Pointless

This is where I share some totally pointless things!

Bored? Don’t feel like reading? Here are few bookish things to spend your time on:

1. Grab a blank notebook and test yourself.
This is something I’ve always wanted to try out. I plan to get myself a blank notebook, and when I don’t feel like reading but I still want to something book-related, I can open the notebook and test myself in various ways. I can do some stuff like write down as many book titles I can in one minute, draw a map of a high fantasy world, figure out all the science-y stuff going on in a science fiction world through formulas (which I will probably never understand)… There are lots of bookish things you can do with a blank notebook.

2. Go book shopping.
Who doesn’t love book shopping? It’s something that’s become a great stress reliever for me. The feeling of walking along aisles and aisles of books feels totally awesome. New book purchases make my day–pretty new books to add to my collection!

3. Get creative–redesign a cover!
Here’s an entire jacket I redesigned for Marie Lu’s The Young Elites (it isn’t great, but I loved making it!):

The Young Elites Jacket

4. Go through your shelves, open your books and sniff them.

5. Write fanfiction.
Because why not? I always spend hours or days rethinking how a book ended, especially if a book ended in a cliffhanger or had an open ending. So yes, I did imagine alternate endings or sort of epilogues in my head. Sometimes I wrote them down and published them on fanfiction.net. (If you do write fanfiction–link me up!)

pagebreak

Do you do any of these or want to try them? What other bookish activities do you do everyday?

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

31 thoughts on “5 Bookish Things to Do When You’re Not Reading

  1. Did I miss the link to your fanfiction or did you not post any? Would love to check it out!

    Also, I just thought about writing down all my books… Without looking at them! I have about 200 physical unread books and tbh, I don’t think I can remember even half of them! Haha :D Would be a fun game though..

    Like

  2. Lol, book sniffing! I do that all the time (I am also prone to sniff the insides of newly purchased video game cases). I love the book cover redesign idea! I definitely love book shopping and I love writing fanfiction too, though I almost never publish it online. I use to publish fanfiction on a site called Quizilla years and years ago, but I don’t use that anymore.

    Like

  3. Book shopping = the best! I also love just looking at my books and pulling them off the shelves and just flicking through them/stroking them/smelling them. I love your idea to redesign a cover! And the blank notebook idea. :) I’ll admit something here – I don’t read fanfiction. I never have and I don’t really plan on it…I’m open to the idea of reading it, but I just don’t know where to start…

    Like

  4. I love all of these ideas. Especially the notebook one! That sounds really fun. I may try it sometime, God knows I have so many notebooks. The re-designing book covers sounds great too. I have some experience with Photoshop and Indesign, if only I had those two programs. Gah.

    Fantastic post!

    Like

  5. Book Shopping, YES DEFINITELY! Also, I’m really loving your cover redesign of The Young Elites by Marie Lu. You should definitely show it to her on the 23rd! :)

    Like

  6. The one thing I do from your list is book shopping. In fact, I’m doing it as I type LOL I’m going to stop. I promise (but it’s oh so hard, I work pretty much next to two major bookstores gah). I LOVE YOUR COVER REDESIGN (In fact, I love it more than the actual one…)

    Like

  7. The notebook idea sounds like a lot of fun, I never thought about doing that! I do scribble a lot of book related things in my notebook though, especially wish lists :p Book shopping is the best, sometimes I only go to bookstores to just wander around. Write fan fiction: I did that a looooong time ago. I loved it.

    Like

  8. Oooh, great ideas Aimee! I don’t write fanfiction, but I did used to write fiction on FictionPress.com. It was where I discovered Sarah J Maas. :) And I love getting lost in a bookshop for hours and coming away with dozens of new books for my shelves. It totally makes my day as well! Not a huge book sniffer though :P

    Like

  9. This is such a fun post Aimee, I think I’ve been slightly obsessed with points two and four that you mentioned! *whistles*, and how cool is that cover you designed? Of course I’m not as super talented as you, but I love what you’ve done with it!

    Like

  10. I tried writing fanfic, but its only a fanfic for one direction, that’s was those times where boy bands seemed so cool for me. hahahaha

    I actually do book sniffing a lot. Whenever I can’t draw, or paint or read I just stare at my small shelf at the dorm and eventually sniff some books hahahahaha

    Like

  11. The urge to go sniff my books right now is strong. Oh, how I love book smell. Never redesigned a book cover but that idea never came to me, I like that-seems like it would be fun! Also really liking the test yourself one, that could get pretty entertaining if you involve multiple people and have contests between who can name the most. (That’s totally my competitive side there, haha) I actually love reading fan fiction in my spare time :P Mostly for manga though. Great post!

    Like

  12. Great post Aimee! I love the notebook idea – I have a thing for pretty notebooks but I almost never fill one which makes me sad. Because then I feel like I can’t buy any more until I do. But having one that is sort of a snapshot of my bookish stream of consciousness would be fun. And fun to look back on!

    I know my wallet can’t afford the book shopping I want to do, but sometimes it’s nice to just go to the bookstore and note what books I want. Especially now that Christmas is almost here and I can set up a wishlist. :) I love your Young Elites cover – simple but captures the story, and the darker color palette fits it well!

    Like

  13. I love blank notebooks. I love pretty ones even more, and hoard these when I travel. Then I’d figure that they’re too pretty to write in. Drives my husband nuts. He’s begging me to think about all those poor trees.
    I’ve never tried writing fanfiction, even when an ending disappoints me because it’s almost as though I truly believe the characters exist in another
    universe. I let movie directors do the tweaking for me he he.

    Like

  14. Oh nooo, all my bad habits! Fanfiction can be fun, but I went through a massive addiction. Seriously, I have an entire notebook filled with James/Lily fanfiction. And I’m poor, I can’t afford new books! I do the blank notebook thing, I have pages all over my room :P My friend and I like to see who can write down the most characters from a particular book. Generally Harry Potter :)

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

