Deadly Digest

Undead Monthly-Highlights

Whoa, it seems like the girls were discussing their August wrap-up post a few days ago, and now here comes their September wrap-up!

• Zoe celebrated her birthday with a giveaway and bookish recommendations!

 

Undead Monthly-Featurer

18302133

Salt & Storm by Kendall Kulper
review to come on The Social Potato

Most of the books I read this month were ones I enjoyed for the most part, but I think Salt & Storm definitely deserves my “book of the month” title. I just loved the historical setting, the witch lore and everything else (except maybe the romance). -Aimee

—-

13104080

Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi
blog review

I loved it because it was really intense and really well-written! It also doesn’t hurt that Warner was a fantastic character! :P – Dyan

—-

13597757

Don’t Touch by Rachel M. Wilson
Goodreads review

My favorite book of the month was probably Don’t Touch by Rachel M. Wilson because it was powerful and touching, and combined 2 of my hobbies: theatre and psychology. -Zoe

—-

8492825

I choose If I Stay by Gayle Forman. I like it because it was so heartwarming and it has been so long since I read a contemporary that affected me so much. -Marga

 

Undead Monthly-Reviews

• Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2) by Sarah J. Maas | review | 3.5 stars
• Dark Days by Kate Ormand | review | 1.5 stars
• Where She Went (If I Stay, #2) by Gayle Forman | review | 4.5 stars
• Movie: If I Stay | review | 2 stars
• Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass, #3) by Sarah J. Maas | review | 3 stars
• Unravel Me (Shatter Me, #1) by Tahereh Mafi | review | 4.5 stars

Average: 3.1 stars

Undead Monthly-Other

• Aimee was tagged to do the Emoji Book Tag!
• These authors are super cool–read their books!
• Do you ever feel like you’re contradicting yourself?
Zoe celebrates her birthday! Here are 5 of her favorite books! She also had a giveaway.
• Aimee dreads and loves series enders. Do you?

 

Undead Monthly-In the Future

Click on the covers to check out these books’ (our October most anticipated reads) Goodreads pages!

18705209 17984141 17399160 16150831

Aimee | The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan AND The Young Elites by Marie Lu
(Nope, can’t pick between them!)
Dyan & Zoe | Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch
Marga | In the Afterlight by Alexandra Bracken

Things to look forward to in October:

• Review of Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern
• Review of Virals by Kathy Reichs
• Review of Life in Outer Space by  Melissa Keil
• Nerd Rage! (#1) — a new feature for bookish problems

pagebreak

That’s it for this month’s wrap-up, guys! Be sure to leave links to your monthly/weekly summaries for us to check out!

The Deadly Darlings

The four of us bookworms have one thing in common, and that’s our passion for books. We aim to bring awesome reviews, bookish updates and discussions to your feed!

all our posts →

17 thoughts on “Deadly Digest: September

  1. I’m glad you girls had a good month!! I TOTALLY love Unravel me and I’m convinced I need to try Salt and Storm now, thanks Aimee. ;) Eeeeh! I can’t wait until you review The Young Elites. I’m dying to know if it’s good. :)) I’ll probably do my wrap-up post on the weekend. Or something. Hehe. If I remember to. XD

    Like

  2. I agree, September just went by so quickly! At this date 2014 is going to fly by!
    September sounds like it was a good month! Especially for both Zoe’a bday and for reading in general! Here’s to hoping October is too :)

    Like

  3. OH MY F***ING GOD THE BLOOD OF OLYMPUS I SWEAR EVERY TIME SOMEONE SAYS IT OR PUTS A PIC OF THE COVER I START HYPERVENTILATING ALL OVER AGAIN. ASDFGHJKL; So close yet so far, now! Yay so glad you loved Don’t Touch, Zoe. It was such a brilliant read ><

    Have a fantastic month to come, you awesome lot! <33

    Like

  4. I don’t want to pressure you Aimee, but I’m still waiting on your bookshelf tour! hahaha :D

    But no pressure, I understand that studies has been taking your time, and its okay. ‘cuz as hard as it sounds, studies comes first before books. (If you do do it though, I’d love a video haha, it would be cute for you to do that :D)

    Like

  5. Already October. Omg. What. Everytime you post a montly recap I go through a bit of a freak out at time moving so quickly :p

    Wow, glad you enjoyed Salt & Storm. That one was 2.5 for me, there were parts where I was really disappointed and others when I was impressed. I also (FINALLY) read If I Stay and quite loved it. It’s great to hear that Where She Went is just as good, or maybe even better than its predecessor.

    Blood of Olympus!!! I’m not freaking out as openly and as much as Mel but OMFG IT’S COMING TO AN ENDING FKLDSJFKLSJF. I’m so nervous and excited ahhhhh. I know it’s gonna be great but the anticpation and finality of it being the last book is definitely something I’m feeling. I also did read Snow Like Ashes and gave it a 3.5. I hope Zoe and Dyan read it and like it just as much as me. or more :p That’s always an option too.

    Nerd rage #1? Sounds intriguing [; Can’t wait to see this new feature! And more from this blog in general, I miss commenting on it and seeing all the great stuff y’all post.

    Like

  6. What a jam packed month! I feel like I haven’t visited in aaaaaaaages! Bring on October, so many awesome books coming out this month. Typical, seeing I’m on a book buying ban. Well, kind of. I’m really trying. Really looking forward to In the Afterlight, loved book one and two. Can’t wait to see what Nerd Rage is all about. Come on poppets, give us a little hint ;)

    Have a fabulous October of reading and blogging chickadees <3

    Like

  7. I have heard amazing things about Snow Like Ashes so I cannot wait to see what you girls think of it :) Hopefully you’ll love it. Also Salt and Storm is going to my TBR list. Great post, ladies :)

    Like

  8. I COMPLETELY FORGOT THAT THE YOUNG ELITES COMES OUT THIS MONTH – ha! So excited for that as well! :) I’m really excited to see what Marie Lu can do with fantasy. :) And YES for The Blood of Olympus! Can’t wait to see how the series ends; even though it’s going to be sad to see it go.

    I enjoyed Unravel Me too Dyan! :D Probably my favorite in the Shatter Me series. Warner = <3 ;) And I have the same thoughts about Salt & Storm Aimee – everything about it was fabulous, except it sounds like we both were a bit meh on the romance here. Definitely a strong read regardless! And Marga – Why am I not surprised by you choosing Where She Went as your book of the month? LOL!

    Happy October! <3

    Like

  9. September flew by really fast for me since I was pretty much floating on A LOT of school work. And hooray for October! It’s one of my favourite months (mainly because of school break ha) and it’s chock full of awesome releases! I NEED BLOOD OF OLYMPUS NOOOW.

    Like

  10. I can’t wait to see your review of Salt & Storm! I have it on hold at the library and now I’m anxious to pick it up :) Dyan, I also really liked Unravel Me *cough* Warner *cough* ;) I think you’ll really enjoy the last in the series! Aw, man, now I wish I would have picked up Don’t Touch when I saw it, I really like psychology too.

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

