DEADLY CHRISTMAS REVIEW

A Deadly Christmas is a series of 2014 debut author features (quick interviews, reviews and giveaways) hosted by Deadly Darlings. Check out the full schedule here.

Aimee was supposed to post her review today, but unfortunately she’s not feeling well, so here’s my review of Under My Skin!

DEADLY CHRISTMAS BOOK

23382858

Under My Skin by Shawntelle Madison

published on December 9th 2014 (self-published)
young adult | science fiction | dystopia | romance

find the book on
Goodreads

purchase the book on
Amazon

Everyone wants to either be a member of the Guild or work for them. Little does the populace know that the Guild hides sinister secrets…

For Tate Sullivan, life in her small, coastal town is far from glamorous. The affluent lives of the Guild members and their servants isn’t something she has ever wanted. But all sixteen year-olds must take a simple test, and Tate’s result thrusts her into the Guild’s world, one where they hide horrible plans for those they select. Tate must fight the relentless General Dagon for control of her mind, body, and soul to keep the one precious thing she has always taken for granted: herself.

Her only ally is the same handsome boy she is pitted against in General Dagon’s deadly game. Quinn desires nothing more than to end the life of General Dagon who has taken over Tate’s mind. While romance blooms between Tate and Quinn, General Dagon plots to eventually take over Tate’s body, and love might end before it even begins.

REVIEW

Seeing as there were a lot of great reviews , I really really expected to love this book. However, I was disappointed to find out that it was way below my expectations.

The premise was amazing. The idea was very original, and you certainly can’t find another book with the same plot. The world-building, on the other hand, wasn’t so amazing. The book left so much for the readers to imagine and guess about. I couldn’t really grasp where or when the book was set in. I also couldn’t understand what the world was like during that time. Not to mention that there were also too many unanswered questions! Who are the Guild? What are Water Bearers? Who are the invaders? How do the Guild help?

*insert super confused face here*

The characters were flat and really quite irritating. Tate seemed like a girl who had split personalities! One minute she’s cursing the world for giving her a little scar on the face and crying about how no one will ever love her because of it. The next thing you know, she keeps on boasting about how she’s better than everybody else because she reads real books! Quinn was even worse. He was really, really underdeveloped. I felt that he was very out of place and that the book would have been better without him. The only character I did like was General Dagon, because let’s face it, everyone loves a badass villain.

Next is the romance. This is normally the part where I start jumping up and down trying to explain my feels to everyone! For the first time though, I would have preferred that the book had no romance. It felt forced into the book ad extracted NO TINGLY FEELINGS!!! At all!

Lastly, is the writing. The writing wasn’t terrible, but it could have been better. Instead of describing every detail about Tate’s gown or something, the author should have been describing the world around Tate!

All in all, I really disliked the book. Aside from the idea, it was executed very poorly. However, it could probably appeal to those looking for a book with something new!

VERDICT: 1 star

pagebreak

Have you read/added Under My Skin to your TBR? Or have you read it?

About Dyan

Dyan has the tendency to get irritated with most heroines. It’s just something she’s always been really over-analyzing. She tends to like the heroes/love interests more.

Goodreads | all of Dyan’s posts →

7 thoughts on “A Deadly Christmas: Under My Skin (Review)

  1. Bluuuurgh I haven’t heard of this one before and I’m sorry that you were disappointed. These characters sound HORRID. I definitely would want to rip my hair out–inconsistent characters? JUST NO.

    Lovely review, Dylan! <33

    Like

  2. I actually haven’t heard of this one before – can you tell how out of touch I’ve been with book blogging? xD Like you, I do like the premise, and the sound of General Dragon (badass villain’s FTW) but the other characters… and the writing… and the romance! Tingly feelings is a must. Great review, Dylan!

    Like

  3. Oh dear, the most disappointing thing is when you read a blurb and expect amazing things and then everything about it is a downer! Tate seems really annoying, especially with the boasting, she would really get on my nerves that way. The romance sounds forced as well. I don’t think I would pick this up – thanks for the review Dylan!

    Like

  4. I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy this book Dyan, but I can totally see why you had issues with this book, I think I would be in the same position. Thank you for your honest review!

    Like

  5. Yikes. This sounds pretty awful. I mean, you can’t use a bunch of words like “guild” and “water bearers” and then NOT explain what they are! Are we supposed to be mind readers? Because the guild, in my head, is the Lollipop Guild, and water bearers are literally people dragging buckets of water around. I can’t imagine that is what they actually are. Staying clear of this one, thanks for the great review and the heads up!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

