Undead Monthly

Check out what you’ve missed in the last month!

BYE, BYE, AUGUST! *waves* Here are the posts and reviews you might have forgotten to check out…

Undead Monthly-Highlights

• This isn’t a highlight, but Aimee celebrated her birthday in August! You can enter this giveaway for a $10 book of choice (open internationally and sponsored by the awesome Amir @ The Not-So-Literary Heiresses)!

 

Undead Monthly-Featurer

18775628

This month it’s a close fight between Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas and Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless by Liz Czukas. It took me forever to decide, but I guess Dangerous Girls did give me more feels… of fear. *evil laugh* This book features some seriously flawed characters (I wanted to hit everyone at some point), a creepy mystery (with creepy suspects) and an ending that will keep you awake at night. -Aimee

—-

11071466

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson
blog review by Aimee

I really liked this book. It affected me so much that I cried (which I rarely do)! Matson did a great job of describing the events that were happening to her characters without making the entire novel boring or dragging. I also love the fact that Matson chose to make her characters more realistic! Another thing: Henry was really, really adorable! – Dyan

—-

7723542

A Dog’s Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron
Goodreads review

A Dog’s Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron was my favorite read this month because it was so emotionally touching and had such a unique style and sense of humor. -Zoe

—-

4374400

If I Stay by Gayle Forman
Goodreads review

I choose If I Stay by Gayle Forman. I like it because it was so heartwarming and it has been so long since I read a contemporary that affected me so much. -Marga

 

Undead Monthly-Reviews

• Rebel (Reboot, #2) by Amy Tintera | review | 3 stars
• The Girl from the Well by Rin Chupeco | review | 3.5 stars
• Mortal Gods (Antigoddess, #2) by Kendare Blake | review | 4 stars
• Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas | review | 4 stars
• Dangerous Boys by Abigail Haas | review | 3.5 stars

Average: 3.6 stars

Undead Monthly-Other

On the blog…

• Aimee asked: What are some must read YA? And here’s what two bookworms answered!
• Aimee’s birthday giveaway + 15 bookish recommendations!
Not enough time to do all the bookish things? It’s every bookworm’s problem!

From other blogs on upcoming releases…

• Exciting New Releases! (Miranda @ Tempest Books)
• The 15 Most Anticipated Books Coming In September (Epic Reads)
• A complete 2014 New Release Summary (Wicked Scribes)
• Fresh Batch of books from Aug. 31 – Sept 6 (Xpresso Reads)

 

Undead Monthly-In the Future

Click on the covers to check out these books’ (our August most anticipated reads) Goodreads pages!

7943654 17234658 20613470 18710739

Aimee | I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
Dyan | A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray
Marga | Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas
Zoe | Blackbird by Anna Carey

Things to look forward to in August:

• Review of The Young World by Chris Weitz
• Zoe’s birthday post (We’ll see what she has for us!)
• Review of Crown of Midnight (which was supposed to be posted in August–but hey. School gets in the way.)
• Review of Dark Days by Kate Ormand

pagebreak

That’s it for this month’s wrap-up, guys! Be sure to leave links to your monthly/weekly summaries for us to check out!

The Deadly Darlings

The four of us bookworms have one thing in common, and that’s our passion for books. We aim to bring awesome reviews, bookish updates and discussions to your feed!

all our posts →

14 thoughts on “Monthly Summary: August

  1. I soooo agree about Dangerous Girls – just had to buy it after all the hype, and it definitely lived up to my expectations :D September looks like a good month for books – I own A Thousand Pieces of You and should own Heir of Fire soon (hopefully!!).

    Hope you guys have a good start to September :)

    Like

  2. Aw, so envious on how busy your blog last month. I wish I could go back to my blogging gear and be productive like you, girls. I’m also looking forward to Heir and Fire and well, Blackbird…not really my thing but I hope you’ll enjoy it better than I did. xD

    Like

  3. I have yet to read Dangerous Girls (and Dangerous Boys!) and I haven’t started with The Throne of Glass series as well. I’m really missing out, aren’t I? Glad to see If I Stay on the list. I loved that book to pieces. Wishing you a great September ladies! :D

    Like

  4. I’m dying to read your review for A Thousand Pieces of You! I want to know is it worth that lovely cover and all the hype. You’ve read some interesting books this month but boy you’ve got some interesting ones to review I’d say :) Great post, ladies :)

    Like

  5. OH MY GOD!?!?! IS IT ACTUALLY SEPTEMBER. I go back to school tomorrow omg. I’m not ready for my final year okay.

    I’m also so excited for A Thousand Pieces of You c: The cover is so gorgeous and I like the sound of the premise. Time travel can be so tricky to pull off. I’m totally excited for Heir of Fire too. It’s out right now but I haven’t managed to snag a copy yet :[ I love the Throne of Glass series though (crown of midnight was just utterly amazing) so I can’t wait to see what happens next in the series.

    Can’t wait to see more from the Deadly Darlings crew <33

    Like

  6. Ooh can’t wait to see what you think of Crown of Midnight!! I’m really excited for A Thousand Pieces of You :) It’s got such a pretty cover. Heir of Fire was AMAZING!! I’m going to Sarah J Maas’s book signing on Wednesday, and I’m SO EXCITED!!!!!!! Ooh happy almost birthday Z :D I haven’t read any of the books of the month. I’m such a bad reader… Lovely updates!

    Like

  7. I’ll Give You the Sun looks like a really good book. I also recently got my hands on If I Stay and I am really looking forward to reading it. Looks like you guys have had a busy month!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

