Dangerous Girls

Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

published on July 16th 2013 by Simon Pulse
mystery | contemporary | thriller

find the author on
Goodreads | Twitter | website

find the book on
Goodreads

It’s Spring Break of senior year. Anna, her boyfriend Tate, her best friend Elise, and a few other close friends are off to a debaucherous trip to Aruba that promises to be the time of their lives. But when Elise is found brutally murdered, Anna finds herself trapped in a country not her own, fighting against vile and contemptuous accusations.

As Anna sets out to find her friend’s killer; she discovers hard truths about her friendships, the slippery nature of truth, and the ache of young love.

As she awaits the judge’s decree, it becomes clear that everyone around her thinks she is not just guilty, but dangerous. When the truth comes out, it is more shocking than one could ever imagine…

REVIEW*This will be a not-really-a-review review. GIFs included.

I’m not exactly sure how to review this. I’m not a big reader of thrillers/mysteries, so I really didn’t know what to expect going into this one. But let me tell you: my mind has been fucked. Almost everyone who read and loved this has the phrase “mindfuck” or something similar in their reviews.

Anyway, I’ll try to keep this review as spoiler-free as I possibly could. This is not a book where you’ll want to be spoiled.

“Wouldn’t we all look guilty, if someone searched hard enough?”

This book is dangerous–dangerously eerie and dangerously addictive. From the moment I opened the first page, I couldn’t put this book down. Until now, I’m unsure of why I just had to keep flipping pages, but it’s most likely due to the sheer excitement of finding out what the hell really happened. Here’s probably how you will react to reading Dangerous Girls:

The Beginning. You read the first chapter of the novel. After the first chapter, your eyebrows will scrunch up. You’ll be intrigued. Very intrigued. Possibly already creeped out, like me. (I mean really, that is one way to start a book.)

The Middle. You flip the pages. And flip. And flip. You can’t get enough of the story and the possibly-evil and possibly-innocent characters. You suspect EVERYONE. No one can be trusted. You start think that you know who the murderer is, but then you suddenly find out that you’re wrong.

You’ll probably guess who the murderer is somewhere near the ending, but that doesn’t stop you from your inevitable reaction to the ending.

The End. Your heart beats rapidly. You want to scream, but instead your eyes just bulge, and your breath gets stuck in your throat. Goosebumps rise on your arms as everything unfolds.

And that, dear friends, is what will happen to you when you read this book.

pagebreak

Skulls 4

pagebreak

Liked this review? You also find it on Goodreads.

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

22 thoughts on “Mini Review: Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

  1. I bought this one after seeing how much everyone was raving about how incredible the series is, I’m going to start book one soon too. Gosh Aimee potty mouth :D it sounds brilliant! I love the intrigue and vague review, completely agree, this sounds like one that you’re better off going into blind. I’m ready for my mind to be blown. You’ve made me only want to read it more. Great review Aimee, and wash your mouth out with soap poppet :D <3

    Like

  2. Yay so glad to see that you enjoyed this one overall. The ending is just MIND BLOWING. I still cannot stop thinking about it.

    Brilliant review, hun! <33

    Like

  3. Woah, you loved it but not a lot, then? I absolutely adored this book! IT MESSED WITH MY HEAD SO BAD. I just…I just…nope. I did not get the ending until it was there and then I was just kind of in shock that there were no more pages. HOW COULD THAT HAPPEN LKE THAT?!! *shakes book*

    Like

  4. Hey books that go to mindfuck list are usually my favorite. I really love how both Dangerous Boys and Dangerous Girls sound and this sounds like a really gripping read. I’m so glad you enjoyed it, Aimee. I cannot wait to read it myself :)

    Like

  5. I seriously need to read this book!! It sounds intriguing and thrilling and awesome!! I love thrillers like this ;) Awesome hype review, Aimee!

    Like

  6. Now you just make this sound like a SIMPLY MUST READ, AIMEE. GIRLLL. I’ve read a few mind-fs, but I have to say they either put me in a slump or they make me über excited to get to the next book I can land my hands on! xD Seriously, this sounds like the shizzz when you describe your reading process!! I’m sure you’re going to pick up Dangerous Boys soon? I just bought this one and I’m DYING to get started!! xD
    Lovely reaction-review, Aimee! I’m glad you enjoyed this one! <3

    Like

  7. YAYYYYY <33 So glad that you enjoyed this one Aimee, it was definitely one of my favorites of 2013. I just adored it so much, and like you said in your review it was like one hell of a roller coaster ride. It was like an experience and the story kept me guess…AND THAT FUCKING ENDING. I couldn't stop flipping pages and read this one till 4 AM, even though I opened at work the next morning. It was worth it though, I swear my parents could hear me repeating "oh my god, oh my god, oh my god" over and over again haha. This one and Dangerous Boys really cemented my opinion that Abigail writes some of the best mystery thrillers out there in YA. She's definitely been added to my auto-buy list (:

    Lovely mini review and gif freak out haha <33

    Like

  8. LOOL Im currently reading Dangerous Boys (no, I haven’t read Dangerous Girls before) and am nearly done and thoroughly mind fucked. Basically I’m going through what you went through while reading Dangerous Girls!

    Like

  9. YEAH! This was one of my favorite books of 2014 so far, so I’m SO glad you liked this as much as I did Aimee! :D Such a mind-boggling story that messes with your mind! Thanks for sharing! <3

    Like

  10. I love this review! :D I’ve been hearing about Dangerous Boys a lot recently, but somehow I missed this one when it came out. I’m not bit on mysteries or thrillers either, but I can’t resist the allure of a book that I simply can’t stop reading. :)

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

