Deadly Digest

1. Highlights.

Aimee: The blog will be a bit slow for the first half of December because EXAMS! November was a pretty uneventful month for me–mostly just planning for Christmas parties and pre-Christmas shopping. Oh, and Marie Lu’s signing, of course, which I attended with Dyan. You can read my recap/rant here (but I still love you, Marie!).

DyanWake up. Go to school. Sleep. Repeat that cycle for about 20 more times and that’s what happened to me this month. The only “exciting” thing that happened to me this month was going to Marie Lu’s book signing! Even that though, was kinda lame… Check out Aimee’s recap to find out what I’m talking about.

2. Featured Books.

[click on the covers to go to the book’s GR page!]

18782855 15768409 20821111

Aimee | Princess of Thorns by Stacey Jay| blog review | Goodreads review

Jay’s Of Beast and Beauty was gorgeous–which is why I didn’t pass up the opportunity to read Princess of Thorns in advance! (It comes out on the 9th!) Although not as amazing as Jay’s other novel, I thoroughly enjoyed the romance and elegant writing.

Marga | The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin | Goodreads review

The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin was fantastic! Now I know why the release date was being back pushed again and again. Anyway, it was a pretty great end for a trilogy because all questions have been answered and it didn’t suck (unlike some trilogies lately)…

Zoe | The Young Elites by Marie Lu | blog review

My favorite book of the month was definitely The Young Elites by Marie Lu. The way Lu intelligently uses an antihero as the protagonist makes the story so much more complex and layered than your typical fantasy, and that made me that much more engrossed in the story.

Dyan | The Young Elites by Marie Lu | blog review

My favorite book of the month would have to be The Young Elites by Marie Lu. I loved it because you could literally feel the emotions that were going through the characters. It was amazing how you can feel Adelina’s sanity slipping away!

4. Reviews.

• The Young Elites (The Young Elites, #1) by Marie Lu | review | 3.5 stars
• The Perilous Sea (The Burning Sky, #2) by Sherry Thomas | review | 4 stars
• Crewel (Crewel World, #1) by Gennifer Albin | review | 2.5 stars
• In the Afterlight (The Darkest Minds, #3) by Alexandra Bracken | review | 2.5 stars
• Movie | Mockingjay (Part One) | review | 2.5 stars
• Princess of Thorns by Stacey Jay | review | 3.5 stars

Average: 2.8 stars

5. Discussions.

• Bookworms! Have you ever done these crazy and not-so-crazy things?
• Bored? Here are 5 bookish things to do when you’re not reading…
• Marie Lu came to the Philippines! Here’s a quick recap and rant of the event.
• Aimee asks: should we make these changes?
6. In the Future.

[most anticipated reads–click the covers to check them out on Goodreads!]

22888864 13138734 16144570 21914535

Aimee | Amour Amour by Krista and Becca Ritchie
Dyan | No Place to Fall by Jaye Robin Brown
Zoe | This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner
Marga | Chasing the Tide by A. Meredith Walters

Things to look forward to in December:

• It’s going to be a deadly Christmas… (author interviews + giveaways!) Schedule to be announced around the 15th.
• Deadly Darlings Ice Breaker (20 Things You Didn’t Know About Us Tag)

UpdatesThe blog is no longer a YA-only fiction blog. We’re opening up to other age groups as well! Now, you’ll be able to find New Adult, Adult and Middle Grade books to love and gush about on the blog!

More updates to come–some are still being talked about between the darlings.

pagebreak

That’s it for this month’s wrap-up, guys! Be sure to leave links to your monthly/weekly summaries for us to check out!

The Deadly Darlings

The four of us bookworms have one thing in common, and that’s our passion for books. We aim to bring awesome reviews, bookish updates and discussions to your feed!

all our posts →

14 thoughts on “Deadly Digest: November

  1. Looking forward to your varied reviews in December! I know my month will probably slow down towards the end of the year, but I’m looking forward to the holiday break for much needed reading.

    Like

  2. Sorry to hear that school’s kicking ass, guys. I’m not too sure about your schedules but at least the holiday season is coming up? AND GOOD LUCK WITH THOSE EXAMS, AIMEE. You’re going to be amazing <3

    AND AMOUR AMOUR YESSSSSSS. That is literally the only december release that I'm looking forward to!

    Like

  3. I’m glad that you were both able to meet Marie this month, although it kind of sucks that you waited so long, only to be shooed along the line really quickly and could only get one book personalised :( I hope your exams go well! Both you and Dyan ended up reading and enjoying books that I’ve only just added to my tbr: The Young Elites and Princess of Thorns, so this makes me even more happy! I hope you all have a wonderful December! :)

    Like

  4. Yay, I’m really looking forward to reviews in other genres from you girls! Good luck for your exams Aimee.

    I’m really looking forward to The Young Elites and seeing it was two of your favourite books this months make me really look forward to reading it. Have a lovely week ladies!

    Like

  5. Ooh well good luck on your exams, lady! And The Retribution of Mara Dyer is one book I can’t wait o read! I didn’t like book 1 very much but I loved book 2, so we’ll see where it all ends up for me haha.

    Like

  6. Oh, I feel your pain about exams :( Good luck! I can’t wait to read the Mara Dyer trilogy, and I’m glad it’s not like every other trilogy! The Young Elites is also high up on my TBR list, I’ll have to make sure I check out your review :)

    Like

  7. 2.5 stars to Mockingjay??? I am going to have to check out that review. I like that you are going to review more types of books on your blog. Personally … I review whatever I read. Yes, it’s mainly YA but I still like reading a lot of different genres.

    Like

  8. I haven’t read The Young Elites yet! :(((( I must me slapped and hanged….HAHAH I couldn’t grab a copy of The Retribution also…but at least I heard good news! I hear she’s coming to the Philippines sponsored by Fullybooked! Yay! My fave bookstore <3

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

