Dangerous Boys by Abigail Haas

published on August 14th 2014 by Simon & Schuster UK
mystery | contemporary | thriller

find the author on
Goodreads | Twitter | website

find the book on
Goodreads

Three teens venture into the abandoned Monroe estate one night; hours later, only two emerge from the burning wreckage. Chloe drags one Reznick brother to safety, unconscious and bleeding; the other is left to burn, dead in the fire. But which brother survives? And is his death a tragic accident? Desperate self-defense? Or murder?
Chloe is the only one with the answers. As the fire rages, and police and parents demand the truth, she struggles to piece together the story of how they got there-a story of jealousy, twisted passion, and the darkness that lurks behind even the most beautiful of faces…

REVIEW

Now is the time to put away childish things…

Listen to our narrator Chloe, dear readers! Put away all childish things such as work, homework and chores–and PICK UP ANY ABIGAIL HAAS BOOK, NOW. Okay, maybe I wasn’t the biggest fan of Dangerous Boys, but I can’t deny that it is a fantastic book. I just didn’t love it as much as I loved Dangerous Girls (my review here).

How can I convince you to read Dangerous Boys?

Chloe, Ethan and Oliver will leave you grasping at the edge of your seat with their raw and intense story. These three characters just have so much depth to them, and you will love them and hate them all at the same time. They’ll leave you confused and hanging–but in a good way, of course.

I was actually NOT expecting the book to end the way it did. Neither did I anticipate WHY a certain someone did what s/he did. I can always count on Abigail Haas to turn my brain into jelly.

If you’ve been looking for a heart-stopping read that will probably cause all of your nails to suddenly shrink because you bit at them too much–Dangerous Boys is what you need. Or you know, either of Abigail Haas’ books.

Why the hell did I not give this book 5 stars?

While this book was great in terms of technicalities, I wasn’t as invested in the story as I was with Dangerous Girls. Maybe it’s because of the length of the book? Was there not enough pages for me to really get into the characters?

Maybe it was because Chloe really turned me off at first–it wasn’t until the second half of the book where I was really flipping pages to see how this story ended. Oh, and I thought the romance with Ethan happened too fast and didn’t have enough development.

What I’m trying to say is…

READ THIS BOOK. Minor bad points aside, this is worth the read, trust me.

*Thank you very much to Abigail Haas for providing me with an eARC!

 

pagebreak

Skulls 3.5

pagebreak

Liked this review? You also find it on Goodreads.

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

22 thoughts on “Mini Review: Dangerous Boys by Abigail Haas

  1. Okay so I finally caved and bought a copy of Dangerous Girls last week. So it’s sitting all lovely at the top of my TBR. I accidentally read the first couple of pages and I don’t know WHY because now I just want to read the whole thing!!! I can’t wait to start. And then maybe I’ll buy Dangerous Boys as an end-of-exams present to myself if I like Dangerous Girls enough :P

    Like

  2. These books look so great! I don’t know why I haven’t got a copy of Dangerous Girls yet — I think because I’e been so disappointed with a lot of the books I’ve read lately I’ve been putting this one off. I keep seeing so so so many five-star reviews of these books (both Dangerous Girls and Boys) that I think I’ll soon purchase myself a copy of it. :)

    Like

  3. I’ve actually FINALLY ordered this book because I’ve seen approximately 184681987168 billion glowing reviews and I can’t take being the black sheep any more. AAAAANNND I’ve ordered Dangerous Girls, just to be thorough!

    Like

  4. I haven’t had the chance to read either Dangerous girls or boys. But I need my share of suspense haha. I haven’t read anything good just yet. BTW, are there any swoon worthy boys here? Haha #sorrynotsorry

    Like

  5. I have to get my hands on this book! Why do our local bookstores takes so long to acquire copies? Isla is not even hear yet. *pulls hair* Anyway, I’ll be getting a copy of Dangerous Girls soon and of course I’ll be reading Dangerous Boys as soon as the copies are available. I cannot wait to read something from Abigail Haas! I just know it’d be good. :D

    Like

  6. YEP. I HAVE BEEN DOING CHILDISH THINGS THIS ENTIRE YEAR. I still have to read Dangerous Girls. :c Glad to see Haas continues on her streak. Though what I really want from her is Dangerous Bisexual Pandas. It’d be even better if they’re colorful because why not? I want killer pandas, I really doooooo. But I shall read these two first! The order has been given. Shoo away, stupid homework that I wouldn’t have done anyway!

    Like

  7. My copy of Dangerous Girls arrived from the library last week, and I haven’t read it yet. Why? Because my mom grabbed it after I was telling her how your review made it sound so good. So… I will read it soon. :) I guess if I really like it, I’ll pick this one up too as it sounds promising, even if it is not as good as the first one!

    Like

  8. I really want to read these Dangerous books!! They sound so intriguing and suspenseful; I think I’d love it! Meh, I hate when romance develops too quickly, it’s not realistic at all. Sometimes I feel that books are too short to develop the characters properly; Developing the characters is key to any good story! I love unexpected endings :) Lovely review, Aimee. You’ve made me even more anxious to read this book!

    Like

  9. I’ve already read Dangerous Girls too many times in a row for it to be actually healthy, so I guess the next logical step is to read this book, right? XD Great review, Aimee!

    Like

  10. This book is literally at the top of my TBR. I’ve seen it EVERYWHERE, and now I’m dying to get my hands on it. I’m sure I’ll like it just as much as you since our reading tastes are pretty similar. Plus, I trust you as a reviewer.

    I’m glad to hear that although there are bad points, it’s still well worth the read!

    Tori @ Bookish Affairs

    Like

  11. Okay, I knew what was going to happen halfway through, BUT, she made me second guess everything after every freaking page, it was exhausting, haha. Yeah, I didn’t like Ethan at all, didn’t get the romance. But, it was clever though, I started hating him the same time Chloe did, but come on, he was getting an ass towards the end.. BUT OLIVER. Just. No. Words. The main thing I loved about it though, you could see the psychology happening, and how the whole thing broke down Chloe into not pretending anymore. It’s like Oliver started it off and everything, but the thing with the teacher was the trigger. Now I just need to read Dangerous Girls, but holy book hangover. I still haven’t gotten over Dangerous Boys yet. :(

    Like

  12. I’ve grabbed a copy of both book now, but sorry to see that you didn’t enjoy this on as much. Do you think that seeing the first one was so edge of your seat, it might desensitized you a little for the follow up? You’d enjoy up.expecting the same sort of intensity I’d imagine. I’m thinking of starting with this one first, seeing your another one who enjoyed DG alot more. Fantastic review, so excited to read these <3

    Like

  13. If I really didn’t have a lot of ARCs to read I’d really go with this one as Haas sounds like a writer I’d love!! I have heard a lot about both Dangerous Girls and Boys and while this one doesn’t seem as awesome as Girls I still really want to read it.Besides raw and intense is how I like my stories. Great review, Aimee :)

    Like

  14. I have copies of Both Dangerous Boys and Girls and I am absolutely itching to read them. I will probably drop everything and do it next week after I finish the last book of The Hollows. I am sorry this one didn’t impress you quite as much but I like that it turned your brain to jelly.

    Like

  15. Sorry this one didn’t live up to your expectations but you still really liked it which is a plus!! I definitely want to read this series. I’m seeing EVERYWHERE. Every blog I visit seems to have this series posted as a review or review coming soon. I will get to it eventually, once I’m done with the Outlander series! Fantastic review Aimee! :)

    Like

  16. Aww…I’m sorry to hear this wasn’t quite as good as you hoped it would be, but I’m glad to hear it was still enjoyable nonetheless. I felt that DG was definitely a bit better than DB, but it definitely gives it a run for its money. I can definitely see how you might have felt the romance between Chloe and Ethan was a bit fast though. Thanks for sharing and, as always, BRILLIANT review! <3

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

