BreatheAnnieBreatheTourSchedule

To find out more about the tour and other stops, go here!

BAB

Breathe, Annie Breathe by Miranda Kenneally

Hundred Oaks, #5
published on July 15th 2014 by Sourcebooks Fire
contemporary | romance

find the book on
Goodreads | Amazon  | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iTunes

Annie hates running. No matter how far she jogs, she can’t escape the guilt that if she hadn’t broken up with Kyle, he might still be alive. So to honor his memory, she starts preparing for the marathon he intended to race.

But the training is even more grueling than Annie could have imagined. Despite her coaching, she’s at war with her body, her mind—and her heart. With every mile that athletic Jeremiah cheers her on, she grows more conflicted. She wants to run into his arms…and sprint in the opposite direction. For Annie, opening up to love again may be even more of a challenge than crossing the finish line.

“Breathe, Annie, Breathe is an emotional, heartfelt, and beautiful story about finding yourself after loss and learning to love. It gave me so many feels. Her best book yet.” — Jennifer Armentrout, New York Times bestselling author of Wait for You.

Tour - Review

Catching Jordan is a book I hold very close to my heart. Ever since the explosion of feels it brought me, I’ve been auto-reading every book Kenneally’s putting out in this series. Seriously, people. The first three books just gave me ALL THE FEELS. Book four, Racing Savannah, was a pretty huge disappointment for me. But I’m glad to say, Miranda Kenneally is back!

Breathe, Annie, Breathe features a fierce girl with a goal–a goal she’ll do anything to achieve. Annie’s determination was very admirable, and I sort of wish I could be more like her. No matter how hard she struggled, Annie pushed herself and kept her eyes on the prize. It wasn’t one of those senseless goals, either. Annie had a reason for doing what she did, and she did it for herself and for the people around her.

One thing I love about Kenneally’s books is the presence of sports. I’m definitely not a sporty girl, so I love living through these characters and feeling (somehow) how female athletes feel. While Annie was definitely no Jordan Woods (the main character from book one), she still proved her strength to push through and get past the finish line. This book made me realize that marathons are definitely not as easy as they seem. I mean, they do look really hard already, but now that I know all the training that happens before marathons… I probably won’t run one in the foreseeable future.

I love how Annie’s family is so large. She treats her dead boyfriend’s family as her own, and I adore the respect and love that they give each other. Annie had two families, and she valued them both. Of course, Annie also took her own parents’ advice and valued them.

Now, Jeremiah’s the love interest. If you’ve read Things I Can’t Forget, you’ll realize that Jeremiah’s Matt’s (oh, adorable, sweet Matt!) brother. He was supportive, kind and one of those flirty-in-an-adorable-way guys. He was always there when Annie needed a nurse, or just a supportive friend to keep her running. This one was realistic in the romance aspect–it took a while for Annie to bring down her walls and let Jeremiah in.

We also had some adorable cameos from characters in previous books. Although you can read this one as a standalone, I do suggest reading all the previous books, just to get a better feel of the supporting characters. Matt and Kate (Things I Can’t Forget) played the big roles in this story as the supportive older siblings. And damn, they were adorable together.

I guess the only reason this wasn’t a 4-5 star read for me was because of the lack of feels. Sure, I definitely shuddered, grinned and flailed a bit, but not as much as I did with the first three novels of this series. But it was such a big improvement from the zero feels that Racing Savannah gave me.

Breathe, Annie, Breathe definitely gave me a heroine to root for, two supportive families, an adorable love interest and a decent amount of feels. Perfect for anyone looking for an inspiring, romantic read for those rainy days.

 

Skulls 3.5

 

Tour - Abt the author

MIranda

Miranda Kenneally

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Growing up in Tennessee, Miranda Kenneally dreamed of becoming an Atlanta Brave, a country singer (cliché!), or a UN interpreter. Instead she writes, and works for the State Department in Washington, D.C., where George W. Bush once used her shoulder as an armrest. Miranda loves Twitter, Star Trek and her husband.

 

Tour - Giveaway

– TWO winners can win a 50$ B&N Gift Card
– THREE winners can win a signed copy of Breathe, Annie, Breathe
UNITED STATES/CANADA ONLY

GiveawayButton

About Aimee

Aimee loves books. And chocolate. Lots and lots of chocolate. Reading books while eating chocolates! Yes, that would be absolutely lovely.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | all of Aimee’s posts →

15 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Breathe, Annie, Breathe by Miranda Kenneally

  1. I loved Catching Jordan and I loved TICF. Will read Savannah soon :) Hopefully I’ll have better luck with it than you did. Anyhow, I’m glad you liked Annie’s spirit and determination :) She’s definitely inspiring. AND YESSS!!! I love the sports aspect in Miranda’s books :) Jeremiah is someone I can’t wait to meet more thoroughly ;) I loved him in TICF. Even though he had such a small role there. AND MATT!!! *swoons* I’m sorry this wasn’t as good for you as the first three, but I’m glad you enjoyed it as a whole :) Lovely review, cupcake!

    Like

    1. Catching Jordan was so… so.. I can’t find the right word! TICF was adorable because MATT! Let me know what you think about Savannah via Twitter :D These books make me want to try sports even if I know I’ll fail miserably! xD Matt actually sounds like he’s 30-40 here, haha! But I love how helpful and caring he is. <3

      Like

  2. That’s probably why I love books about sports – I such at them IRL and can feel sporty vicariously though the characters baha. I love this series too and I can’t wait to read this one – soon hopefully! I love that this one has more cameos that’s one of the funnest part of this series as a whole! Great review! :)

    Like

    1. Exactly! Sports make me want to curl up and sleep a week straight, haha! These books are really. <3 LOVE the cameos–I just wish there was more Jordan/Henry. :D

      Like

  3. This book seems like an interesting one! I’ve been wanting to read Catching Jordan for awhile now, but haven’t gotten around to it. Thanks for hosting this cool giveaway!

    Like

  4. I’ve read all of Miranda’s books c: Catching Jordan was definitely my favorite though c: I actually didn’t mind Racing Savannah, I found it to be okay. Might be because of my adoration of horses though lol [; However I couldn’t stand Things You Can’t Forget and had to DNF it. I’m curious about this one, hopefully I like it better than Things You Can’t Forget.

    I love when heroines in stories are so passionate and determined about something c: It makes them so easy to like and admire. I also quite love the sports aspect in Miranda’s stories, they really do set them apart from other YA contemporaries. I do love to swim, play volleyball and field hockey. Reading about team camaraderie, pushing yourself and other sport aspects are so interesting to read about.

    Even though Annie has been so much with her previous boyfriend, it says something about her character that she remains close with her past boyfriend’s family when it’d obviously be painful at times. The romance with Jeremiah also sounds realistic and down to earth. I can’t wait to read it.

    Wonderful review Aimee <33

    Like

  5. lol in what way do marathons seem easy? I pretty much die after running 10m haha. Can’t even imagine running 42 km D:

    Oh wow, cameos from characters from other books in the series! Definitely going to have to read this book soon. Although I have to admit, Kate kind of annoyed me in Things I Can’t Forget (maybe because, as an agnostic atheist, the religion aspect of things was pretty irritating…)

    Like

  6. Your review <3
    Yeah I loved Annie, her determination to finish the race and her perseverance was something I truly admired! I loved the cameos too and grinned like an idiot at a of them…especially Jordan's ;)
    While I serouisly liked this one it also failed to five me the feels :( as much as I wanted it too they just weren't there :( that being sAid I still serouisly enjoyed it!

    Like

  7. I’ve heard nothing but GLOWING things about Miranda’s work, but for some reason I’ve never picked up a book by her. Your review has definitely convinced me though! :) I love the sound of the romance and the family dynamics, and Annie sounds like such a great protagonist! :D Definitely going to consider giving this a try! Thanks for sharing Aimee, and, as always, BRILLIANT review! <3

    (P.S. Cameos from characters in her other books? That's really clever! :D)

    Like

  8. Hm, so far the reviews I’ve seen for this book have been ranging from 3 to 3.5 stars — not sure what to think of that, but whatever, I’m glad that you enjoyed this overall, Aimee! I haven’t read Catching Jordan yet, or anything by Miranda, but it’s great that she was able to impress you once again despite Racing Savannah’s disappointment (kind of reminds me of me and Katie McGarry. Who knows, I might enjoy Take Me On?).

    Yup, I definitely love how Miranda added in sports to her books! I think Catching Jordan was one of the first sporty contemporary romances in the market out there; now a lot more are popping up and they seem to be getting quite popular. I think I’d be able to relate to Annie a leeetle bit more than you, mostly because I hate running but still force myself to do it anyway, so I don’t get fat, lol. And I also love the huge presence of family this book seems to have as well. Such a lacking aspect in so many books these days.

    Aw, Jeremiah sounds like a sweetie! <3 I think I read somewhere that a reviewer found his character kind of flat, which is understandable because he sounds a little bit cliche to me, but all the same, it's nice to have an adorable love interest for once. NO MORE BAD BOYS! Too bad these weren't enough to get you emotionally connected to the story, though. I totally understand how you feel — I wouldn't love a story either if I wasn't emotionally drained after reading a book. Or maybe I'm just too harsh. xD

    Anyways, lovely review as always, Aimee! I'm definitely interested in giving Catching Jordan a try, and I'm happy that Breathe, Annie, Breathe was such a major improvement from its predecessor!

    (P.S. Thanks SOOO much for adding my blog to your blogroll. Seriously, you have no idea how much it means to me! I've added your blog to mine, as well. <3)

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

