Deadly Digest

1. Highlights.The darlings weren’t very active on the blog last October. In fact, we only had a total of six posts. Six posts, people! We’ll try to post more this November. Anyway, here’s what’s going on in our lives:

Aimee: October was such a busy month. Exams were brutal. But now they’re over and we’re on our break! I’m not going to be doing much aside from reading, but Dyan’s going to Japan! *dies of jealousy*

Zoe: Nothing especially noteworthy has really happened this month; mostly just school and such. I’ve been busy practicing for my theatre’s production of OKLAHOMA, which opens in two weeks!

Marga: This month was the end of our first semester in my junior year. All the final examinations are over and it’s so good to have a 3-week break! I just went out with my friends and ended up watching a lot of movies. It’s so nice to catch up with them because I can’t do that during school days. Anyway, we’re going to start another semester on Tuesday so booo!

2. Featured Books.

20829994

How can I resist a book from Percy Jackson’s point of view? I also read The Blood of Olympus this month but didn’t love it. This book, on the other hand, made laugh out loud and re-ignited my interest in Greek mythology. -Aimee

—-

16113606

The world building was PHENOMENAL! It was so cool to see a completely different take on the classic fairytale! Also, it doesn’t hurt that the romance was SO swoon-worthy! – Dyan

—-

20820994

My favorite read this month was probably I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. I loved how it combined a strong sibling relationship and an emotional and realistic storyline. -Zoe

—-

20613470

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas
blog reviewGoodreads review

My favorite read for this month was Heir of Fire! It was just full of action and I loved how the heroine transformed into something more kickass. :D -Marga

 

 

4. Reviews.

• Love and Other Unknown Variables by Shannon Lee Alexander | review | 3 stars
• Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern | review | 3 stars
• Falling into Place by Amy Zhang | review | 2.5 stars
• Virals (Virals, #1) by Kathy Reichs| review | 3 stars

Average: 2.8 stars

5. Discussions.

• Aimee felt bad for being inactive, so she’s holding an international giveaway and reading challenge!
• Introducing NERD RAGE, a series of bookish problems. The first problem? Those little chips on books
6. In the Future.

Click on the covers to check out these books’ (our November most anticipated reads) Goodreads pages!

18889290 18196040 17234658 15768409

Aimee | Forbidden by Kimberley Griffiths Little
Dyan | The Walled City by Ryan Graudin
Zoe | A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray
Marga | The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Things to look forward to in November:

• Review of The Young Elites by Marie Lu
• Marie Lu’s Book Signing Event Recap (PH)
• Blogger Feature: Adult Bloggers Who Read YA (Want to be featured? Leave a comment or DM Aimee @AimeeReads on Twitter)
• Deadly Darlings Ice Breaker (20 Things You Didn’t Know About Us Tag)

pagebreak

That’s it for this month’s wrap-up, guys! Be sure to leave links to your monthly/weekly summaries for us to check out!

The Deadly Darlings

The four of us bookworms have one thing in common, and that’s our passion for books. We aim to bring awesome reviews, bookish updates and discussions to your feed!

all our posts →

15 thoughts on “Deadly Digest: October

  1. Aww girls I’m sorry to hear that exams and school are brutal. I know how it is though. My midterms start in two weeks and I’m already panicking. Gah, it never gets old. Anyhow I need to read Heir soon. Just to clear my ARC pile (I always have at least one book there). So yeah. I cannot wait to hear what you think of A Thousand Pieces of You. Great post, ladies :)

    Like

  2. don’t worry Aimee I’m a bit jealous as well. hahaha,

    I hope you enjoy your stay in Japan Dyan! Would you please bring me Usui when you come back? hahahaha. I’M THINKING OF GOING TO THE SIGNING AIMEE! Problem is I have school, then. But I’m thinking of skipping hahaha

    Like

    1. BAHAHAHA. Sadly, I’m pretty sure Dyan doesn’t know who Usui is. xD I would prefer Takishima Kei (Special A). Or Kou (Ao Haru Ride). GOOOOOO. We have to meet up again! :D

      Like

  3. Oh I’m sorry it was such a busy month for you guys, but now you can read all the books! And you have some great ones to look forward too. I’m thrilled to see that Of Beast and Beauty and Heir of Fire made it to your top reads, as I will be hopefully getting to my copies this month! I hope you all have a wonderful November! :)

    Like

  4. Heck many of the bloggers I know are adults who read YA. I still read plenty of YA but not as much as I used to last year – this year I haven’t read as much overall I think its because it was such a heavy contemp year and I don’t like contemp.

    Like

  5. I’m an adult who reads YA hehe. Sounds like you had a pretty busy month guys, would love to see more posts here but I totally understand if not. Aimee good luck on your exams! Oh Zoe, that is so excited that you are in OKLAHOMA! Good luck! And Marga, it sounds like you’ve had a fantastic few weeks of relaxation.

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

