17167166

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

published on August 15, 2013 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
fantasy | romance | magic

find the author on
Goodreads | Twitter | website

find the book on
Goodreads

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie…and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

REVIEW

Remember me being really disappointed with Throne of Glass? Yeah, well, I’m happy to say that Sarah J. Maas has redeemed herself. Almost all the things I complained about in Throne of Glass are gone and/or developed into something much better. Let’s see…

It now lives up to its bookish comparisons.

Yes, I did mention that Throne of Glass was more of The Selection than it was The Hunger Games, Poison Study or Game of Thrones. Now? The badass-ness I was looking for in book one has finally come! There was so much more action (and less sitting around looking pretty), gore (definitely a lot of this) and indescribable awesome in Crown of Midnight.

While this book still isn’t a part of my favorites shelf, it was still really good and had the awesome vibe that I got from my favorite reads, such as THG and Poison Study.

The annoying romance-centered plot is no more!

You want action, blood, betrayal and lies? Crown of Midnight will give you just that, with only a dash of romance on the side. Yes, I do love romance in my books, but only when it’s balanced out properly, just like it was here.

There’s still a slight hint of romance-related drama every now and then which still bothered me a bit, but it was definitely less prominent in this installment–so much easier to handle than it was in the first.

Calaena is an assassin with(out) a heart.

Finally, finally! Calaena turns into the totally amazing and bad-ass assassin. She was also merciful and just… in the first half of the book. But when bad things happen, Calaena turns into this mindless killer–I’m not sure how I feel about this sudden shift in Calaena’s character. It was definitely heart-pounding to read about, but I could not stand how Calaena was so stiff. I guess most of you would say she had a reason for being this stiff, but I can’t get myself to say it’s a valid reason.

I finally got into the writing!

Throne of Glass nearly made me fall asleep, but Crown of Midnight kept me turning pages! I’m unsure if it’s because the writing improved or because I was in a different mood, but I was able to really get into the book this time.

I did say ALMOST all my problems were solved… But of course, there is this one problem (Calaena’s stiffness aside) that I can’t help but feel makes me the black sheep:

I have no ship.

That’s right. I pretty much the romance in this book’s really dull and I couldn’t care less about it. Chaol’s a hot-and-cold guy, sometimes being soft and lovey-dovey, but is sometimes as hard as a rock. I may like those types of heroes in anime, but in books? No, thank you. Dorian’s… nice, but I have no emotional connection to him at all. I kind of wish these books didn’t have romance. It’s probably just me who thinks that way. *shrugs*

Overall, this one’s still a really interesting read. I enjoyed it and was sucked into the story, despite a few of my issues with the romance and Calaena. I would still recommend giving this book a shot even if you didn’t like book one.

pagebreak

Skulls 3.5

pagebreak

Liked this review? You also find it on Goodreads.

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

15 thoughts on “Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Oh my gosh, I was so bored by Throne of Glass as well. But I absolutely LOVED Crown of Midnight. Now that I think about it, it was a little strange how Calaena’s character changed so drastically. But anyway, I soooo need to read Assassin’s Blade and then Heir of Fire. Are you planning on reading those?

    Like

  2. Oh wow! I’m so glad you liked Crown of Midnight, I loved both of these books! XD I can’t really remember all that happened but I’m looking forward to the next one coming out! I’ll probably re-comment and blabber on here after I read the next book :D I don’t know if I’ll read the novella, but I’ve heard such great things about that too. Anyways, great post Aimee! :)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YESSS the series got so much more epic when Crown of Midnight happened. We wanted MORE after all of the raves and that’s exactly what the author delivered. I’m so glad you loved it Aimee! The romance on the sidelines was just the right amount, with all the action and mystery and world building and just everything. Everything was awesome. Great review Aimee!

    Like

  4. I KNOWWWW I KNOWWW I KNOWWWWW I want to turn into a ghost and scream it like a snake. Okay that is just stupid but I KNOW. And EEPP you loved it! I kinda agree about the romance especially after Chaol does his stupid Chaol shit at the end *facepalm* fucking idiot but it’s because I’m partially in love with Sam from the short stories(I only read one but I fall fast and hard)

    Like

  5. Yes! Even though I loved the first two books, I think Crown of Midnight is stronger, so I’m glad you are getting into the series! I hope you’ll like Heir of Fire even more! The series is building so well! I am surprised you have no ship though – i definitely liked one guy over the other, but fortunately Sarah Maas keeps introducing more and more swoon worthy guys. :D (I just hope Celaena doesn’t waver between all of them!)

    Like

  6. Honestly, after Heir of Fire, I’m kind of shipless too. 1) I like all of them, and I couldn’t care less who she ends up with, and 2) Celaena’s too badass to be tied down by romantic shenanigans. She’s got castles to raze and kings to kill. Romance can come later!

    Have you read The Assassin’s Blade yet? That gives a lot of insight into Celaena’s character, and the novellas are just plain awesome on top of that ^_^

    Like

  7. I really hate it when a book makes me choose between parties. Why can’t you just give me a pairing? Why do you have to make me agonize over which guy is better? >.< Anyway, glad this one got better for you. I'm still contemplating on whether or not to read this series.

    Like

  8. Nice to see you enjoyed this more than the previous book. You’re right your mood can affect how you enjoy a book or not. This seems like a fun action packed series. Sorry the romance doesn’t do it for you though. Wonderful review, Aimee! :)

    Like

  9. YAAAAY! Looks like I’m absolutely gonna love this book. I’m going to read it next. The romance probably won’t bother me whatsoever so I’m excited. :D Omg, I can’t stop fangirling. Thank you so much for sharing this review Aimee!

    Like

  10. I understand your issues about Throne of Glass because they were also my issues when I was reading it but I still gave the book a 5 star rating because I don’t know, I fell head over heels inlove with Celaena. Bwahaha. I know it’s such a lame reason but I really just connected with her.

    But yeah, Crown of Midnight is my current favorite book of the series (haven’t read Heir of Fire yet) because there’s a lot of action. Celaena was quite passive in book 1 and oh geez, we really haven’t seen her in action but with this book, I am astounded at her killing skills. :D

    What? You don’t have any ship???? Huhuhuhuh. Oh well, maybe, I’ll take a leaf out of your book because I don’t think there’s any hope for my ship.

    Lovely review, Aimee!

    Like

  11. “There was so much more action (and less sitting around looking pretty), gore (definitely a lot of this) and indescribable awesome in Crown of Midnight.” <— THIS! This is out I felt about this book. It was just more everything Throne of Glass should of been!
    I totally ship Celaena and Chaol lol (they're killing me). Have you read Heir of Fire yet? (I just read/ reviewed it!)

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

