Discuss Darlings

Come discuss with us! All honesty is honored and treasured.

Sometimes I feel like such a bad reader. A “bad reader” could mean a lot of things. Personally, one of the reasons I call myself a bad reader is because I’m a forgetful reader.

See, in school, we have this thing where we have to read five books a quarter and take a test for each of them at the end of the quarter. In the previous quarter, I took a test for the first Harry Potter book and the first four Percy Jackson and the Olympians books because I was like, hey, I really enjoyed these book so surely I’ll remember them.

Imagine my surprise when I FAILED my test for Battle of the Labyrinth, which I’ve called my all-time favorite book so many times. I only got FOUR out of ten answers correctly, and that was like a stab to the heart. I think I got six out of ten for Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.

So I actually don’t understand how people remember such details in books, like all the die-hard Potter fans who know all the people, the spells, the items… I’m a forgetful person, whether or not I enjoyed a book, and that makes me feel a bit like a bad reader.

pagebreak

Penny for your thoughts? Have you ever felt like you’re a “bad” reader? What’s your definition of a “bad” reader, if any?

pagebreak

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

27 thoughts on “I Am a Bad Reader

  1. I LOVE THE PERCY JACKSON BOOKS TOO! Funnily enough, I’m actually rereading Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth right now – it’s just as amazing as the first time. I’m also a very forgetful reader, I read Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire four years ago and when I reread it this year it was practically like I was reading it for the first time because I couldn’t remember anything besides who died. So, don’t feel too bad about that! :)

    Like

  2. This is me 100%. Sometimes I won’t even realize it until I decide to reread a book for the first time, and I’d read it a long while ago. I’ll find myself remembering things wrong and asking myself, “Did I even read this right??” Because I’ll only retain the smallest things. That’s usually why I have to write my reviews within a day of a book if I want to post about it, otherwise I don’t remember enough to be satisfied with my review.

    Like

  3. Ha, from that logic I’m a terrible reader! I’ve read the first Harry Potter over ten times (I used to reread them back to back constantly as a kid) but I barely remember any of the details. I know there are people that know in what Quidditch game who scored how many points.

    I guess the fun thing about this is that you can reread favourites over and over and still be surprised at all the details you forgot!

    Like

  4. Yeah, but I think Harry Potter’s a different exception. I’ve read them fifty billion times, and there’s this whole community who’s constantly reminding us of the different people and all that sort of stuff. You don’t get that with any other series, really (or standalone). So I don’t think you’re a bad reader – it’s exactly the same for me :D

    Like

  5. I end up forgeting a lot of things from books I’ve read months or years ago. I can only keep the details for a couple of weeks and then it’s gone forever (or until I read the book again lol).

    Like

  6. Don’t feel bad! I’m absolutely forgetful, and books are a bit more exempt from my amnesia, but it happens too. And well, your schoolwork sounds stressful, and reading for school is not the best way to fully enjoy and commit something to memory. Reviewing helps out a little, but the other not so good books aren’t going to stick in my memory.

    For example, I’ve reread Harry Potter so much I could pass a quiz on it, except if it was one for all the really obscure details. And I can also probably score pretty high on a PJO quiz, but not for the heroes of Olympus, because I really enjoyed PJ, but I just ended up disappointed by HoO. :/

    P.S. I noticed your blogroll, and you’ll have to change Notebook Sisters! :D

    Like

  7. I am exactly the same!!! I hate it when the next book in a series comes out, and I have to re-read at least the book before it so I know what’s going on. I’ve read Harry Potter a ridiculously large amount of times, and I’m part of so many fan pages, so I have that fresh in my mind a lot of the time :)

    Like

  8. THIS IS MY LIFE. I CANNOT REMEMBER ANYTHING I FEEL TERRIBLE. When people ask me why I like a book, I get so embarrassed because I say things like “this ummm character called immmm *mumbles* and he does this *mumble mumble mumble*” BECAUSE I CAN’T REMEMBER ANYTHING AT ALL. I have no remedy. I suppose reviewing helps with the details. Apart from that, nada. When I reread, it’s like a whole new experience.

    Like

  9. My brain’s work weird when I love something I can easily remember it at the drop of a hat but if I find it ‘meh’ or bad, I tend to forget about it. Or to be more precise, tries to forget it. But you don’t have to feel bad about it, sometimes it’s so engaging that we keep turning the pages and read it faster than normal therefore missing some details. It happens to me as well. :D

    Like

  10. I do the same thing and used to think of it as a bad thing, but I’ve grown to accept that I’m not going to remember everything about each book I read – there are just too many! Somewhere I read a quote, I won’t try to get it word-for-word, that basically said you can’t possibly remember every book you read, but they still have an impact on your life. I always thought that was very true, because I still find myself remembering little bits of books I read years ago – just the parts that really stuck with me, usually pieces of advice and such. Half the time, I can’t even remember what book they are from, but those books have stuck with me all this time anyway.

    Like

  11. Oh god, I am the same. Absolutely the same. Do you know that feeling where you’ve JUST finished a book and you’re trying to write a review, and you can’t even remember the first name of the main character? But hey, there is nothing wrong with being a forgetful reader! I love to pick up books that I loved years ago and not remembering anything, because that means I get to discover them all over again!

    Like

  12. I was a die hard fan of Harry Potter and I reread the books like twice a year. But then again, I don’t own a lot of books that time and my only choice when I want to read a book is my harry potter books. So I guess that’s one reason why I almost memorized the whole story.

    Before, if you ask me anything Harry Potter related thing, I can answer it confidently and 100% sure. But now, I don’t think so. Of all the books I have read for the past years, I already forgot the small details in Harry Potter unless I reread everything again.

    So, it’s not about being a bad reader if we forgot these details. I’m pretty sure you read loads of books and we don’t have photographic memory. We tend to forgot them but they’re still there, buried in the deepest part of our brains. So don’t feel bad about failing this test, this will never define how much we love our favorite books.

    Like

  13. Ha – I’m actually the exact opposite! I have an odd memory when it comes to books – especially ones I have especially strong opinions about – and somehow manage to remember things from them. But I know that’s definitely not the norm! No one expects you to remember every little detail about a book; and how much you remember about a book definitely doesn’t judge how much you love it either. Thanks for sharing, and fabulous post! <3

    Like

  14. Oh, the last time I felt like a bad reader for being forgetful was when I was visiting my ex’s family and Rhea, the 9 year old absolute Potterhead got to asking me loads of questions and I failed remembering the middle names of Harry’s kids! ;)

    Like

  15. OH MAN. I’m the same. Unless it’s a book I’ve read a billion times, I’m unlikely to remember too many specific details after only 1-2 reads; 3+ there’s a chance for hope. But I also attribute it to my poor memory. LOL.

    Like

  16. Yes, I’ve felt this a few times for books I’ve read. Sometimes, I just don’t remember all those details! Well, perhaps for books that I loved I don’t forget, but for books that I really liked? Chances are I’ll fail the quiz lol

    Like

  17. That’s a shame you’re forgetful, Aimee, but I’m sure a lot of people are. I don’t think a “bad” reader exists – as long as you read, you’re good in my eyes, haha. :)

    Like

  18. Oh Aimee, you’re not a bad reader at all, you’re just a little fuzzy on the details. Recently we had a pop culture trivia night, and I couldn’t even name the dementors. I was so disappointed in myself for calling myself a fan, so I know how you feel! Sometimes I’m a bit hazy on the details of a book too, and I can’t even remember half the time what the protagonist was called. But I think it’s just a side effect of reading too much ^_^

    Like

  19. Don’t feel bad, that doesn’t make you a bad reader. It just means you don’t memorize things the same way other people do. I am the exact same. I have reread Harry Potter about 50 times, no joke, and I still don’t know all the details. I have a terrible memory for that. When you read over a hundred books a year then I think it’s okay to forget the details sometimes! :)

    Like

  20. If the definition of a bad reader is not remembering enough details to pass a test, then I am definitely a bad reader. I even forget character names when I have to write a review! For those I take notes and highlight text on the iPad.

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

