LOVELIES! <3 I hope it was spent with good company! <3

    AND LOOK AT ALL THOSE BOOKS. My family totally is against supporting my love for literary works LOL I got like…one book? The Perilous Sea. AND NOW I'M MARATHONING THEM AND OH GOD, SO GOOD. Apart from that, they believe in supporting my love for clothing and cosmetics. Which I'm totally all game for as well. But a book wouldn't have hurt. IN FACT, I welcome being hurt by feelings. That's my favourite kind of book hahaha <3

    Like

  7. Looks like you all got some awesome books! I didn’t get any this year, but I don’t normally. I tend to just get gift cards to go out and buy my own stuff since nobody really knows what books I’d like bets. My Christmas was alright…pretty low-key. I like the days around the holiday when I can hang out with friends and see people I haven’t seen in awhile. :)

    -lauren
    http://www.shootingstarsmag.blogspot.com

    p.s. Hosting a discussion themed giveaway if you all want to join!

    Like

  8. Merry Christmas to you all!! Such an amazing bunch of books, I am drooling over Zodiac and The Kiss of Deception ;) It is so nice to hear that you all had such lovely holidays with your families! (And Marga, I always felt SO bad for people with birthdays near Christmas! They definitely get the short straw! At least you still had a lovely time!)

    Like

  9. Awesome hauls this girls, but more importantly, I hope you all enjoyed the day. I was so lucky this Christmas and was completely spoiled with books. It’ll take me months to get through them all. Ooh, you’ve both got My True Love Gave to Me! I really need to grab a copy, is that the one with the pretty blue cover underneath? Sooooo pretty.

    Hope you all had a fabulous Christmas poppets and I wish you all a safe and happy new year <3

    Like

  10. I got a few books from my wishlist. SHADOWFELL and WILDWOOD DANCING by Juliet Marillier, Waistcoats and Weaponry by Gail carriger and a cool Frankenstein graphic novel and Blythewood and Illusions of Fate. Merry late Christmas ladies.

    Like

  11. WOAH I LOVE THE BOOKS THAT ALL OF YOU GOT FOR CHRISTMAS. THEY LOOK FABULOUS *throws confetti*
    Ignite Me, and My True Love Gave To Me were awesome, so I hope you enjoy them. <3

    Like

  12. Aimee: Haha, Christmas dinner was fun, but I think I ate too much as well. O_O It’s impossible to resist roasted chicken, mashed potatoes and Swedish meatballs, though. And I have the same policy with my family! But only because I have way too many books to read right now and don’t need anymore. So I guess it was a win-win situation, since my reading pile remained — mostly — the same, and we managed to get each other cool, unique presents! BUT AIMEEEE. That’s such a sweet haul. I am hoping above all hopes that you love This Song Will Save Your Life. I adored that one. It was so, so honest and so heartwarming. <3 And the cover's gorgeous, too! As for The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer… I think I was one of the rare few who didn't enjoy it as much as others did, because the romance pissed me of. I seem to be the black sheep, though, so you might have better luck with it. xD

    Dyan: We did something a tad bit special this Christmas (by having a huge chunk of the family over for dinner), so everything was chaotic and super busy, too. I'm glad you had those awesome books to keep things special! I didn't much like The Kiss of Deception, but like Mara Dyer, I was the black sheep with my opinion. And eeep, Snow Like Ashes — been hearing loads of good stuff about it. Can't wait to read it, too!

    Zoe: ROSE UNDER FIRE! UNBROKEN! Sorry for the caps, but daaaanggg, I loved those two to bits. Even though I read Unbroken ages ago, I can still remember quite a bit of the story now, and it was truly awe-inspiring — even more so because the story is true. :O And Rose Under Fire was the second book to make me cry, ever, so it kinda holds a special place in my heart, haha. And gah, I'm jealous of I'll Give You the Sun! It's been getting a lot of great reviews, so I'm hoping that you end up loving it as well!

    Marga: Lol, times like this, I'm thankful I wasn't born too close to Christmas. :P And wow, you cried while reading Clockwork Princess? Must get to that book soon, then! I still have to read TMI, but I'm not sure I want to because people seem to be on the fence about it, eh. And I must be the only person left on Earth who hasn't read Vampire Diaries yet. I know, I know, I'm so behind. But I read the first few chapters in a bookstore and totally fell in love with Rose's character, and now… I WANT TO BE HER BEST FRIEND.

    This comment is quite late, but I hope all of you girls had a wonderful Christmas with your friends and family! And of course, enjoy all those awesome new books. ;D MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

    Like

  13. Wow, you guys all got amazing hauls for christmas! I tend not to ask for books then, because I prefer to get them by myself and save it for other things during that time. I spent Christmas with family as well, having a big meal and chats.

    Aimee, that Beat the Parents game sounds interesting! Your book photos are always so clean and beautiful.

    Dyan, you got some REALLY FANTASTIC books in your haul, I mean Crown of Midnight and Snow Like Ashes!

    Zoe, so glad you were able to have the big Christmas dinner with the family. I have heard fantastic things about I’ll give You the Sun and Shatter Me!

    Marga, YAY you got the VA series which are some of my favourites! At least you did get money to buy stuff, and belated happy birthday as well.

    Like

  14. Sorry I’m so late to this. I think I need to add your blog to my email because there were sooooooooo many bloggers doing extra holiday and year end posts, I gave up on my Bloglovin’ feed for a while. It was giving me a headache trying to figure out which posts to visit. I have The Body Electric and was excited to read it because I loved the Across the Universe trilogy, but I have been seeing mostly meh reviews. It has slipped down on my tbr. The Mara Dyer books! Yes, I worship the first two books, but I haven’t read Retribution yet. Retribution is pretty high up on my to reads. In the Afterlight, I adore the cover. If I had read the book last year, it would have been my top cover for 2014. Funny thing is, I was going to put a hardcover of Never Fade in with some books I was offering for a Twitter giveaway, but discovered after looking up In the Afterlight that I had the ebook of Darkest Minds from a free Kindle deal, and now will be keeping it and buying ItA!! I do not know what Beat the Parents is, lol, but I would like to know. My family has Chinese take-out on Christmas Eve and plays Scrabble.

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

