Random Recommendations

Random Recommendations is another feature here at Deadly Darlings, where I pick a random theme or genre, as well as a random date to post, and recommend a random number of books from that theme or genre.

Hello, hello! This time, we’re having a small segment of Random Recommendations called YOUR RECS. I’ve asked around Twitter for books you would recommend to practically anyone, and here are a few answers! I’ll be featuring 2-3 answers per post. If you want to be featured on our next recommendation post, tweet to me @AimeeReads!

Without further ado, here are our two recommendations this week!

Your Recs 1

Thank you so much to Neil and Miguel for answering!

pagebreak

Have you read either of these books? Wait around for our next recommendations, guys!

About Aimee

Aimee loves being a little bookworm (okay–she doesn’t like being little). She also loves chocolates and sweets but is freaked out by the thought of possibly getting diabetes.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagramall of Aimee’s posts →

29 thoughts on “Your Recommendations: Must-Read YA! (1)

  1. Oh this is such a cool idea! I’m always up for new books to read! I haven’t heard of Monstrous Beauty but it sounds interesting. I don’t read a lot of darker YA but I’m up for it. And from the cover, it seems like it’s about a mermaid? And I haven’t read a mermaid book in ages so I’d love to pick one up again. Aristotle & Dante has been recommended to me so many times! I keep seeing it in the bookstore and thinking I should get it but then deciding not to. Maybe this time, I should? Anyway great idea! I can’t wait to see more of these posts! :)

    Like

  2. Haaa. I like that you picked guys ;) I haven’t read either of these, but have h eard nothing but amazingness. And universe’s secrets and a compelling, rich, dark YA? Both sound fantastic indeed :)

    Like

  3. GAH! I’ve heard such great things about both of these books, and I’m really intrigued by both of them. This definitely makes me push them up on my TBR list, and I’m looking forward to seeing what all the praise is about when I read them both! Thanks for sharing Aimee – this is a really clever idea. :)

    Like

  4. I’ve heard awesome things about both of those books, ahhh I MUST read them!! Aristotle and Dante got tons of bookish awards, I think. Both of those books are newly added to my TBR list, so thanks ;)

    Like

  5. I love this idea! I have heard so much about Aristotle and Dante… and I really want to read it now. I really hope that universe has some cool things to share with me. Great post! :)

    Like

  6. I’ve only read Aristotle & Dante but that book is mind-blowingly beautiful and brilliant and I swear I teared up at the ending. SO NICE. I think it’s one of my favourite reads for this year.

    Like

  7. I like that you featured male YA readers! I haven’t read both books but a friend recently read Monstrous Beauty too and ended up really liking it :D will have to put these on my wishlist! Thanks for sharing Aimee!

    Like

  8. Love the new feature Aimee! I totally loved Aristotle and Dante, it’s still my favourite book. I’m really curious about Monstrous Beauty, I’ve always been hesitant to pick up another mermaid book after Of Poseidon but I like the darker sound of this one.

    Like

  9. Awesome feature! I have heard of these two already and will get to them when I have the time. I can’t wait to see more awesome reads highlighted here so I can explode my TBR even further :3

    Faye at The Social Potato

    Like

  10. Really need to read Monstrous Beauty at some point…I’ve heard you can’t look at mermaids the same way after you read it or something haha. I’ve had pretty bad experiences with mermaid books in general, so hopefully I can eventually come across one that doesn’t have me wanting to throw the book out the window lol

    Like

  11. I haven’t heard of Monstrous Beauty before, but it definitely seems interesting. Aristotle has been so hyped it’s actually kind of off-putting but I’m pretty curious as well.

    This is such a helpful feature, thanks!

    Like

  12. Hmm, that Monstreous Beauty sounds like a very nice (and dark) read indeed. I actually thought about buying it on Book Outlet (b/c cheap you know) but I haven’t seen reviews at all on the blogosphere for it. Guess will check on Goodreads. Also, i will read Dante and The Secrets of the Universe this week. So excited! Lovely feature, Aimee! :)

    Like

  13. I always love recommendation features like these because then I get to spam all my friends with MAH FAVORITE BOOKS!!! So beware, Aimee ;D

    Um… I guess it makes me a horrible booklover because I’ve never read any of these books before despite hearing loads of great stuff about them! Aristotle & Dante is quite high on my to-read list, because if I’m not mistaken, a lot of people have praised its originality, and it has quite diverse characters. And the cover. So gorgeous. The typographyyyy! I’m not so sure about Monstrous Beauty, though. The reviews for it seem pretty mixed, and I haven’t had the best of experiences with mermaid books. You’re one of the more honest and critical readers around (and I mean that as a compliment!), so I completely trust your judgement and will decide whether to read it or not after your review.

    ^ Yup, me totally making you take the hit in case it’s awful.

    Anyway, hope you enjoy these! And omg, can I just say that I love that graphic and you have awesome design skills k bye.

    Like

  14. Sooo, I just left you a comment but WordPress ate it. *glares at wordpress* Let me try again, through Twitter this time.

    But yeah, basically I said that 1) this is a lovely feature idea! and 2) Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe is definitely a must-read. So beautiful and important and all-around lovely. Also, I haven’t read Monstrous Beauty yet but have heard LOADS of great thigns about it!

    Like

  15. I absolutely adored Aristotle and Dante, it was incredible and one of the books to read in 2014. It’s simply beautiful and really poignant as well, I can’t wait to see what you girls think of it. I haven’t heard much about Monstrous Beauty, but will definitely be checking it out on Goodreads. Brilliant feature Aimee, I’m hoping it becomes a regular thing on the DD’s <3

    Like

  16. I’ve read and absolutely loved Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe but I really need to check out the other one! The title alone is so appealing. I mean Monstrous Beauty? How can you not want to read that? This is such an awesome feature!

    Like

  17. Random Recs…LOVE IT!! I recommend a YA read Blood Orange Soda, James Larranaga is the author. He’s a good writer, his site is foreverlands.com. But the YA read is really good, both my kids enjoyed it this summer!

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

