Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful girls at The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesdays topic is, “Top Ten Underrated Authors or Books in X genre.” My “X” is going to be ALL the genres. Yes, I may have cheated. Yes, it is fine because I am cool like that.

Anyway, here awesome pretty badass authors I think you MUST read from… Honestly, I don’t know who you’d consider an underrated author… I guess I’d call them “underrated” if their books are SO AWESOME and are not (YET) rated/read as much as widely-known authors such as JK Rowling, Rick Riordan, Cassandra Clare, Julie Kagawa, etc.

In no particular order…

18816824 18775628 20498423 16090645 18509623

1. ERIN MCCAHAN (Love and Other Foreign Words): Erin definitely knows how to make a quirky, fun atmosphere with a weird-in-a-good-way heroine… Her novel is definitely worth checking out if you’re looking for a read that will make you both laugh and think about the true meaning of love.

2. ABIGAIL HAAS (Dangerous Girls): This woman knows how to make my spine chill. She will make your eyes bulge and your skin crawl. A creepy atmosphere and tons of secrets and lies… Read at your own risk. But seriously, read it.

3. JENNIFER ELLISION (Threats of Sky and Sea): Love Throne of Glass? Try giving Jennifer’s book a go. She gives us a fierce heroine and a world of magic–who wouldn’t want that?

4. LIZ CZUKAS (Ask Again Later): I just finished Czukas’ Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless, and it was just as adorable and fun as Ask Again Later. She is a fab cutesy romance author.

5. RIN CHUPECO (The Girl from the Well): HELLO! PH author here! Of course I had to support her. Not only that, but she wrote a fantastic, intense, VERY scary debut novel set in JAPAN. Nobody can resist a retelling of The Ring. Right?

17926775 16113606 9463563 13530566 15726915

6. DANIELLE L. JENSEN (Stolen Songbird): Ha! Bet you didn’t see this one coming. ;) In all seriousness, though, I’m so happy with the good feedback this book’s been getting so far, because it is REALLY FANTASTIC. If none of my billions of recommendations posts have not convinced you to read this, I probably need to shove this book in your face.

7. STACEY JAY (Of Beast and Beauty): This. Book. A blind girl… and a beast. And finally, some awesome romantic development. You’ll love this one if you love those enemies-to-friends-to-lovers type of romances!

8. NATALIE PALMER (Second Kiss): To be honest, I can’t remember a lot about this book since it’s been a year since I read it. I think I might have cried. I’m pretty sure I swooned. Give it a shot and let me know what you think!

9. LINDSAY RIBAR (The Art of Wishing): GENIES, PEOPLE. Yep. Genies. And romance. Enough said, I believe.

10. COURTNEY C. STEVENS (Faking Normal): My darling Bodee. Other people need to witness your sweetness. Raw and real–this book talks about sins, consequences and justice. A good book to push all your emotional buttons.

pagebreak

Leave links to your TTT posts or share some of your favorite underrated authors!

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

21 thoughts on “Cool Authors Whose Books You Must Read

  1. Dangerous Girls is definitely underrated! It’s sad that Dangerous Boys wasn’t picked up by a US publisher- Abigail Haas is so talented!
    So many people like The Art of Wishing! I’m going to have to read it some time soon :)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The only one I’ve read out of these is Abigail Haas, and I LOVED Dangerous Girls :D And I’ve added quite a few more to my TBR – I’ve been wanting to read Ask Again Later for aaages. And I LOVE genies so The Art of Wishing is one I definitely want to read. Great recs :D

    Like

  3. Faking Normal was pretty fantastic! :D Didn’t like Threats of Sky and Sea that much though. Dangerous Girls, the Girl From the Well, Ask again Later, Stolen Songbird and Of Beast and Beauty are on my TBR! :D

    Like

  4. Ha! Stolen Songbird! That one would be on my list for sure! I really love it and I do agree it truly should have more readers. But I have heard of most from your list but sadly I haven’t read any but Stolen Songbird. I shall fix that. Great post, Aimee :)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love, love, love Liz Czukas! I should have included her on my TTT, too. I also recently read Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless and I liked it even more than Ask Again Later, and I loved that one, too. I’m also curious about Stolen Songbird. I totes need to give that one a try. :)

    Like

  6. I am SO with you with Abigail Haas. Her books are absolutely incredible and so mind-boggling. Such a talented author! I enjoyed Ask Again Later and The Girl from the Well too, so I’m glad to see those on here as well! Thanks for sharing Aimee, and wonderful post! <3

    Like

  7. I actually have 3 of the books listed on my TBR! Okay… one of them I bought for a discount. I admit the cover got me (sort of). o_o

    Fab recommendations Aimee (even if I haven’t read any of those… DON’T shove Stolen Songbird in my face. PLEASE.)!

    Like

  8. ASK AGAIN LATER! So much love for that book and Luz Czukas – I will be reading everything and anything by her. Also adore Faking Normal and Of Beast and Beauty (Princess of Thorns is gunbgoooood). Great list, Aimee!

    Like

  9. I haven’t read any of these (or any books by these authors) except Faking Normal! :O I feel ashamed. Although since I haven’t I guess I have a lot to look forward to ;) Better start adding some of these to the TBR!

    Like

  10. YESSSS. COURTNEY C. STEVENS!! Unfortunately, she’s the only author that I’ve read from this wonderful this, but she is certainly amazing. I plan on reading Abigail Haas, Liz Czukas, Rin Chupeco, Danielle L. Jensen and Stacey Jay though! Maybe even Erin McCahan.

    Like

  11. If it weren’t for this post I would’ve never wanted to read Of Beast and Beauty. I didn’t know she was blind! I thought it was generic B&B retelling which is why I never gave it much thought! Wow. TOTALLY AGREE on Dangerous Girls! I have the Liz Czukas books so I don’t get why I haven’t read them yet. Must fix immediately. Ha. Great list!!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

