18599754

Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern

published on June 3rd 2014 by HarperTeen
romance | contemporary

find the author on
Goodreads | website

find the book on
Goodreads

Born with cerebral palsy, Amy can’t walk without a walker, talk without a voice box, or even fully control her facial expressions. Plagued by obsessive-compulsive disorder, Matthew is consumed with repeated thoughts, neurotic rituals, and crippling fear. Both in desperate need of someone to help them reach out to the world, Amy and Matthew are more alike than either ever realized.

When Amy decides to hire student aides to help her in her senior year at Coral Hills High School, these two teens are thrust into each other’s lives. As they begin to spend time with each other, what started as a blossoming friendship eventually grows into something neither expected.

REVIEW

 

Pitched as “John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars meets Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park,” I clearly had to give this book a try. While I’m not a huge fan of either authors, I did enjoy both of their works even a bit.

I can definitely see Eleanor & Park in this book. The overall “feel” of the book and the writing styles were very similar. Both books also featured quirky or “odd” characters with difficult personalities. Fans of one will most likely also enjoy the other. I’ll admit that, personally, the writing made me enjoy the book a bit less. It’s not a style I’m comfortable with.

Anyway, this book has a girl who’s sort of toxic to the people around her. Sometimes Amy steps on people without realizing it, and some people (Matthew in particular) just let her do what she wants. But in the end, I think both characters eventually turned into much more than what they were initially. They both grew and developed at their own speeds. As a couple, I approve of them for the most part, especially as the story neared its end.

A lot of unexpected things happened throughout the course of the book. I was definitely not even thinking that such events would happen, but it’s an eye-opener, really. This book really shows what a teen could possibly act like because of peer pressure, wanting to “fit in” and all of those things. The stuff that happens in here can happen to anyone, and it’s scary.

If you’re looking for a book that will make you think, chuckle and possibly swoon–something a la Rainbow Rowell–definitely give this book a try.

pagebreak

Skulls 3

pagebreak

Liked this review? You also find it on Goodreads.

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

16 thoughts on “Mini Review: Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern

  1. I still haven’t read this one but I’ve wanted to read it for some time. I ended up really liking Eleanor and Parks so just hearing that you loved the comparisons to it in this book makes me super excited :) lovely review Aimee :)

    Like

  2. I know a lot of people loved Eleanor & Park, but it was not really a favorite for me. I do like Rainbow Rowell though so I might enjoy this book too. I’m actually quite curious about this one because I’ve been seeing it a lot and I love contemporary books. It’s good to know that the characters would grow and develop throughout the book even if they started out bad. I love good character development.

    Like

  3. I felt the same way Aimee! I might not be the biggest fangirl of Rainbow Rowell or John Green either, but I don’t really dislike their books either; so the pitch was a bit of a stretch for me to see. Nonetheless, like you said, the characters are really well-developed and have a ton of growth throughout the story and it was really interesting to witness all the unexpected twists and turns here. Thanks for sharing and, as always, BRILLIANT review! <3

    Like

  4. I haven’t read any Rainbow Rowell book yet, but I’m gonna check it out because it did sound nice and interesting. I love John Green so I hope I’ll get into this as well :D

    Like

  5. I’m a little concern with the characters. I’m not a fan of one who’s oblivious to those she’s stepping on. And a guy who lets her get away with murder is so not my idea of a good time. Sigh.

    Like

  6. I really loved this book! I think the best part about Say What You Will are the character developments. I also like how Amy is so independent. Matthew’s character annoyed me a little bit, but I still love how he cares for Amy.

    Like

  7. Huh, now to mention it, it does remind me of E&P! The styles were really similar, though I adored this book much more.

    Lovely review, Aimee! <33

    Like

  8. I still haven’t read Elenor and Park (Yes, I know), but I plan to read it soon. I love that this one had similar vibe to it, even though I don’t like when books are compared to some other books that much. But well yeah, it seems justified here. Also peers pressure is something I love reading about. Amazing review, Aimee :)

    Like

  9. I didn’t swoon as much in this book, but it was an eye opener like you said. It felt good reading it but I only gave it an OKAY rating…it was far too real for me and so it I liked the story differently but anyways it was unique.

    Like

  10. I basically know already that this book isn’t for me because I didn’t like tfios and I didn’t like E&P. (though gimme Fangirl every day please!!!!) I’m glad that there’s character growth but I mean.. Idk. This book just isn’t calling out for me. But it’s good to know that it’s an eye-opening book and reflects social problems of fitting in. Sorry it wasn’t a fav, but glad you liked it as a whole, Aimee!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

